We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #73 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good price and a pleasant stay”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here the weekend for the San Francisco half marathon. First off, we arrived early and there was a room ready for us. We were happy about that! I'd say the only complaint I have is I didn't really like the musty smell of the room as I walked into it, but it was a nice room with a nice bathroom, mini fridge and Keurig coffee maker. The staff was very friendly, very pretty lobby. Freddy at the door was so friendly and helpful, asked us when we're coming back. There's a really pretty garden you can see from the lobby. Make sure you take time to take some pictures. Also, no pool at this hotel, but we were okay with it because we enjoyed venturing out into the neighborhood. Japan town was a cultural experience. Lower Pacific Heights is only a five, ten minute walk away. There was a bus stop right around the corner; we used public transportation the whole time. I can't wait to go back to that beautiful city. I'm glad we stayed at this hotel. Oh, the bed was really comfortable with plenty of comfy pillows, but I am 5 feet 2 inches tall. I think if you are taller than me, you might have your feet hanging off the bed. We stayed in room 507. If you are in this room, be prepared to hear people in the bathroom from the room next to you. I really felt like they were in our room talking. That's another thing that was not too great, but I was so tired I fell back asleep right away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terdav0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We're so happy to have lent our site, services, and surroundings to your recent San Francisco visit, and we thank you for taking the time to offer us such thoughtful feedback of the experience. There's much more hospitality to be had and areas to explore, and we hope that you'll think of us the next time you're in the area. All our best; we hope your half marathon was a great success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    771
    296
    107
    53
See reviews for
401
643
142
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great Stay. Great Hotel. Everyone made everything simple. Some of the best customer service I have ever experienced and I travel 50 nights a year.

Check In: Arrived 5 hours early, Greg at the front desk said he would call me when my room was ready. He did just that. Annalise checked us in and was great. Smiling, Knowledgeable and Professional. Just got off the phone requesting a folio of my stay, it was Annalise. Again, Helpful, Kind and Professional. She is great!!! Gave great dinner recommendations too. One of which was the hotel restaurant.

Room: Comfortable beds, Clean bathrooms, HOT water quickly, little bit of street noise and hall noise from staff removing room service trays during the night.

Restaurant: Great service, good food and patient. We were running the half marathon and were picky about what we could eat. They were very patient with us and the food was awesome. We stopped in the morning to have literally a piece of toast and one yogurt. They were only serving a buffet but the two gals working were so kind to give us ala carte pricing for our toast and yogurt. (Management that is going above and beyond).

Bellman: Joe was the absolute best!!! Checked our bags until our rooms were ready. Treated us like royalty and remembered our names throughout the stay. He got us a town car to the wharf for lunch and gave pricing so we know what we were paying ahead of time. Got us a cab in the morning to take to our race and wished us luck. Got us another town car to take to the airport on Sunday and thanked us for our stay and welcomed us to come back. Way to go Joe!


The hotel is simple but very respectable and clean. and that is okay because you dont pay an arm and leg for a nights rest. But the service is that of Ritz and Four Seasons. Go for the service, you wont be sorry and make sure you say hello to Joe, Greg, and Annalise. They were great!

Thanks for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We're so happy to have had the opportunity to host your recent visit to San Francisco, and we hope your marathon was a wonderful success. It's a pleasure to lend our unrivaled hospitality to your stay, and we're thrilled that the team left such a positive impression on you; we'll most certainly pass these praises along. We'd love the chance to welcome you back, and we encourage you to reach out to the team with any of your future booking needs. Until then, all our best and well wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

There are several things I really love about Hotel Kabuki. The rooms are comfortable, the price reasonable, the hotel feels small and cozy, although the rooms are large enough and not cramped. I especially love the Japanese style tubs and shower arrangement. It is easy to feel you can pamper yourself.

Although there is wireless internet for free, it is pretty slow. For $6 or so, you can get faster speed (which I did not try), but the free is adequate for checking emails. The hotel cafe has limited hours of operation, so you'll need other options for off hours breakfast, for lunch, or late dining. A few blocks away to Filmore Street are lots of nice trendy cafes, however. So as long as you know and plan, this is not a terrible issue.

We stayed twice here, a year apart, and enjoyed both stays!

Room Tip: The corner room really does get you a roomier room, worth a few extra $ in my opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to offer us such kind words of your visit, Ann. It's a pleasure to have welcomed you to our site, and we're happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our relaxing offerings and our accessibility to some of the region's playful offerings. We'd love to welcome you back soon and to showcase even more of the hospitality that stands us apart, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you're in San Francisco. Many thanks again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I've reviewed this hotel before, but an important marker is consistency: one good experience "might" be a fluke. But glad to say this definitely is not the case. In fact every time we have visited (at least twice a year) we are welcomed with the same excellent accommodations and service. The beauty is that it's not one of the "downtown tourist hotels" and so, gives you a better sense of the city of San Francisco, where people live. However, it's right in the Fillmore District with good restaurants, movie theaters, and a choice of several famous music venues (Yoshi's, Fillmore, etc.) A not-so hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BeeCeeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We're so happy to have welcomed you back to our Hotel Kabuki and to hear that your experiences continue to be marked by unparalleled guest services. We certainly aim to afford our guests with the very finest of hospitality, and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again and to sharing even more of our special brand with you. Many thanks, and all our best until we hear from you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed here for a week on business/pleasure. The hotel is a gem in San Francisco. I've stayed at other hotels that are twice the price and no where near as charming. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The lobby is spacious and welcoming. If you visit, you must check out the gardens and coi pond. The rooms are authentically decorated and comfortable. I loved the bathroom and spa like supplies. There is a keurig in the room for a yummy cup or coffee or tea in the morning. The bartender Bill was very nice and efficient. Loved the balcony and views of the town. Oh, did I mention FREE wireless internet? I highly recommend this hotel and will return!

Room Tip: HIgher floors have better views. Make sure to join the Joie De Vivre club for hotels points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGreiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We're so happy to have welcomed you to our Hotel Kabuki and to hear that the experience was marked with so many memorable occasions. We're immensely proud of our site and the outgoing efforts of out team, and we're thrilled they they combined to create a memorable experience for you. We'd appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back and to showcase even more of the special elements that stand our property apart, and we encourage you to reach out to our team with any of your future booking needs. All our best, and many thanks again for your stay and lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Bay
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great safe location in Japantown. Valet and front desk staff so pleasant and willing to help.
Japanese themed hotel, nicely decorated, but in desperate need of some infrastructure investment by Joie De Vivre hotel group. Private club room elevator sounds like the Haunted House at Disneyland. Jacuzzi tub control loose and fell off during use...could not shut the jets off as control knob would not reattach. Hotel leaves expensive water and energy boosters in room separate from those in the mini-bar, a duplicitous practice.
I would stay here again because of the location and staff, but hotel needs some serious maintenance investment. It is old and tired.
Room very clean but the hallways and upper floor foyer had used F & B service set-ups left untended for hours at a time.

Room Tip: Club room has nice jacuzzi tub but no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hownowmonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We're glad to have had you as our recent guest, and we thank you for taking the opportunity to reach out with this thoughtful review of your visit. We're certainly proud of the outgoing and reliable hospitality of our team, and we're happy that these were such memorable elements of your stay. With that, we appreciate your attention to the upkeep of our property, and we'd like to assure you of continued and ongoing upgrades across Hotel kabuki. Aside from numerous room upgrades, we're increasing our technology infrastructure and kicking the volume up across the property, and we hope to share this evolution with you in your travels to come. Please be sure to reach out the next time you return to the area; we'd love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I had a very nice jr suite with a nice chaise lounge and a well appointed desk. The room was clean, the service was spot on. Japan Town is a good location for business, close to downtown and fun activities after hours.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We're happy to have welcomed you to our Hotel Kabuki and to hear that the visit was an enjoyable one for you. It's a pleasure to be able to offer our guests a well-appointed space and ease of access to the regions best attractions, and we hope to be able to host you again in the near future. Please be sure to reach out the next time you're in San Francisco, and all our best until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#110 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115-3603 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing