We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely wee hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Griffon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Griffon
Ranked #26 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely wee hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

A cracking wee hotel located right on the bay under the Bay Bridge. Ideal for the city or for commuting if on business. 15 mins walk from Pier 39 and 10 mins from Union Square, less than 5 mins from the Bart train Station.
Food is good, breakfast is fantastic, it needs to be experienced. Rooms are a little on the small side but adequate for a short stay.
Overall a great hotel and one I will use again when on business in San Francisco,

Room Tip: Ask fr a Bay view room and not a Queen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyTemple67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear AndyTemple67,
Thank you for your cracking review of the Hotel Griffon! We are pleased to hear how our great location along the Embarcadero waterfront and breakfast enhanced your business trip to San Francisco. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    206
    71
    25
    16
See reviews for
61
317
57
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is lovely. The front desk staff is friendly and kind. Ignacio met me at my car door in the rain with umbrella open, ready to help with my bags. Check in was a breeze, and my room was so cozy and comfortable. The linens were beautiful and it was really quiet. The chaise type chair was so comfortable I was tempted to stay in the room- but I was in the city so I had to go explore. All the amenities you need are right there in the room. The bed was super comfortable too. Coffee in the room was delicious. The location was great for me- very close to the ferry building and just a block from Market where you can catch a bus to go almost anywhere in the city. I will stay here again next time I come to the city. And, I got a great park and stay rate. You can't go wrong at the Hotel Griffon.

Room Tip: My room was on the inside of the building so there was no view but it was very quiet and I got a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are so pleased to read how our convenient location near the Ferry Building, comfortable rooms and friendly service enhanced your visit to San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Griffon for three nights in February and were very pleased. The most important thing is that the staff was outstanding. We were greeted with a smile and a hello at every coming and going. The staff helped us park, got us taxis, gave us advice, arranged our airport ride and even fetched a bag we had left in the rental car after it was valeted.

I read the reviews carefully beforehand. Older reviews said there were problems with reservations -- we had none; everything was flawless. A few people said the rooms were too small, etc. -- I would say that this hotel definitely has a boutique or European feel and there is not a lot of extra space. So if you want a big sprawling room this might not be for you. But we found it comfortable, with a fantastic location just a block off the Embarcadero and just south of Market. We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Howard T.,
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are happy to hear how our staff enhanced your stay as well as our great location near the Ferry Building along the Embarcadero Waterfront. Our staff takes great pride in providing a unique experience for each guest and are always eager to assist. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever travels return you to San Francisco

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a perfect view of the bay bridge and at night just sat back and watched the lights on the bridge dance around as we fell asleep. The location is great. Super close to great restaurants and the embarcadero. The room was well appointed and well kept. It was perfect for our quick weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Patrick W,
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our spectacular views of the Bay Bridge and the light show art installation. We are also happy to hear how you enjoyed our great location along the Embarcadero waterfront and our clean, well-appointed rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next weekend getaway

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

terrible place to stay. really small rooms. We checked in and the room was so cold. The thermostat didn't work, and asked front desk to change our room. turned out all their rooms are like that. so they ended up bringing an electric heater that smelled very bad. the beds are also the opposite of comfortable. will never stay at this "motel" again. Actually you can find motels with way better quality than this.

Room Tip: don't book at this "hotel".
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babaquatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We strive to provide every guest with an exceptional stay and it appears we fell short of that goal with your visit. As a historic hotel, we cannot change the size of our rooms; however, we have reviewed and addressed the heating issue you reported and resolved it for future guests. We appreciate the feedback as we are constantly looking to improve our product and services.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This tiny hotel, with its tiny rooms, and even tinier bathrooms (and no breakfast) is definitely ridiculously overpriced.

The location of the hotel is great, and the housekeeping lady is super friendly, but that's about as good as it gets.

Wouldn't stay there again that's for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay in November. We strive to provide an exceptional experience to our guests and we are sorry we fell short of that goal with your visit. We are glad, however, that you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. Thank you again for your review and we appreciate your business.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

When we travel, I read Trip Advisor reviews religiously. I scroll through every photo and closely examine my options. Yet I have never written a single review. Until now.
Right now, I'm sitting in bed watching the birds and boats sail by the Bay Bridge. The Hotel Griffon is a fantastic getaway. The perfect balance of location, aesthetics, comfort and class, we will certainly return.
I would say you must absolutely get a room with a view, you will not regret it. The staff is helpful, the beds are comfortable, everything is clean and well cared for.

So there you have it. My first review, and the Hotel Griffon earned it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rsabrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are truly honored to be deemed worthy of your first Tripadvisor review and appreciate the comments and accolades. We agree that the vistas from our Bay View rooms are quite spectacular. On behalf of our helpful staff, we look forward to welcoming you back during your next getaway to San Francisco.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,340 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,522 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#49 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Property: Hotel Griffon
Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105-1254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing