We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Battery(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Palace Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
486
282
91
30
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
282
91
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay bridgeferry buildinggreat locationexposed brickrooms are smallgiants gameexecutive suitefarmers marketbay view roomturn down servicerestaurant downstairsroom servicecomfortable bedfinancial districtvalet parkingeasy accessfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
522 - 527 of 909 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We booked the hotel via booking and we could get a good rate.
The hotel is close to the Embarcadero, less than 10 minutes walk from the Farmer's market (where we had breakfast). The room was quite small but not much expensive for San Francisco's standards and very clean. A bit noisy because it was quite close to the ice-maker outside (but this was a minor issue).
Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the room closer to the ice maker on the floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniele70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Love this hotel! It is off the main drag (which is good) yet offers great views of the bay (if you book a room on that side of the hotel)! Truely a boutique hotel...small rooms, but very nice! Great restaurant and bar - very popular. And, the staff is the best...pleasant and helpful! They made us feel like family the minute we walked in until the time we left. I have stayed here several times on business, but this time I brought the whole family...and they loved it as much as I do.

If you like to workout there is a Y...yes, Y, a couple doors down. The hotel will give you a pass. Very nice Y with great equipment, but more importantly....GREAT views of the bay while you are working out. They will give you a towel...so to speak, but bring your own lock for the lockers.

Room Tip: Face the bay!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear illyman,
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you staying at the Hotel Griffon during your business trips as well as returning with your family for your recent stay in San Francisco. We are so glad to read that everyone enjoyed the bay views, our pleasant and helpful staff and the surrounding area. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon, whether for business or pleasure.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for three nights. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and made us feel incredibly welcome. The location is convenient to things to do in San Francisco and they have valet parking (expensive in my opinion, but seemed comparable to other services in the area) if you have a car. The room was a good size and comfortable, but it could have been better if a refrigerator and microwave were included. This wasn't a surprise to us, because I noticed they weren't included when we booked the room. It's just a suggestion for the future. I think if we came back to SF, we'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TUgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and recommendations for improvements after your stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are so glad you enjoyed our welcoming and friendly staff who deliver genuine hospitality to our guests daily. We hope you will return to San Francisco soon and that we have the opportunity to host you again.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night in SF after a business trip and am very glad I selected the Hotel Griffon.

The hotel location is excellent, direct views of the bay bridge if you get a room on that side and right by the Embarcadero. Had a more boutique feel than a typical business hotel which was a good thing for me at least.

All of the staff I met were wonderful (not something you find at most hotels).

My room was well specified and the bed was super comfy and I slept very well. The main negative of my stay was the room size, it was on the small side and had no view so it depends if you want a glamorous room with a view or are happy to have a great hotel in a really good location.

It was an easy walk to areas of interest, I hired a bike a block down and walked to AT&T park for a Giants game.

Hotel had free WiFi which was quick enough for video calling and there was comp coffee and water if you wanted it.

Perry's restaurant/bar is next door and is directly connected in the hotel lobby. Had a very good Sunday brunch which I would recommend especially as you can sit outside and soak in the views.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank pompeyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your choice to stay at the Hotel Griffon during your recent business trip to San Francisco. We are so glad to hear how our wonderful staff was more attentive than other hotels you may have stayed at. Personal, friendly service is something we all pride ourselves on providing. We do have several types of rooms available and if you prefer a room with a view, please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate your room request. As you also mention, our location to areas of interest and AT&T park is quite convenient. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of the city! Fun farmer's market on the weekend at the Ferry Building. Close to shopping, dining and attactions. We rented bikes nearby and toured the city. All the staff (front desk, valets, housekeeping) were friendly and greeted you throughout the building. Have been here several times and every time is a treat!

Room Tip: We were in the suite #501, beautiful room with balcony and outdoor seating. Friends were in suite #505, no balcony but great views of Ferry Building, Bay Bridge and the Bay!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 74Audrey1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay at the Hotel Griffon. It's always a pleasure to host a return guest such as yourself. We are so pleased to hear how much our convenient and central location near the Ferry Building as well as our friendly staff enhanced your visit to San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews