We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #182 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is a sham. Do not stay here. They dont have their own parking so you have to park on the street which is difficult at best. The closest parking garage is 3 blocks away and cost $22 a day. The room is crappy. No air conditioning and the windows have no screens. Street noise is very loud. The entire place shows its age and lack of basic maintenence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tncple2pla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 513 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Room was uncomfortably hot the day we stayed and no air conditioning. No fans available. Mattress was stained and dirty as was the chair in the room. Very noisy from traffic off Lombard - although our windows faced the street - so other rooms may be quieter. Breakfast was limited - jam was in a communal jar with butter mixed in from people using their knives in both. Unfortunately poor service at the front desk - staff seemed irritated when asking questions about parking and services. Would not stay again or recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmc0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent a week in San Francisco for the America’s Cup and stayed at the Marina Inn. The rate was decent and it was within walking distance to Marina Green, aka America Cup Park. This is an older hotel but it is located in a nice area with a number of restaurants nearby. Our room was a nice size and had a big bay window with a window seat. The hotel is on the corner of Lombard and Octavia, Lombard is a heavy traffic street. We were on the second floor over the front entrance and our windows faced the street. When people stood outside the building smoking or came in late at night their talking or laughing carried up through our windows. We also had early morning traffic noise. The bathroom was very small, fortunately the sink was outside the bathroom. The faucet handles on both the sink and shower needed maintenance. It was difficult to get the sink faucet shut off and difficult to get the shower water started. The bath towels were small and very thin. We had a king sized bed that was comfortable and lights on both sides for reading. Our room appeared clean but the bed cover and window seat were stained, as were 2 wing chairs in the sitting area outside our room. Upgrades and maintenance needed.

Breakfast was included but was served in a very small room. There were only 4 small tables with 2 chairs each, not nearly enough to accomodate hotel guests. There was not room to maneuver to get your food, then no place to sit and eat. Breakfast consisted of white bread, butter & jelly, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bananas or apples, juice and coffee or tea.

The hotel offered free wifi and we were told there was a router on each floor so we would have no problem getting a good connection in our room. The connection was terrible or non existent. If we could get a connection it would not hold. People were always standing out in the hall above the front desk to get connected, which was also right outside our room. My best connection was standing at the front desk. When I brought this up to the desk clerk, he said ‘maybe we need to get new routers’. But it didn’t improve all week. We had counted on being able to go online to check out attractions, book tours and buy tickets but we weren’t able to do that.

Front desk staff were pleasant and will book airport transfers or arrange for a rental car for you. Despite some of the problems, it was an economical alternative to most hotels in San Francisco and was a block walk to catch buses on Chestnut.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Changitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Conveniently located to bus routes. Loved our room! A corner room with 2 big bay windows! Felt like home! Really enjoyed Asesh, the desk clerk. He was extremely helpful and friendly! Pricewise compared to other facilities that we had looked into in the same area, this was quite reasonable. There were shortcomings...Bathroom small, breakfast small, carpeting could definitely be updated, especially in the elevator. We would stay there again, the pros outweigh the cons.

Room Tip: Corner rooms cheerful and comfortable, but noisy. We did not mind traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byrdeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As a woman travelling on her own for two days, I found this hotel was just what I needed. The location is ideal since you can: walk to view the Golden Gate Bridge, the Marina, Palace of Fine Arts, Alcatraz, Fort Mason, Fisherman's Wharf, catch the cable car, find somewhere to eat on Chestnut.
It's a very basic budget hotel, but the bed was comfortable, bathroom adequate and nicely provided for, the staff helpful, breakfast (toast, yoghurt, bananas, hard boiled eggs) much improved, and despite scruffiness of interior, I was very comfortable here.

Room Tip: You may want to be on the side away from Lombard, but the traffic noise there didn't bother me a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Deceitful place. Seems nice and modern, it really has old broken carpets on elevators and corridors. Very small and poor breakfast. Rom looks really nice until you try to find where to place your suitcase. No place at all, no closet, no hangers ... none of the above. When calling the front desk inquiring for a place for my luggage the lady replied in a not very nice way "we dont have that here" ... place it on the floor. So we did and walked jumping over the suitcases.
One of the three nights we stayed, we came back from siteseeing to find the bed unmade and the room untidy.
Well located, good transportation to the city center.

Room Tip: For the same money ... I would recommend any other motel along Lombard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perblat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Located conveniently, a short bus ride from Downtown and Fisherman's Wharf (bus #30), it is overpriced considering its facilities: The room was cramped, without any area to rest your luggage (we used the floor and hopped over the bags).
We spent 3 nights there and one of them they did not make up our bed!
Breakfast was ok served in a very very small area with few tables.
It lacked aircon! (though San Francisco is cool in summer).
We had TV wifi, fridge but no coffe maker.
The toiled was cramped too.
Staff was helpful and attentive. And the place was clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Get a big room, ours was cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#116 of 231 in San Francisco
436 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#158 of 231 in San Francisco
474 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#193 of 231 in San Francisco
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#174 of 231 in San Francisco
883 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#179 of 231 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#135 of 231 in San Francisco
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Address: 3110 Octavia St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3009
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $98 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Marina Inn San Francisco
Marina San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing