We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wee hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #22 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 15, 2014

A cracking wee hotel located right on the bay under the Bay Bridge. Ideal for the city or for commuting if on business. 15 mins walk from Pier 39 and 10 mins from Union Square, less than 5 mins from the Bart train Station.
Food is good, breakfast is fantastic, it needs to be experienced. Rooms are a little on the small side but adequate for a short stay.
Overall a great hotel and one I will use again when on business in San Francisco,

Room Tip: Ask fr a Bay view room and not a Queen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyTemple67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear AndyTemple67,
Thank you for your cracking review of the Hotel Griffon! We are pleased to hear how our great location along the Embarcadero waterfront and breakfast enhanced your business trip to San Francisco. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 826 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is lovely. The front desk staff is friendly and kind. Ignacio met me at my car door in the rain with umbrella open, ready to help with my bags. Check in was a breeze, and my room was so cozy and comfortable. The linens were beautiful and it was really quiet. The chaise type chair was so comfortable I was tempted to stay in the room- but I was in the city so I had to go explore. All the amenities you need are right there in the room. The bed was super comfortable too. Coffee in the room was delicious. The location was great for me- very close to the ferry building and just a block from Market where you can catch a bus to go almost anywhere in the city. I will stay here again next time I come to the city. And, I got a great park and stay rate. You can't go wrong at the Hotel Griffon.

Room Tip: My room was on the inside of the building so there was no view but it was very quiet and I got a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are so pleased to read how our convenient location near the Ferry Building, comfortable rooms and friendly service enhanced your visit to San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Griffon for three nights in February and were very pleased. The most important thing is that the staff was outstanding. We were greeted with a smile and a hello at every coming and going. The staff helped us park, got us taxis, gave us advice, arranged our airport ride and even fetched a bag we had left in the rental car after it was valeted.

I read the reviews carefully beforehand. Older reviews said there were problems with reservations -- we had none; everything was flawless. A few people said the rooms were too small, etc. -- I would say that this hotel definitely has a boutique or European feel and there is not a lot of extra space. So if you want a big sprawling room this might not be for you. But we found it comfortable, with a fantastic location just a block off the Embarcadero and just south of Market. We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Howard T.,
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are happy to hear how our staff enhanced your stay as well as our great location near the Ferry Building along the Embarcadero Waterfront. Our staff takes great pride in providing a unique experience for each guest and are always eager to assist. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever travels return you to San Francisco

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a perfect view of the bay bridge and at night just sat back and watched the lights on the bridge dance around as we fell asleep. The location is great. Super close to great restaurants and the embarcadero. The room was well appointed and well kept. It was perfect for our quick weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Patrick W,
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our spectacular views of the Bay Bridge and the light show art installation. We are also happy to hear how you enjoyed our great location along the Embarcadero waterfront and our clean, well-appointed rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next weekend getaway

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

terrible place to stay. really small rooms. We checked in and the room was so cold. The thermostat didn't work, and asked front desk to change our room. turned out all their rooms are like that. so they ended up bringing an electric heater that smelled very bad. the beds are also the opposite of comfortable. will never stay at this "motel" again. Actually you can find motels with way better quality than this.

Room Tip: don't book at this "hotel".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Babaquatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We strive to provide every guest with an exceptional stay and it appears we fell short of that goal with your visit. As a historic hotel, we cannot change the size of our rooms; however, we have reviewed and addressed the heating issue you reported and resolved it for future guests. We appreciate the feedback as we are constantly looking to improve our product and services.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This tiny hotel, with its tiny rooms, and even tinier bathrooms (and no breakfast) is definitely ridiculously overpriced.

The location of the hotel is great, and the housekeeping lady is super friendly, but that's about as good as it gets.

Wouldn't stay there again that's for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay in November. We strive to provide an exceptional experience to our guests and we are sorry we fell short of that goal with your visit. We are glad, however, that you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. Thank you again for your review and we appreciate your business.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

When we travel, I read Trip Advisor reviews religiously. I scroll through every photo and closely examine my options. Yet I have never written a single review. Until now.
Right now, I'm sitting in bed watching the birds and boats sail by the Bay Bridge. The Hotel Griffon is a fantastic getaway. The perfect balance of location, aesthetics, comfort and class, we will certainly return.
I would say you must absolutely get a room with a view, you will not regret it. The staff is helpful, the beds are comfortable, everything is clean and well cared for.

So there you have it. My first review, and the Hotel Griffon earned it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rsabrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are truly honored to be deemed worthy of your first Tripadvisor review and appreciate the comments and accolades. We agree that the vistas from our Bay View rooms are quite spectacular. On behalf of our helpful staff, we look forward to welcoming you back during your next getaway to San Francisco.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
1,340 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4,548 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $186 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Griffon invites you to experience what was voted "Best Boutique Hotel" and "Best 24 Hour Getaway" by San Francisco Magazine. Situated along San Francisco's stylish Embarcadero waterfront, our certified green hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers who seek a pleasant and charming alternative to the chain hotel. Indulge in an appealing San Francisco boutique hotel inspired by European sensibility and enjoy exceptional amenities that include well-appointed guestrooms and luxury suites, delectable on site dining at Perry's on the Embarcadero, and distinguished meeting space for business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing