We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Room with a View. Of a Brick Wall”
Review of Hotel Griffon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Griffon
Ranked #29 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Small Room with a View. Of a Brick Wall”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Griffon is a small boutique hotel in a great location in San Francisco. If you're into small boutique hotels, you might really like this place, but it's not for me. The rooms are exceptionally small, and mine afforded a view of a brick wall. My closet had exactly four clothes hangers. The fuzzy TV had surprisingly limited channel selections (e.g. I couldn't find CNN or CNBC. Air conditioning was weak, and the slow elevator can really only accommodate two people with luggage.

On the plus side, everyone was quite friendly, and the location is great. So, if you're only in town for one night, this would be an ok place to land. But, if you're going to be here for a few days, the walls could start to close in on you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    243
    79
    28
    19
See reviews for
75
369
62
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I have never written a review on TripAdvisor before but after staying at this hotel, I thought I should. I have travelled for many years to many countries and I always judge a hotel for what I get for my money. I paid $309 a night (plus taxes) for the smallest hotel room that I have ever stayed in in North America. The room had a double bed and there was just enough room to walk around it and that was the entire room. The sink was in the room and the bathroom consisted of a toilet and very small bathtub. The television was hung from the ceiling because there was not enough wall space for it.

If you like character then this hotel has plenty of it. The floor slopped so much from door to window (that looked at a brick wall 5 feet away) that it actually made me feel a bit dizzy, like a slopping floor at a carnival fun house. I estimate the floor must have had a good 9 inches of slope across its 9 foot width.

I checked the map on the back of the door that showed the room layout for all the rooms on my floor. Of the 18 rooms, 2 had a view of the water, 2 had a view of the back street, 2 were next to either the elevator or stairs and 4 were the very tiny ones like I had. If you don't have a view of the water or the back street then you will not get a view unless you count looking at a brick wall 5 feet away in the fire escape.

When I checked into this hotel they made me initial a form saying that they would charge me $50 a night for every night that I left early. That should have been a strong clue that something was amiss. I have only ever been asked that once before and it was at a place that I did want to leave early.

San Francisco is not a cheap place to stay but this has got to be one of the worst value-for-money hotels in the city. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoLongTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Dear Guest,

That was a difficult review for us to hear, but we also need to thank you for your review, and to thank you for your patronage during the month of October. We deduced that because your rate for our Standard Room, you were most likely staying during one of the many conventions we had in San Francisco over the month of October. Convention season is a busy one for us, and for the City at large.

Because of these “compression dates” and the scarcity of rooms over these periods we do request an “Early Departure Fee” in case we are not able to fill the rooms over these heavy booking periods.

Our hotel was built in 1906 (after the earthquake), and this is indeed a historical property. Historical hotels in San Francisco do typically have smaller rooms than you would find in a newer construction property. Many guests seek out our property because of its charm, but also for the value of free WiFi, exceptional service, morning town car, and great location. If you were visiting over a non-convention period, the pricing in San Francisco at large would have been more palatable.

With regard to our light well, we do indeed offer Bay View rooms and City View rooms that offer views from our property. The light wells are a unique San Francisco feature that takes advantage of limited building space, it is historic, but by design it is Green! Having a natural lightwell serves to reduce the necessity for electric lighting, add a central space within the building, and to provide an internal open space.

Again thank you for visiting us during the busy month of October, and if we could be of any more assistance to you in the future, we’d love to have you stay with us again so you can enjoy another room.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Griffon Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Hotel Griffon is located in one of the most accessible places of the city. It's just near the Bay Bridge, so you can take a leisured walk next to the bay.

Second thing, I loved - The internet! I was on a business trip, so working from my hotel was unavoidable. I'm grateful that the internet was reliable and super fast.

What I loved the most about the hotel is the front desk - I was there in a bad scenario. I had a Maestro card, which wasn't one of the common forms of debit cards in the US. They had a policy of not accepting cash. But, there was this person called Marjorie who checked with her boss (late night that was!) and checked me in with a cash payment. Also, I had a complaint about the clock in my room that two frontdesk helpers totally forgot about, but Marjorie was swift in getting that fixed! Thanks! :)

Also, they have good tie-ups with local tour companies. I had a good city tour of SF through the hotel.

The room was decent enough for a single occupancy. I liked the interiors.

What disappointed me was the complimentary cab service in the mornings. They can't accommodate cab requests for many people at a time. So, that's something you can't rely upon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaHydTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Great location, great style, and great views. The hotel staff was very accommodating, but the reason I gave the service 4 and not 5 stars is because the service in the restaurant (Perry's) was awful! However there are plenty of other fabulous places to eat near by, so avoid Perry's and you will have a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowsneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Nice place that has also the necessary stuff and friendly smilly staff. It's a good location in SF for must things, though in the evening it can be slightly dead area. Luckily with the subway close by it is not really an issue. Small rooms and a bit in a need of a renovation, but clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammath_naur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during a business trip. The location is very good. It is near the Ferry Building on The Emabarcadero. The "F-Line" Street Car takes you easily to Fisherman's Wharf.

The hotel has charming character. The room was small, but comfortable for a short stay. The king bed was very comfortable. The room amenities were excellent. The hotel is very environmentally GREEN friendly.

The hotel staff were exceptionally professional, friendly, helpful and courteous.

There is valet parking and the fee was discounted for a hybrid car.

The hotel lobby has a WiFi hot spot and I was able to work on my laptop for several hours with no connection issues. I was not able to get a wireless connection from my room. There are also two free access computer stations in the lobby.

There is a Lincoln Towncar service on site, it costs more than a taxi, but the additional expense provided very prompt, clean and friendly transportation service. It was about $45 to the airport and the tip is NOT included.

The room rate includes continental breakfast in a restaurant next door to the hotel. This arrangement is OK, but I did not find the server to be as friendly and helpful as the hotel staff are. The server did not acknowledge me upon my arrival and I had to ask for what was else was available from the kitchen - eggs, etc. knowing that there was an additional charge for anything beyond the continental breakfast. He appeared to be annoyed that he was interrupted during his morning set-up tasks. If this one person cannot set-up and provide service to customers, then the restaurant should add another person to help.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingbutnotlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Great location on the Embarcadero and easy walking distance to numerous great places.

That being said, the room I was given was quite average. The bathroom was small (sink and vanity were actually outside of the bathroom facing the bed). Bonus: the room did have a flat-screen TV, and internet access was included in the daily room rate.

The only window in the room faced onto a tiny interior courtyard - if you can call it that - it was very dark. There's only a single, small elevator serving the entire hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#52 of 228 in San Francisco
1,273 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4,266 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
1,429 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Property: Hotel Griffon
Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing