We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$175
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$184
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$491
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$228
$195
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$269
$259
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$257
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$408
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveler rating
488
282
91
30
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
282
91
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay bridgeferry buildinggreat locationexposed brickrooms are smallgiants gameexecutive suitefarmers marketbay view roomturn down servicerestaurant downstairsroom servicecomfortable bedfinancial districtvalet parkingeasy accessfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 911 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Vintage building, fully retrofitted with modern decor, with a wonderful view!
This was our second stay at the Hotel Griffon. Each stay keeps getting better I don't know how they keep topping them selfs. We were meet at the counter by Matt the Front office manager. He remembered our names and what we liked to drink. He checked us into our room then personally brought up a bottle of one of our favorite brands bubbles.The bubbles were enjoyed at dusk as the lights of the Bay Bridge were starting there nightly show.Its the little attention to details that the Griffon strives for, that brings us back. They share the first floor with Perry's restaurant and bar. We ordered Breakfast in our room, a great meal. We enjoyed it while looking out on the bay. Our room had views from the bridge to Alcatraz Island. The location is fantastic. Located right on the Embarcadero across from the Ferry building. Walking distance to everything you need in the city.

Room Tip: Bay suit views are the only way to fly! book in advance they go fast!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Dan S.,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and for choosing the Hotel Griffon for your stay in San Francisco. Our location on the Embarcadero near the Ferry Building is quite popular with our guests and we are pleased to hear that you find it convenient to "everything you need in the city." We are so happy to hear about the wonderful experience you had with us; from the personalized service to the modern decor to the great views from your room. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service and are always happy to hear our guests feedback. We are also glad you were able to enjoy our in-house restaurant, Perry's. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

There are so many good attributes in this little hotel: though the building is old, the hotel was remodeled and the place is immaculate - the decor throughout exudes quality, is charmingly modern and very efficient; location is very convenient to transportation options and many interesting places along the Embarcadero; in-and-out valet parking is also convenient; the staff is attentive and friendly - top notch service; the beds are great; Peets Coffee and Perry's are right there; the views are wonderful (if your room is located on that side).

On the down side: the rooms are old-world in size (part of the charm, I guess), so don't expect a large room; the bay views only apply to certain outside rooms, others view a wall; it is a little pricey for the size. Still, all in all, the Hotel Griffon is a great choice for a SF stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay side room unless you don't mind that your view is a wall a dozen feet away.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your recent patronage of the Hotel Griffon and thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our waterfront location and our attentive, friendly service. We take great pride in our historic hotel and ensure that it is impeccably maintained , clean and updated. Thank you for noticing! On behalf of the staff of Perry's and the Hotel Griffon, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We love this cozy boutique hotel which is just blocks from dozens of great places to eat and drink. You don't even have to go that far as Perry's is an excellent spot to dine and has a classic bar with great service. Don't miss the Japanese restaurant Ozumo right next door, amazing sake and the food is off the hook. Back to the hotel, we are making this our go to spot for Giants games when we are in town for back to back events. The rooms are very clean and quiet despite being just across from the busy Embarcadero. The front desk is always helpful and the valet for your car is a lifesaver if you just plan on walking during your stay. I highly recommend you do just that as there is more to see on foot and if you really need to cross the City, the F car line is just down the block, Muni is close by and the Ferry's are just across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefChaz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and for staying at the Hotel Griffon! We are glad you had such a great time in our neighborhood, going to a Giants game, eating at Perry's and Ozumo and enjoying our proximity to the Ferry, F line and other convenient transportation options. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon; opening day perhaps???

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

A very nice, clean upscale boutique hotel on the embarcadaro. Easy access to the BART and street cars to go anywhere in SF.
Rooms were a bit small but quiet, upscale, and 418 has a great view of the bridge and the new lights gives you a light show you can watch from your bed;)

The SF waterfront is right outside your door for a great stroll or jog. Fishermans Wharf is about a nice. 20 min walk along the bay ..
Great happy hours at the bars and restaurants next door !
A nice option to the big chain hotels.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Kirkland67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read about how much you enjoyed our hotel and especially the views of the bay bridge from your room. We also appreciate your comments about our clean, upscale accommodations as well as our proximity to Fisherman's Wharf and some great restaurants and bars in the area. On behalf of all the staff, we look forward to your return

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Well located little hotel with great staff and restaurant that is superior to most hotels. The reason that I did not give it 5 stars is that our room was very, very small. Tiny. However, it had incredible views of bay and bridge and sail boats and characters walking below. Next time I might check out rooms first, but for just a couple of nights the space was workable. I would definitely return. The rates seem to be slightly below other boutique hotels in the area, also a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Claudette S,
We appreciate your staying at the Hotel Griffon and for sharing your comments. Feedback from our guests provides us with invaluable information to improve our product and services. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great staff, our fabulous restaurant, Perry's, and our superb location along the waterfront. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews