We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel in heart of SF !”
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #24 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed 3 days in this lovely hotel. In our rooms with fireplace (ı think all rooms with fireplace) Fireplace stars with button at wall like a rooms lamp. İt is easy, funny and romantic (what you need) rooms decorated with Laura Ashley style; maybe she did :) Bed extra comfortable.

Staff are very kind and helpfull. You can drink free coffee in your room with your coffee machine. Hotel serve free snacks and wine at afternoon every day.

Breakfast is ver good. Breakfast room is small like a european hotel but well equipmented. Every day breakfast changed.

Free wi fi internet also available.

İf you have car; hotel offers vale parking. Not free but very reasonable price 32 $ for a day. At first I think this price is expensive but after visit city and park rate I understand this rate is normal

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enginersoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

This small, intimate hotel in the heart of San Fran was a complete joy to be at. Our room had a nice view of the city, an extremely comfy bed and a fire place. The staff was very friendly and took care of our every need. The free breakfast, wine reception and cookies were a daily delight. We liked this place so much we stayed two additional days. Location, comfort and service this one has it all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Petite Auberge in July for 3 days. We arrived earlier than the check-in time so our room wasn't yet ready. The staff was very helpful with storing our luggage while we walked around San Fran until our room was ready.
I had asked earlier if we could be put in a larger quiet room, which was granted, actually I think we were upgraded because I had paid for a room without a fireplace. We had a very cute room with a huge fireplace. We were on the 5th floor so we got a lot of use of their elevator, which is the older kind that you slide a gate to get in the elevator, neat!
What makes this hotel even better is the breakfast that is included, can't beat it, fresh homemade yummy food. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and munchies only 1 afternoon, but it was great as well. Also homemade fresh cookies in a jar by the elevator, nice touch!
Beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom were fine for us, it was kind of like staying at your grandmothers with the decor, but that just made us feel at home.
My only complaint was that we couldn't turn off the heater, which was suffocating me beside the bed. We opened the window but the noise and smell of urine kept me up. Luckily it was only that one night that was unusually warm, so the other 2 nights were better.
The location of this hotel is also perfect, just a few minutes walk to Union Square, which was great! I would highly recommend the Petite Auberge and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the quiet part of the hotel, much less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Petite Auberge in a great place in the city, when my husband and I arrived we had a valet take our car (reasonable price) and didn't once use it during our 3 day stay; we walked almost everywhere. We were given a room on the main floor which I wasn't initially pleased with, but ended up having no issues with it as I thought I may. Free breakfast (much better than the average continental) and daily wine tastings with snacks were an added bonus. The room itself was very clean, but could use some general updating. After reading some reviews I was worried that the room would be very small, but I found it an average size for a hotel in a large city (comparable to rooms I've had in New York City). Our stay was great, I would advise earplugs or using the noise machine Monday mornings (garbage pickup).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dart-tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This boutique hotel was just as promised. Close to everything with great "homey" rooms. The full breakfast and afternoon cookies and wine reception were a treat. free Internet too! Only negative was creaky floors so we could hear everyone walking around at night but that is a natural consequence of choosing a hotel in an older building that sells itself as a French boutique hotel.
Loved it !!!! We'll be back.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank wannabetraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great personal service and wonderful breakfast in a convenient location. The smaller rooms are really small and the bed was very soft and somewhat unstable. The hotel is very clean and clearly takes care of its guests. Still, even at the discounted price, one must question the value, given the room size.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This place was great. Very beautiful and comfortable. A hybrid bed and breakfast. Had wine reception on evening, free. Great wine and snacks. Breakfast Buffett was outstanding. Great selection of homemade hot and cold items. Complimentary coffee, tea, water, and soda available anytime. We stayed in the room with a fireplace. After going to a very cold baseball game it was a nice feature. Romantic too. The staff was impeccable. Very nice and helpful , couldn't possiblly hire better people. All this for only $230. Just try getting a better deal in SF, not going to happen. If the price had been $350, my review would be the same. Love, love, love this place. When we return to SF you can bet we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,756 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
2,882 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $161 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing