We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip in December”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Griffon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Griffon
Ranked #27 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fleet
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trip in December”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Staff in reception were excellent....I got woken up at 2am by one of the staff filling the laundry cupboard... have to say that they did stop this routine once I had a word....Perrys is average,despite its reputation ..rooms are dark and miserable,shower room and bath need replacing....and it may be good value in San Francisco but for me,too expensive

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room but one with a view of the baywoul be better than the interna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bladesman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon and for sharing your feedback. Guest comments help us improve our services and facility to provide the best experience possible. We are very pleased that our front desk staff stood out to you. I am very sorry, however, to hear that you were disturbed by our evening houseman. We will review this with our staff and take the opportunity to improve our systems. Thank you again for your stay and review. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Griffon in the near future.


At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    232
    77
    27
    19
See reviews for
72
359
61
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
203 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My two favorite hotels in the US are in the Bay Area. For those going to downtown San Francisco check out the boutique Hotel Griffon. The rooms are wonderful and have a wonderful charm including real brick walls. Downstairs the little lobby opens to the street and connected restaurant. Again great view of the bay and short walk to Bart or street cars if you pan to want to be downtown but want to stay at a marvelous place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PorscheBoxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the Hotel Griffon and for sharing your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels historic charm, great location and our rooms, especially with the view. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels return you to San Francisco


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I purchased Living social discounts for this hotel. So we paid 150 a night including parking, not including City taxes.

Pros: Reasonable price, great customer service, complimentary fruit and hot tea and Apple Cider, Free Wi-Fi, Direct TV, great location near Ferry Building and Muni.
Cons: No view out of window, bathroom sink outside of actual bathroom, water temperature a little cold.

As you can see, this hotel has a lot going for it. I really enjoyed my stay there for two nights and especially liked the customer service experience.

I will definitely keep this place in mind when staying in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoredonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Hotel Griffon We sincerely appreciate your patronage and for sharing your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed our great location near the Ferry Building, our complimentary Wi-Fi, and the service you received from our staff. We are sorry you experienced an issue with the water temperature and appreciate you bringing this to our attention to rectify any issues.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Spent our Anniversary week-end at the Hotel Griffon. Exceptional guest service from the time we left our car to when we left two days later. Had a King View Room, which I highly recommend. Great views of the embarcadero and Bay Bridge. The room was well stocked. Lovely linens and towels. Turn down service with chocolates each night - wonderful touch. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for sharing your comments. We are so pleased you found our Service and amenities to your liking, especially the great views of the bay you experienced. We sincerely appreciate the recommendation and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

For anyone who isn't familiar with this hotel, it is in the financial district of San Francisco which tends to be pretty deserted on the weekends. I think this hotel accommodates mostly business travelers. I stayed here with my girlfriend on a Saturday night for one night as we were attending a holiday party in the close by. The room was a little small but still very comfortable and it was charming in its own way with exposed brick. The main reason I recommend this hotel so highly is that the staff were consistently friendly and helpful during our short stay. I interacted with two different people at the friend desk and two different valet people and I would rate all four very highly. The people I interact with are really important to me so the smallness of the room can easily be overlooked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the Hotel Griffon and for sharing your comments. We appreciate your recognition of our staff as we believe that exceptional service is the most important part of any hotel stay. Our staff takes great pride in providing a welcoming and warm environment for all our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel Griffon is by far one of the best hotels in San Francisco - bottom line. I travel quite a bit as I work for the Los Angeles Dodgers front office.....but also travel with friends and family. I have stayed in numerous spots throughout San Fran but no staff/hotel/location is better. The management staff (most notably GM Matt Swenson) is absolutely incredible and very helpful! And I couldn't pick a better location seeing as it is walking distance to the Embarcadero - Bart Station - restaurants - bars and trolley! The hotel itself is intimate and very clean.....some even with an amazing view of the bridge. All in all this place does not dissappoint and I will be staying here any time I am in the area. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Hotel Griffon. We are very pleased you found our location on the Embarcadero convenient and well suited to your stay. We pride ourselves on providing individualized service to our guests to ensure we exceed expectations. Thank you for your recognition of Matt’s service and for mentioning the cleanliness of the rooms. The housekeeping staff is always delighted to receive the feedback . We look forward to your return visit and the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Thank you for the lovely stay.

The hotel is intimate & boutique in a very good location. We were unlucky to stay when there was a large convention in the city so bedroom rates were very expensive and this made us reduce the amount of nights we stayed in San Fran - We did pay a high price but for the location & facilities we were pleased. The bedroom was snug with no view but still very nice and clean.

The staff were very friendly & pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#51 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Property: Hotel Griffon
Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing