We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet stay in Sa Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #22 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Griffon May 31 to June 2. I chose the hotel largely based on it's proximity to the Ferry Building. We stayed in Room 410 and loved it. The only odd thing is having the sink in the bedroom area rather than the bathroom but this is actually a benefit if you want to blow dry your hair and apply makeup while your husband is taking a shower. The bed is very comfy and we never heard a sound fro any other rooms. There was a power outage on Saturday that had us a bit concerned as we wanted to watch the Bruins game and luckily it was resolved by then. Coffee and tea in the lobby every morning was appreciated. We walked everywhere from the hotel so the location was truly great. We ate dinner at Perry's adjacent to the lobby on Sunday night. The food was great, service was even better, prices were very reasonable and we were able to watch both the Red Sox and the Chicago LA games during dinner. I especially appreciated being able to bring my second glass of wine up to my room to finish. The desk staff and car service to the airport were great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinaMedford_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are glad you found our location near the Ferry Building to be an ideal location for seeing the sights of San Francisco. Your comments about Perry's Restaurant, our friendly staff and our rooms are also much appreciated. We look forward to your return visit which we hope will be soon and often

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 825 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a great trip and although I did not stay long, this was the perfect place. I didn't really need anything at all for my stay, but felt like if I did, the staff would have been right on top of it. They were so friendly and efficient, always smiling and acknowledging your presence when you passed the desk. The power went out for a few hours during the day and I happened to be in the lobby - let me tell you - these people were trained and had a plan. They stayed on top of helping people in the elevators and trying to get to the bottom of the outage. I think this was one of the cleanest hotel room's I've ever been in. Evening turndown service with weather reports and things to do for the weekend was great. The bedding and pillows were FANTASTIC! I am trying to find where I can purchase them online, but they only sell them in sets of dozens...Maybe the hotel could help me out with how to find individual ;)?

The room could have used a little extra light, but that's not really the hotel's fault, just the building design. Also the walls were SUPER THIN. I could hear the woman next door coughing and blowdrying her hair at 11:30 at night (not sure who does this), and then the next night there was a group of loud men, but they were not bothersome too late, so it wasn't really an issue. Just know you will get to know your neighbors if you stay here for a while.

Overall excellent experience and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiki2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Griffon and we appreciate the feedback. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our guests and we thank you for the comments regarding how the staff handling the unusual situation of the power outage. We are sorry to hear about the noise from your neighbors but it seems our comfortable bedding allowed for a restful night. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back which we hope is soon and often.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I came to San Francisco for work and found this lovely little hotel. The room was surprisingly spacious, well appointed, quiet and comfortable. The lobby is beautiful and the service at both the front desk and at the bar were top notch. I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank SkyLordHeuksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting the Hotel Griffon and for sharing your feedback. We are so glad to hear you found us and you enjoyed our well appointed, comfortable rooms and great service. We look forward to welcoming you back which we hope is soon and often


At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I LOVED this hotel! Great location: Just a 2 min walk to the Ferry Building and a few blocks away from Google's SF office. Friendly staff, eco-conscious toiletries, nice rooms. I'll definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsrfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Was in SF for the weekend and thought this was a great place. Location was beautiful and was walking distance to AT&T Park, Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. Room was smartly decorated and clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveNY1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review and we appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay at the Hotel Griffon. The Hotel Griffon is in close proximity to some of San Francisco’s most famous attractions. Being able to get to AT&T Park, Fisherman’s Wharf and Union Square by foot, puts the Hotel Griffon in an ideal location. We are happy you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations and we will pass your kind comments along to our staff.

We hope to have back at the Hotel Griffon soon!

Best Regards,

Norbert Mede
General Manger
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel was a great trip advisor find. We wanted a hotel close to the Bay Bridge to view the LED light show and this is it! We had a bay view room. Purchased the special which included parking and breakfast great deal. Best hotel breakfast ever included in a package. Hotel was clean, quiet and conveniently located to the pier area. We walked to restaurants and sights. Decor of hotel was upscale with a European flair!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JarheadAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This small 'boutique' (is that descriptive term dated now?) hotel fitted our needs very well for a short stay in SFO. As noted in other reviews, the rooms (and the elevator) are on the small side, but that's not an issue ... we're not large people. The room was tastefully furnished and made a pleasant change from the usual cookie-cutter stuff of the national chains. We found out the rooms can vary quite a bit in size and overlook, so it's worth talking to the front desk about your options. Considering the bigger chain hotel prices, this place can be a bargain if you shop it at the right time of year and watch for deals. Conveniently situated close to the ferry terminal for us as we visit friends in Marin County when we are in town. Before our next trip to the bay area we will definitely check this place out for price and we will be more than happy to return ... but we'll be looking for a good deal ...the price has to be right. If not ... we'll check out other options.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarHeelTraveler286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our rooms and found them perfect for your needs. The Ferry Terminal is a such short walk from the hotel and we are glad you were able to take advantage of our location to visit friends. We look forward to your return to the Hotel Griffon in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
1,337 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4,545 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $185 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Griffon invites you to experience what was voted "Best Boutique Hotel" and "Best 24 Hour Getaway" by San Francisco Magazine. Situated along San Francisco's stylish Embarcadero waterfront, our certified green hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers who seek a pleasant and charming alternative to the chain hotel. Indulge in an appealing San Francisco boutique hotel inspired by European sensibility and enjoy exceptional amenities that include well-appointed guestrooms and luxury suites, delectable on site dining at Perry's on the Embarcadero, and distinguished meeting space for business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing