We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but Old Hotel”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #175 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for here... Hotel is in a great spot... Local bars, close to park & Fishermans wharf... Also, bus stop is one block away... Hotel is old, smells funky and carpet is stained. Staff is ok... The man (didn't catch his name) is VERY helpful! If you're not planning on being in your room except for sleeping it's ok... If you want relaxation not the place... And bring ear plugs Bc it's noisy if you're on the main road side

Stayed: November 2013
Thank SHAUNA_MADONNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 501 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I strongly recommend you to avoid this hotel because of bed-bugs! Changing room won't help, since if there are bed-bugs in one room, they are in every. Location of this inn is OK, however you may find a better place in the same area. The only good thing about this hotel is its personnel. Guys are really nice and helpful.

Room Tip: No good rooms in this inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elle_Ventrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Location very good, the room is small and bed is very small. We are sleep in room near to the main road and the noise in the room was hart if you cam to this hotel tel hem that you want room not near to the street. We are don't really enjoy from the this hotel. Bat it wars the money.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Pachimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Marina Inn for a week and it suited our needs to watch the Americas Cup and explore San Francisco perfectly. It is inexpensive accommodation in a great location. Just across from a pick up point for the double decker tourist bus, on the city bus route and within walking distance of the waterfront and down to Chestnut where there a loads of great eateries. Also EXCELLENT cafe just up on Lombard for a great brunch.
The staff at the Marina are friendly and very helpful, it is clean, the room was large with a huge bed and we were very comfortable. Breakfast was simple, boiled eggs, yogourt pottles, toast, bananas, tea coffee and fruit juice - cant complain about that when it's free.
Thanks for the stay Marina. We'd happily come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Me and my friend chose to stay at the Marina Inn since it was mid range priced and was relatively in a good location.
After we check in- the room looks ok (although small) its ok.

Later that night we go to turn the bed down so we can turn in and we find blood on the sheets! Not a little bit of blood- but stains in multiple places!

I immediately called the front desk and asked to change rooms -he said unfortunately they were fully booked so I was not able to switch. He came up 15 minutes later with new sheets and changed them. After he left I inspected the bed and there was another stain on the new bedsheets!! I covered the stain with a towel (hope that was laundered too!sheesh!) and checked out a day early. The woman at the front desk the following morning was not very friendly.

I would think twice about booking this hotel. We pricelined that night and booked the Sheraton for $180- right next to the wharf. Wish I would have done that to begin with instead of trying to save a few bucks.

Room Tip: Check the sheets EARLY when you check in- otherwise you risk something gross being found and no empt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinaNYC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is not bad, but you get few for what you pay. Breakfast is minimal, and the rooms are noisy, but are clean and relatively spacious. The location is excellent too, and personnel is friendly.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kurt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you can get a hotel in this area, do it! Great location close to Muni cable car, fun night life just around the corner, great shops and restaurants.

This place had people in and out always---it must be for the location, cause oh man, this place is all sorts of yucky. I checked the beds for bed bugs cause I was so skeeved by the place. Too bad--if they just put in a little money to renovate, it would be a great hotel.

Even the carpeting in the elevator was nasty. Our room faced Lombard Street. The hotel had no A/C and so we had to open the window for air. That wouldn't be so bad except the street noise is SO LOUD. They have these old rickety windows that you can fall out of by the way they open. No screens. So basically it was not sleeping because of the heat or the noise.

Bathroom was gross. My 6'3" companion that I went with couldn't fit in the shower. The shower head was literally right above my 5'2" frame so prepare for an uncomfy shower. All bathroom amenities are old and outdated. The tiles were falling off and revealed mold YUCK.

Breakfast is a JOKE. White bread, gross yogurt. That's all. Really crappy coffee. We ended up walking to Union St. for breakfast each morning.

Stay here for the location if you are desperate. Ours was a very last minute trip (as in booked in just a few days before we went) but otherwise it's just a place to sleep in, not to relax in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#156 of 230 in San Francisco
470 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
610 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
284 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#113 of 230 in San Francisco
772 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#176 of 230 in San Francisco
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Address: 3110 Octavia St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3009
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $100 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Marina Inn San Francisco
Marina San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing