We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our experience of 2 nights stay at The Inn other than its charming place and great breakfast, was the hospitality of the innkeepers. These little ladies were very attentive and so willing to make our stay the most pleasant ones. They took care of our parking, laundry and even offer us nightcap when we came back late one night. The wifi was good and we could easily use our notebook to search for the attractions and plan our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asianchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 441 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 amazing days at the Inn. Marty is a true character and Linda is so sweet. I miss you guys. I'm really hoping to come back soon. Marty receives every guest with such hospitality, shows all the pictures and tells you about the great fire. The mansion is really gobsmacking. I would go by the rooms trying to sneak how they looked like, they're all so different and cute. You almost feel like a princess.
The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had.
They also give you a list with the 80 best restaurants in the Mission.
They made my trip totally worth it.
Loved the Mission and I truly loved SF!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LucianaMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is lovely and we agree with all the things said previously. We stayed for 4 nights in a spacious queen room, which was at the front of the building (rm 21).

Our room had plenty of space, with a couch and 2 chairs, along with the usual other items. The bathroom was quite small, but quite understandable. Shower was hot with good pressure and the usual toiletries.

Megan and Liza were unbelievably friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. On arrival we had a personal tour of the building and amenities, our bags were carried up for us and we were lent a local tourist book from their library. Nothing was too much to ask.

We enjoyed having the run of the place, including the back yard, parlour and sitting room. We played Scrabble, tickled the piano keys, explored, read the paper, had a cuppa and chatted with other guests, and soaked up the view from the rooftop terrace. It was really homely and friendly, and looked extremely well appointed, including the most beautiful proliferation of orchids and fresh flowers. The rooms, including our bedroom were quite ‘austere’ (dark), with dim lighting, made more atmospheric by candles. The décor is very appropriate for the building and the period.

Within our room at the front, the noise from the street was pretty quiet at night, fairly busy in the day, absolutely as expected for a street-facing room. The Inn is really well located for transport, on the bus lines for routes 14 and 49. These were fine to get us wherever we needed, especially with a 3 day Muni pass. We also walked to the Bart, about 4 blocks. The Inn has its own maps and the staff are really familiar with the bus routes and local attractions. We believe they can tell you anything you need to know.

There are some very interesting restaurants within a short distance. We tried some great food. The neighbourhood is deep Mexican residential. There is a fair amount of homelessness and unemployment in the area which we witnessed. I felt unsafe at times, but I think it was more imagination than reality. We never actually experienced (or heard about) anything untoward (even walking past the guy writing graffiti). There are a couple of local corner shops. I used the Laundromat which is almost diagonally across the road, but apparently the Inn has laundry facilities. That’s the one question I hadn’t asked the staff.

There are a few reasons for not giving 5/5. The windows in our room opened onto the street, but the timber has seen better days and can’t support catches or locks (no security). Housekeeping liked to open the windows when they made up the room, but we didn’t feel secure, so made sure we closed them again. The blinds have seen better days and some don’t work anymore, which can impact on your sleep. The last thing that impacted on our sleep was one of the Inn’s features – the feather mattress. It lumps in the middle, leaving you less than half a bed to sleep in, and making a bit of a hill so you’re tipped to the edge of the bed. It took us 3 nights to work out that it’s actually a feather-filled mattress topper. We removed it on the last night and had a much better night’s sleep. It’s a real shame because if I were alone in the bed it would be such a lovely, cosy, soft sleeping experience. Just not with 2 people in the bed. Perhaps it would benefit from being channelled (segregated squares sewn into it). The quiche that so many rave about is microwaved so it has a soggy bottom, but is still very tasty. Oh, and I would recommend that the yogurts at breakfast were kept in an ice bucket or similar – they got to room temperature and the next day were a bit lumpy.

Apart from all of that, I would not hesitate to recommend this place for an enjoyable ‘experience’. It’s not the Hilton - there is no lift, the stairs creak a bit, the décor is ‘vintage’, there’s no pool, or gym, (but there is a spa, garden and rooftop deck), and the breakfast seating arrangements are a bit haphazard (find a seat at the table, or use a TV dinner tray or balance your plate on your knee or standing up). But the staff are fantastic (including those ladies we only glimpsed but who kept our breakfast supplies coming), the proliferation of fresh fruit, candy, tea & coffee (with real milk, not powdered creamer) along with port and sherry is inviting and reassuring. It was a really pleasant friendly, homely stay.

Room Tip: Not surprisingly, a room away from the street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Longworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Inn San Francisco at least 4 times, and it continues with its ambience, class and style to be one of our top places to go. The sherry, port, Malbec or a cup of tea are available any time. The decor brings you back to the 19th century heyday of San Francisco. It is authentic to its roots, and one of the only surviving Victorian houses in the Mission District from the San Francisco fire. Enjoy the old photos and the delicious fruit, quiches, cheese and meats at breakfast. Walk downtown, to the library or local bars and restaurants. Relax, enjoy and go back in time.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbrodydhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I'll preface this- I'm not a huge SF fan, nor a B&B fan - but I loved this place so much I got my mom a gift certificate and will be returning! It's easy to get to from the South Bay via car (and Marty has parking garage spots available at about $20/day), it's in the Mission which has an amazing collection of restaurants to explore and you can still hop on BART if you want/need to get up to Union Square.

This Victorian is original (the 1906 fire stopped a couple blocks North), gorgeously outfitted with lots of historical touches (note the photos and maps on the wall - tons of photo books in the lounge). The rooms are all different - I had a 'cozy' room which was very comfortable overlooking Van Ness. Clean and modernized bathroom (with victorian inspired fixtures), nice toiletries and very comfy bed. Teeny TV with cable, desk and dresser.

There is always port and sherry available in the front room (every hotel should have this!) and the breakfast in the morning was quite amazing for one just set out - included quiches, cheeses, meats, breads, fruits, etc.

There is also a quiet, secluded private garden out back with a hot tub and a cool roof deck. Guppy the Puppy is the hotel dog, Marty runs the place and is happy to give you tips and advice for the area. Loved it!

Room Tip: There are pics of the rooms and if you need more details, just give them a call and chat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shezswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a really delightful place. Charming reception, beautiful rooms, if you like deep Victorian styling, with lace curtains, cushions and,various knicknacks. Where there isn't room for a bathroom, a footed bath in the room. Breakfast is great, with a wonderful quiche and a lovely array of fruits, eaten in the livingroom downstairs on a variety of perches. Our bedroom was comfy, if cold, but it was December....Uninteresting bit of Mission, but so what?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our one night at the Inn. We received a free upgrade to a huge room with a private balcony deck and seating area. The furniture in the rooms is outdated but completely workable and comfortable. I found the tub/shower really difficult to get in and out of, and wondered how someone older, or with any physical difficulties would do it. LOVED the sitting rooms with complimentary sherry and port. The view from the roof was amazing. The fact that the property has fig trees and lemon trees makes you want to stay forever.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,367 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,755 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 230 in San Francisco
2,882 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn San Francisco

Address: 943 S van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94110-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $222 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn San Francisco is an authentic 1872 Victorian mansion bed and breakfast inn. The Inn includes 21 rooms and suites, fireplaces, a garden with a redwood hot tub, a roof deck with panoramic views of the City. We serve a generous buffet breakfast 7 to 11 am. The Inn SF is located on South Van Ness Avenue in the Mission District of San Francisco. Near the Valencia street corridor, Noe Valley and the Castro. Close to the 24th Street BART station and near several bus lines. The Inn SF is surrounded by dozens of wonderful restaurants and coffee shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing