We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service from the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #73 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Amazing service from the staff”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

The Kabuki is a great place to stay to use the Kabuki Springs and Theater. I really enjoyed the Asian ambiance and decor. The valet was very helpful when we arrived.
At happy hour at the restaurant the waiter was incredible. He took care of all our requests and even made sure when we came back from the hot springs we would still be able to have a late dinner. The next day when we asked about movies, we were handed a print out with the schedule. The staff we all above and beyond with their help. This is a really fun place to stay and enjoy Japantown and Fillmore St. We liked staying in a new location in SF and the hotel and area really suit a girlfriends getaway. Very reasonable to stay here too.

The only reason the hotel is not 5 stars is it is a little noisy because the sliding glass doors aren't updated and you can hear the traffic on Geary even from the 9th floor. Also, I really don't give 5 stars very often.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    771
    296
    107
    53
See reviews for
402
643
142
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed just one night in transit to Napa Valley. I was looking for a hotel with Japanese influences in the decor and layout and that's what I got. Everything works and is neat and clean, the bathroom is Japanese style, the area quiet. The hotel shows it's age a little bit but not in a way that hampers its functionality (some will cal that charm). The breakfast was good with sufficient choice (continental ++). Overall, a good experience if you'r e looking for a Japanese influence in your trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feroamaour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed in one of the executive sauna suites as part of our California honeymoon. We were initially booked at a different jdv hotel but there was an issue with our reservation and we found ourselves stranded in San Francisco. We were immediately able to secure a nice, luxurious suite at Hotel Kabuki, and even received a discount because of the length of our stay (3 nights.) Everyone there was incredibly friendly, helpful, and informative. They gave us band-aids for our blistered feet after long days walking around the city, they treated us to a bottle of wine to celebrate our honeymoon, and even gave us the number of a pizza place to order from when we were craving a meal after 11 p.m. We were initially worried about the location, but the bus system in San Francisco was really simple to learn; getting to areas like Presidio park and Fisherman's Wharf was easy and convenient! Japantown is small but has a lot of character. It has an array of restaurants, from expensive sushi to convenient bowls of delicious ramen, as well as the Sundance theatre, where you can enjoy a glass of beer or cocktail while watching current films. All-in-all, we had a blast, both in our room in Hotel Kabuki, taking baths and lounging, and exploring Japantown's eccentricities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinnthevixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. The room was small, the bathroom layout was horrible and the location is even worse. The restaurant staff especially needs customer service training. It took an extraordinarily long time for someone to take my order and even more time to bring it to me. I ordered a salad and rice!

I do not advise sharing a room at this hotel due to the bathroom layout. The glass door means there's no privacy for bathing. The layout itself is a little screwy.

The hotel is off the beaten path so you don't have a diverse offering of restaurants and everyday amenities like Starbucks nearby. This might be okay for a personal vacay -- emphasize "might" -- but it's really not conducive to business travel. Plus, not only was the room dirty when my colleague and I checked in, but it took days for the staff to remove our room service dishes from the hallway. Just a bad experience all the way around. NOT recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDoeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-Kabuki-GM, General Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2010
Thanks you for your feedback. I am dissapointed that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. I use comments such as yours to help improve our hospitality. I also understand your concern over the location and uniqueness our our rooms. Many guests find these exact characteristics appealing, but I understand your concerns. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This was our first visit and it won't be our last. We started the evening off with a GREAT concert at Yoshi's.. and everything after that continued to be GREAT. Our check in experience was fabulous. The staff was extremely professional and knowledgeable. Our room was just like the web site stated.. We had the executive suite with the sauna..Everything was clean and comfortable. The sauna was heavenly and we slept like 2 newborns in the most comfortable bed ever..We were able to extend our check out to 2pm without a problem. The surrounding grounds were beautiful. We can't wait to come back again. Next time we will reserve the traditional room..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finarican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Simple but elegant. Good location, nice rooms. Hotel is a bit dated, but clean and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bringerseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Traveled with two colleagues.
Kabuki is centrally located, easy to get to.
Great service throughout entire stay, including doorman, lobby staff.
We each loved our rooms--lovely, understated decor.
Great bathrooms w/ Japanese tubs.
Lobby/waiting area was comfortable, with cozy gathering/meeting spaces.
Handy business center.
Charging $3 /cup for morning coffee is unreasonable. If you have to charge, $1/cup would probably cover costs and seem like nothing to a guest.
$16 /night parking was very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#39 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#83 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#111 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115-3603 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing