We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in SF - very close to Ferry Building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Griffon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Griffon
Ranked #31 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel in SF - very close to Ferry Building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I LOVED this hotel! Great location: Just a 2 min walk to the Ferry Building and a few blocks away from Google's SF office. Friendly staff, eco-conscious toiletries, nice rooms. I'll definitely stay there again :)

Green Features: Hotel Griffon is known as being an eco-friendly hotel. They have vegan soaps with packging printed with soy ink and and eco-friendly cleaning products.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsrfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    230
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
70
353
60
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Was in SF for the weekend and thought this was a great place. Location was beautiful and was walking distance to AT&T Park, Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. Room was smartly decorated and clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveNY1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review and we appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay at the Hotel Griffon. The Hotel Griffon is in close proximity to some of San Francisco’s most famous attractions. Being able to get to AT&T Park, Fisherman’s Wharf and Union Square by foot, puts the Hotel Griffon in an ideal location. We are happy you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations and we will pass your kind comments along to our staff.

We hope to have back at the Hotel Griffon soon!

Best Regards,

Norbert Mede
General Manger
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was a great trip advisor find. We wanted a hotel close to the Bay Bridge to view the LED light show and this is it! We had a bay view room. Purchased the special which included parking and breakfast great deal. Best hotel breakfast ever included in a package. Hotel was clean, quiet and conveniently located to the pier area. We walked to restaurants and sights. Decor of hotel was upscale with a European flair!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JarheadAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This small 'boutique' (is that descriptive term dated now?) hotel fitted our needs very well for a short stay in SFO. As noted in other reviews, the rooms (and the elevator) are on the small side, but that's not an issue ... we're not large people. The room was tastefully furnished and made a pleasant change from the usual cookie-cutter stuff of the national chains. We found out the rooms can vary quite a bit in size and overlook, so it's worth talking to the front desk about your options. Considering the bigger chain hotel prices, this place can be a bargain if you shop it at the right time of year and watch for deals. Conveniently situated close to the ferry terminal for us as we visit friends in Marin County when we are in town. Before our next trip to the bay area we will definitely check this place out for price and we will be more than happy to return ... but we'll be looking for a good deal ...the price has to be right. If not ... we'll check out other options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarHeelTraveler286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our rooms and found them perfect for your needs. The Ferry Terminal is a such short walk from the hotel and we are glad you were able to take advantage of our location to visit friends. We look forward to your return to the Hotel Griffon in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

As noted by other reviews, the rooms are quite small. However they were nicely decorated. We were given a room that didn't not have a view out (faced another building) but since we booked on a discount site, we weren't expecting the best room in the house. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The attached restaurant (Perry's) was quite good. We didn't use room service but ordered food to go on a couple of occasions and were not disappointed.

The location is great. Close the waterfront and public transit. We found it easy to get to/from the airport using the BART with luggage and a baby in tow. Also within walking distance of Union Square and Chinatown (if you're willing to stretch it).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are pleased you found our service, in house restaurant Perry's, and our central and convenient location enhanced your experience. Our location near the Ferry Building, BART, and Union Square is certainly well suited for families who want to see San Francisco.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels return you to the city by the bay

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

this hotel was in walking distance of so many sites on our mini vacay so it was super convenient. the room was absolutely beautiful and i was so surprised at the smart design and use of space in the room. service was above excellent and i am so appreciative to how they organized parking, considering SF is one of the worse places to park. we went to perry's for drinks but the food look absolutely delicious.. will have to try it next time. coffee/tea and fruit as well as newspapers in the lobby are great for those on the go. surprised to see little outlets/plugs by every seat in the lobby - major plus for the modern traveler! they were really considerate and followed all my specifications that i filled out during the booking process. for this price, you really can't beat it. i stayed in another hotel not too far and only a little cheaper but it was hideous, outdated and inconvenient. i must note, i loved how into the griffon theme the entire hotel was, very cool. i love love loved the go green initiatives and amenities esp. the bar soap (nice exfoliation!), pillow chocolates and HAND SANITIZER - yay!! would most def stay again!

Room Tip: liked the spot near the elevator - which is small but direct access in and out for those on the go!
See more room tips
Green Features: thought these were great.. as stated: LOVED THE SOAP, so smart!!!
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to have had you as our guest and wish to thank you for sharing your feedback on your "mini vacay". We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful, well designed rooms, excellent service, and Perry's restaurant just off our lobby. Thank you for noticing some of our "green" initiatives as we strive to minimize our impact on the environment while maintaining a high standard of quality for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
336 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in room 219 which has great views on the Bay Bridge and is right on Embarcadero. The check in service is great - attentive and genuintly friendly. The room is dissapointingly small with a slated/sloping floor. Noise insulation is remarkably good but you will hear the street noise well at night. If you are a light sleeper, avoid this hotel. The bathroom is clean but lacks a basin (in bedroom). The bed was soft but comfortable. The location of is center and in the immediate vicinity, you will find some restaurants and bars. The hotel has a bar/restaurant and gets pretty crowded afterwork. Fine hotel for one or two nights but rooms are small (except for those on either end of the building, none have windows...) with good service.

Room Tip: As hotel only has 5 floors, going higher does probably do little to stem the street noise. Rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our attentive, friendly service and the great views of the Bay Bridge and Embarcadero waterfront. We are sorry you found the room to be a bit small, but we do offer a variety of room types that vary in size. Our central location is very convenient to local attractions, bars and fine restaurants. We look forward to your return to the Hotel Griffon in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Property: Hotel Griffon
Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing