We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October and wish that it could have been longer. The hotels in SF were fully booked and after much searching we found the Inn and although we were a bit apprehensive it turned out to be a brilliant choice for our first nights in California.
The place is both comfortable and beautiful and the staff couldn't be more welcoming. It truly is like being a guest in a private home.
We had a bit of a problem back at home that necessitated us printing and scanning documents. Marty and his staff kindly obliged and the problem was sorted.
After reading guide books we had been a bit concerned about the area but had no need to be. We walked in the vicinity and never felt unsafe.
A truly wonderful place to stay - we would certainly stay again if in SF.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for The Inn San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 436 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed two nights while visiting our daughter. The inn is exactly as we wanted. Lots of history, antiques, and quaint touches. We booked one of the smallest rooms, but it was way beyond adequate. Everything was clean and had a personal touch not found in commercial hotels. It was off the street (Van Ness) and therefore fairly quiet. The staff was particularly outstanding; however, the greatest selling point was the breakfast. We have stayed at a lot of B&Bs, but this had the best breakfast and best hours--0700 to 1100--of any we have visited. On-street parking is a problem, so we reserved garage parking. This B&B is located in a great area for walking and finding great restaurants. Try Amber on Valencia for outstanding Indian food.

Room Tip: Reserve parking!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

like being a guest at a friend's victorian home. after showing us to our room, marty provided a tour of the whole place, gave us a SF guide book and a home-made map of restaurants/bars in the area (with personal reviews, zagat scores and late-night options), and poured us a glass of port (which is available 24/7 in crystal decanters in the living room). has a cute patio garden where you can eat breakfast, hot tub, roof with 360 views of the city, parking (plus they'll give up their own parking spots in front of the hotel if none of the parking garage spots are open), great breakfast buffet spread. would stay there in a second next time i visit SF.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Quite simply a wonderful place to stay. The Victorian decor is like stepping back in time. The breakfast is as good as the pictures on the website. Megan, Lisa and all the staff were excellent. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 262Normans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We thoroughy enjoyed our stay in Rm 24 in this beautifully restored 1872 mansion. Marty, Lisa, Wulda, Alex and all the staff were most attentive and very friendly, ensuring our stay was really relaxed and pleasant. - The "welcome home" greetiing did add to the feeling it was our SF "home" too! Our rear facing room was not quite as "grand" as the front room but gave us the quieter environment from the street sounds that we requested. Breakfast was excellent and the availability of tea/coffee 24/7 was great each time we came "home".
As this is a pet friendly Inn, it is important to idnetify your allergic requirements at booking, so the staff can address this requirement for your room before you arrive.
Perhaps the only concern would be if someone had slept in the "loft" double bed - with no lift up side, the possibilty of rolling out was there.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Luscious Victorian decor, classical music in the parlour, free coffee/cookies/candy 24/7, hot tub, roof garden, fresh flowers in your room, enough pillows, real glasses and cutlery, luscious breakfast spread with platters of beautifully presented fresh fruit, breads, quiche, eggs...very friendly helpful staff, and fantastic hotel dog. Magnificent Mission location. Nothing lacking whatsoever, and so comfortable!

Room Tip: It's a long climb with bags to the third floor. If that's intimidating, ask for the first or...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadmom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The short review: have stayed twice and will again as soon as possible. The longer version:Tie Victorian Mansion which survived the 1906 earth quake and fire is as clean, bright and shining as if it had just been built and furnished with wit. Can't beat this place for atmosphere or feather beds. Generosity manifest in the abundant fresh fruit ,breads, cereals cheeses and quiche at breakfast , fruit bowl coffee and tea available though out the day, and complimentary sherry, port and biscuits in the evening. Great location in quirky neighborhood with authentic food on the corner at the San Jalisco-- we ate there three times. Check out Dosa for Indian cuisine, and hit Boabab for Senegalese food adventure. Short walk to shops, coffee brunch and great ethnic food. Close to Bart and bus. Don't miss the historic Mission Dolores Chapel and graveyard, a fifteen minute walk from The INN.

Roof top deck has fantastic views, garden in back is calm and beautiful. We didn't make it to the hot top, so inviting looking under an arbor.
Staff can help you with suggestions, reviews, directions and emotional support. Lisa, Meghan and the incomparable Marty ( owner and manager) made s feel at home and cared for. We really miss Guppy, the forever puppy. Stairs could be an issue if you have mobility issues.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caryonsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,019 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn San Francisco

Address: 943 S van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94110-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $222 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn San Francisco is an authentic 1872 Victorian mansion bed and breakfast inn. The Inn includes 21 rooms and suites, fireplaces, a garden with a redwood hot tub, a roof deck with panoramic views of the City. We serve a generous buffet breakfast 7 to 11 am. The Inn SF is located on South Van Ness Avenue in the Mission District of San Francisco. Near the Valencia street corridor, Noe Valley and the Castro. Close to the 24th Street BART station and near several bus lines. The Inn SF is surrounded by dozens of wonderful restaurants and coffee shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing