We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great cosy hotel!”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #176 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great cosy hotel!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is located right on the Lombard street in a very nice residential area. The rooms are very cosy and clean with basic amenities. The breakfast is very basic, but fine. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our windows were directly to the Lombard street, so it gets quite noisy when you open the windows, but well you are in SF, so I don´t expect anybody to stay inside for a long time :-) Great value and nice old atmosphere!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlenaSimonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    155
    153
    68
    59
See reviews for
48
233
53
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We found this hotel on Booking.com. It is a traditional style hotel and we were very pleased with our room which was comfortable and clean. The bath/shower facilities were a bit dated but they did the job. Our room did not have a view but that never bothers us as we don't go on holiday to stay in our room.There was an option for breakfast which you had to decide at the booking stage but it was not an extra. It consisted of a simple breakfast of bread/toast, fruit, fruit juice, coffee. The reception staff were exceptionally helpful and polite. The hotel were able to offer a discount on some of the tours available in San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just perfect for the traveler on a budget. Not the Fairmont that's for sure but the Marina Inn is clean, quiet and comfortable. Good location, helpful staff, well appointed rooms. The walls are a bit thin but I was informed that this issue is being addressed. Otherwise it was a perfect stay. Thank you Marina Inn looking forward to being your guest again very soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay window. But if you want something quieter, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satorotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Irwin, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

In order to give a hotel 5 stars, I only need 3 things. 1) Safe neighborhood: I felt entirely comfortable staying in the neighborhood that the Marina Inn is located in. 2) Clean: Although the building is old, and it has a fairly strong "frebreezed" odor when you first walk into the room, it was clean and I felt comfortable staying in our room. 3) Convenient location: my husband and I walked everywhere during our stay in San Francisco. This hotel was 100% perfect in those areas.

Now, if you are a pickier person, read on. If you have fairly simple demands (like myself) then that's all you need to know.
-The shower was extremely short. It was perfect for me (I'm 5'3") but my poor 6' husband had a difficult time with the shower head being so low.
-Whenever we used the fan in the bathroom, it sounded like a small helicopter was landing on the rooftop. (again, the building is pretty old)
-The wifi had some issues, but honestly, we were there to see the sights...not to sit in a hotel on the computer so I wasn't bothered by this.
-There is quite a bit of noise at night from the traffic on Lombard street. I didn't think it was too bad, but it may bother some travelers.
-The breakfast was very basic, but it did its job!
-The staff were all very friendly and made us feel welcome.
-The beds were comfortable for hotel beds.

TL;DR - If we ever come back to San Francisco, we would definitely stay here again. You probably won't find a hotel this nice for the price in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kiela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

First of all, there is no place where you can even stop to unload the luggage and some neighbours are quite aggressive if you want to stop i their driveway for a minute to unload... The reception was friendly and helpful, the room was small, shabby, there was just enough space to walk around the bed. No fridge, windows without curtains to 2 sides towards a dirty backyard.

Room Tip: Ask for fridge and check the room thoroughly before moving in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great situation, very kind staff. the room are a little bit old fashioned but very confortable though! Very nice price too! Good value for money. I loved the fact that I only had to walk for only a couple of minutes to reach the seashore and the touristic wharf!
I highly recommend it!

Pat

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the Marina Inn for 3 nights in March. We were travelling with our 7 year old so we booked a triple room. We arrived in the morning and went to the hotel to leave our bags there, but the room was available, which was a pleasant surprise so we checked right in. The gentleman at the front desk was exceptionally helpful and friendly and really welcomed us to the hotel. It certainly has more of a bed and breakfast feel to it.
There is a simple complimentary breakfast, which started us off with juice, toast and fruit everyday.
The room was VERY clean. I have no complaints about the cleanliness of the room. The sheets were fresh and although the towels were thin, they were clean, along with the bathroom. The price we paid for this was great value. It is in a great location - with restaurants, and transportation options nearby. There is a famous California Mel's Diner nearby and the Inn is walking distance to the harbour, and and the famous Lombard Street. We walked from the hotel through Crissy Field to the Warming Station at the Golden Gate bridge and back in an afternoon.
The walls are thin, and were were woken once by a fellow guest playing music loudly. The front desk staff took this seriously though and it stopped very quickly.
All in all, a good stay. We don't expect the Ritz when we pay the price we did, and we were pleasantly surprised. The decor is dated and the carpets are old, but if you are like us and just need a clean room to rest your weary tourist head at night, with friendly and helpful service, this might be a good bet for you.

Room Tip: They offer an airport shuttle for $15 a person, which is a great deal. Book it the day before you le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank randomhotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
577 reviews
Music City Hotel
#121 of 229 in San Francisco
385 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#162 of 229 in San Francisco
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#145 of 229 in San Francisco
547 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#120 of 229 in San Francisco
751 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#115 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Property: Marina Inn
Address: 3110 Octavia St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3009
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Marina Inn San Francisco
Marina San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing