We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Boutique Hotel with Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Griffon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Griffon
Ranked #19 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copley, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Boutique Hotel with Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Griffon for 2 nights (May 31st - June 2nd). We booked the room directly from their website and requested a room with a view and when we arrived we were on the 4th floor with a beautiful view of the pier and the Bay Bridge. If you book at least 3 weeks out from your arrival they do offer a promotion where you get 20% off the room rate per night. The only catch is your credit card is charged immediately and there are no refunds, however this was a perk to us because we knew the trip would not be canceled and were glad to save some money. The room itself was clean and modern but very small. Once we opened our suitcases there was barely enough room to walk around without either bumping into the bed or the sink. The toilet and shower are in a separate room with a door, however the sink and mirror are at the end of your bed, so if you are looking for a large room with a separate bathroom this is not the hotel to stay at. We didn't mind the setup since we were only there for 2 nights but had we stayed for a week it would have become inconvenient. The front desk was very helpful and gave us directions to a restaurant one night and even a stamp for a postcard I was mailing. They also had a nice onsite restaurant (Perry's) where we had drinks and appetizers at the bar late one night after we got back from a day around town. There were also two computers set up in the lobby area with free WIFI so that was a nice perk. Overall we felt we received a good value for the money and would stay at Hotel Griffon again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit to the Hotel Griffon and for sharing your comments and tips for fellow travelers. We are glad you enjoyed our Bay View room and Perry's restaurant. Our staff takes great pride in providing an exceptional experience and are grateful for your comments about the service you received from the guest service agents as well as the cleanliness of your room . We look forward to your return visit, which we hope is soon.
At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    201
    68
    25
    15
See reviews for
61
310
57
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Ma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Griffon May 31 to June 2. I chose the hotel largely based on it's proximity to the Ferry Building. We stayed in Room 410 and loved it. The only odd thing is having the sink in the bedroom area rather than the bathroom but this is actually a benefit if you want to blow dry your hair and apply makeup while your husband is taking a shower. The bed is very comfy and we never heard a sound fro any other rooms. There was a power outage on Saturday that had us a bit concerned as we wanted to watch the Bruins game and luckily it was resolved by then. Coffee and tea in the lobby every morning was appreciated. We walked everywhere from the hotel so the location was truly great. We ate dinner at Perry's adjacent to the lobby on Sunday night. The food was great, service was even better, prices were very reasonable and we were able to watch both the Red Sox and the Chicago LA games during dinner. I especially appreciated being able to bring my second glass of wine up to my room to finish. The desk staff and car service to the airport were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinaMedford_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are glad you found our location near the Ferry Building to be an ideal location for seeing the sights of San Francisco. Your comments about Perry's Restaurant, our friendly staff and our rooms are also much appreciated. We look forward to your return visit which we hope will be soon and often

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a great trip and although I did not stay long, this was the perfect place. I didn't really need anything at all for my stay, but felt like if I did, the staff would have been right on top of it. They were so friendly and efficient, always smiling and acknowledging your presence when you passed the desk. The power went out for a few hours during the day and I happened to be in the lobby - let me tell you - these people were trained and had a plan. They stayed on top of helping people in the elevators and trying to get to the bottom of the outage. I think this was one of the cleanest hotel room's I've ever been in. Evening turndown service with weather reports and things to do for the weekend was great. The bedding and pillows were FANTASTIC! I am trying to find where I can purchase them online, but they only sell them in sets of dozens...Maybe the hotel could help me out with how to find individual ;)?

The room could have used a little extra light, but that's not really the hotel's fault, just the building design. Also the walls were SUPER THIN. I could hear the woman next door coughing and blowdrying her hair at 11:30 at night (not sure who does this), and then the next night there was a group of loud men, but they were not bothersome too late, so it wasn't really an issue. Just know you will get to know your neighbors if you stay here for a while.

Overall excellent experience and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiki2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Griffon and we appreciate the feedback. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our guests and we thank you for the comments regarding how the staff handling the unusual situation of the power outage. We are sorry to hear about the noise from your neighbors but it seems our comfortable bedding allowed for a restful night. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back which we hope is soon and often.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I came to San Francisco for work and found this lovely little hotel. The room was surprisingly spacious, well appointed, quiet and comfortable. The lobby is beautiful and the service at both the front desk and at the bar were top notch. I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyLordHeuksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting the Hotel Griffon and for sharing your feedback. We are so glad to hear you found us and you enjoyed our well appointed, comfortable rooms and great service. We look forward to welcoming you back which we hope is soon and often


At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I LOVED this hotel! Great location: Just a 2 min walk to the Ferry Building and a few blocks away from Google's SF office. Friendly staff, eco-conscious toiletries, nice rooms. I'll definitely stay there again :)

Green Features: Hotel Griffon is known as being an eco-friendly hotel. They have vegan soaps with packging printed with soy ink and and eco-friendly cleaning products.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsrfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Was in SF for the weekend and thought this was a great place. Location was beautiful and was walking distance to AT&T Park, Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. Room was smartly decorated and clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveNY1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review and we appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay at the Hotel Griffon. The Hotel Griffon is in close proximity to some of San Francisco’s most famous attractions. Being able to get to AT&T Park, Fisherman’s Wharf and Union Square by foot, puts the Hotel Griffon in an ideal location. We are happy you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations and we will pass your kind comments along to our staff.

We hope to have back at the Hotel Griffon soon!

Best Regards,

Norbert Mede
General Manger
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was a great trip advisor find. We wanted a hotel close to the Bay Bridge to view the LED light show and this is it! We had a bay view room. Purchased the special which included parking and breakfast great deal. Best hotel breakfast ever included in a package. Hotel was clean, quiet and conveniently located to the pier area. We walked to restaurants and sights. Decor of hotel was upscale with a European flair!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JarheadAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,257 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#50 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,712 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#22 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Property: Hotel Griffon
Address: 155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing