We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire, england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Situated in the Mission district, this is a gem of a B&B, the decor is Victorian, the buffet breakfast is substantial, I was upgraded to an en-suite room with a view of the city skyline. The little garden behind the house is a welcome retreat at the end of a days sight seeing.The owners go the extra mile to make you feel welcome, with a guide book in your room to help you plan your trips, sherry, port and cookies in the dining room each afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    67
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
69
204
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Wow - can't beat all of the special touches here - superb breakfasts, fresh flowers and candy dishes in the room and throughout the Inn, beautiful gardens where you can hang out, magazines and current newspapers, coffee, tea and drinks available all day and night, red licorice available all the time (my favorite), responsive and friendly staff, and I could go on and on. This place is simply the best!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

When I finally decided to go to San Francisco I had one criteria for my accommodation - it had to be a victorian building. Didn't want a cookie-cutter hotel that could have been anywhere in the country. The list to choose from was fairly short and boy did I do a great job when I decided on the Inn San Francisco.

The bed was incredible...it was so soft and comfortable I was almost scared to sleep on it as I have low-grade back issues. No problem - under all that cushiness is some serious support.

The breakfast spread was great each morning. So much fresh fruit and lots of carb and protein choices to round it out. Beautifully presented each morning and wonderfully fresh. On surprise was the availability of pie each day for breakfast. Seemed a bit unusual but I very quickly got used to that idea. From now on, for me, nothing will say "I'm on holidays" as well as pumpkin pie at breakfast. Fresh coffee and a great assortment of teas available at any time of day.

The building itself is wonderful - love the staircase to the roof patio.

The hot tub, the hot tub, the hot tub. I still miss it. What a wonderful thing it was to be able to relax in it each evening after a day of walking around the city.

The staff was wonderful. Never in your face but someone always was available when needed. It poured rain our first day, despite SF being in a drought. When we returned "home", they quickly arranged to dry not only our jackets and clothes, but also our sodden runners. BTW - they do have umbrellas available for use. Wish I had bothered to take one that day.

The Inn is a bit out of the way, but transit was easy and never seemed to take too long.

We didn't arrive until almost midnight but there was no problem with late check-in.

Oh yeah, candy dishes in your room and wonderful Girardelli chocolates daily. These people know how to do hospitality! Inn San Francisco was a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: I chose room 22 based on the wonderful shade of blue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Spent four nights this past week at this lovely inn. The inn has been well cared for and great attention has been given to detail. All of the staff is very helpful and friendly. A lovely buffet breakfast is served with many choices. The bed are exceptionally comfortable and the inn is immaculate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolullu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn, in the wonderful Mission District. The rooms are very pleasant: tall ceilings, fresh flowers, elegant fabrics, striking color schemes – and they are Really Victorian (too many knick-knacks on the tables can be a tad oppressive, though quite authentic!). Sweets and fruit, coffee and tea, and newspapers & magazines were always available, as were port & sherry in the evenings. The garden and the jasmine-bowered hot tub are a nice plus. The stairs (esp. to 3d floor) could be a minus – depends on you.

Breakfast was buffet, with beautiful trays of fruit (all kinds), breads and pastries (even pumpkin pie!), cold meats and boiled eggs, yogurt & cereals, and really wonderful warm quiches. The spinach quiche (veg) was irresistible.

The location made for easy walking to BART and MUNI, to Dolores Park, and to hundreds of restaurants and shops. Though rapidly gentrifying, the Mission district is still mixed; we found the neighborhood very welcoming and charming. We didn’t need a car.

Everyone at the Inn was friendly and kind. We wanted a desk or table (to work a bit) and our original room didn’t have one, so we ended up changing rooms – AND the staff brought in a (very pretty) table for us to use. They helped with our bags on the stairs, and they even let us play their fine piano in the parlor.

We hope to be back there soon.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter, but we chose a front room and weren't bothered by street noise at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a fantastic place.
The rooms are beautiful .. olde worlde with so many details. I have never experienced such attention to detail on EVERY aspect of everything at this place. Warm welcome with personal tour, fruit everywhere, drinks always available. Fantastic buffet.. Best breakfast Ive had in years. Quiet, nooks and crannys to explore. roof terrace, garden with jacuzzi, ... DO NOT stay in a four seasons or marriot or hilton or any other hotel if you cn get into this. Sooo impressed.

Room Tip: room 10. Massive comfy bed, lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dezza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very nice place, friendly helpful staff, nice location. Great in.breakfast spread. Room a little small for price and early workmen\yardwork (7.30am!) were only downsides. Would definitely recommend this to others and would visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elat_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,830 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn San Francisco

Property: The Inn San Francisco
Address: 943 S van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94110-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn San Francisco is an authentic 1872 Victorian mansion bed and breakfast inn. The Inn includes 21 rooms and suites, fireplaces, a garden with a redwood hot tub, a roof deck with panoramic views of the City. We serve a generous buffet breakfast 7 to 11 am. The Inn SF is located on South Van Ness Avenue in the Mission District of San Francisco. Near the Valencia street corridor, Noe Valley and the Castro. Close to the 24th Street BART station and near several bus lines. The Inn SF is surrounded by dozens of wonderful restaurants and coffee shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing