We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price for property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #76 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good price for property”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night. I found the room online and the rate was very reasonable for Mother's Day weekend. Check-in was smooth and the bell and desk staff were accommodating, polite, and informative. The room was clean with all of the appropriate amenities. The only negative is that the bathroom doors were not solid. They were a fixed louver design so anyone in the room shared the bathroom experience. Yikes! Also, we were on the Laguna St. side and there was a fair amount of traffic noise all night although having morning sun was great. The internet was easy to access. The workout room was small but appropriate for how few people wanted to use it. The ambiance of the hotel was terrific. All of the gardens looked to be accessible through sliding doors though we didn't have time to enjoy them. Being located in Japan Town is a huge plus if you enjoy that sort of food and culture. There are many shops, restaurants, and grocery stores just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Taxis, and other public transit are easily accessible and the Kabuki staff are competent at handling questions about usage.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce2343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We apologize if our bathrooms were not to your liking. We hope that you'll try our O Izakaya Restaurant & Lounge next time, it's delicious! We look forward to your return to the Hotel Kabuki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    794
    314
    124
    57
See reviews for
434
671
146
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wonderful location in heart of Japan Town. It is a quiet and convenient neighborhood with shopping and restaurants right there, Bus to Union Square is 1/2 block away. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. And there is wonderful place just outside the door for shiatsu and reflexology - great after day of lots walking and shopping! Parking in the municipal garage below hotel was only $23.00 for 24 hours, a bargain for SF and so easy. It is about double for the hotel's valet parking.Will gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Parking can certainly be pricey in the city, and we are pleased that you found our rates to be reasonable. We hope that you'll continue to choose us whenever you visit San Francisco, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydesville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had a great stay at the Kabuki Hotel in San Francisco. The front desk staff was helpful, flexible, and friendly. That was something I needed after the six hour drive into the city from Humboldt County. Parking was convenient since the hotel has a direct elevator and connection to the Japan Center parking garage. Parking was significantly less expensive than other major hotels in the city when you use the Japan Center garage. Valet parking was also available, but more expensive. An added advantage was the three Muni lines within a block of the hotel. I was able to take public transportation to both downtown and the Wharf, and avoid expensive taxis, or parking structures. This was my second stay at the Kabuki. Staying on the fourteenth floor was certainly a treat. The room was both unique and relaxing. The bed was nice and comfortable, the view over Japan Center, with its pagoda and "Peace Plaza" was impressive, and the Japanese decor exceptional. The bathroom is an interesting mix of a traditional Japanese soaking tub (with an added faucet and chamber for scrubbing), and a regular shower. There is a very nice restaurant and lounge in the hotel itself, as well as a lot of restaurant choices in Japan Center. Japan Center also has a lot of unique little shops to check-out. It was a great experience, and I plan to stay there on future visits to San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are so thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our location is definitely convenient, and we are pleased that you took advantage of this feature! We hope that you'll join us in the O Izakaya Restaurant and Lounge upon your next visit. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff in a quiet location 10 minutes away from all the main attractions. We had a corner room which was large and clean, the on suite bathroom was of a high standard with shower and a soak tub (deep bath). The attached bar/restaurant was very good and served a good buffet breakfast and evening meals

Room Tip: The corner rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell-Harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We love hearing how much you enjoyed the O Izakaya Restaurant and Lounge! We hope that you'll continue to choose us whenever you visit the San Francisco area, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hotel Kabuki was very nice.
However, the rental car cost was less than parking the car in their parking lot for 4 days.
Cost for hotel for 3 nights was almost 900.00 with parking.
(Stay was Wednesday and check out Saturday am.)
Other than the extra fees the hotel was clean and the employees were very nice.

Room Tip: Our room was on the upper floor and faced the main street but was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We sincerely apologize if you were misinformed about any fees or charges you may encounter while at our hotel. City parking is very expensive, and our garage is very affordable in comparison. We hope that you'll give us another chance to show you why our world-class guest service makes it all worth it! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there for a few days in April. I arrived a few hours earlier than check in time and they were very responsive and able to give me my room in advance. They were also so on point with their customer service and friendliness. One cool perk is that they would leave a message for things that were going on in the hotel of interest, in case I had nothing to do but stay close and relax. Room service was awesome. One thing I have to say, is that they aim to go beyond the call of duty for all of their services, which to me is super.

The bathroom gave way to the possibility two people bathing at the same time. Both can take separate showers, or one can take a shower while the other took a relaxing bath at THE SAME TIME.

AND ALSO it is conveniently located in an area that is fully commutable by all buses, and events!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qb200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We love hearing that you enjoyed our Room Service! Please join us for a bite in the O Izakaya Restaurant and Lounge next time, it is delicious! We hope that you'll join us again soon so we may continue to provide you with our world class guest service. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon at the Hotel Kabuki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hotel Kabuki is one of the Joie de Vivre hotels.

The hotel consists of a 16 story tower and a newer “Garden Wing” of 5 floors located in the heart of San Francisco’s Japan Town. The concept is to present a hotel that can cater to either western style taste with a Japanese influence, or an authentic Japanese hotel experience, depending on the style of the room.

A western style room will have a Japanese influence in its décor and finishes. It might even have a Japanese style bathroom with a small soaking tub in addition to a shower. The authentic Japanese rooms are designed and decorated in a strong Japanese style, but with western beds instead of the futons of a Japanese Inn.
The lobby and common rooms of the hotel are quite striking and at the same time on a scale more in keeping with the Japanese penchant for smaller spaces than the American use of large spaces for public areas. The hotel is attached to an extensive Japan themed enclosed mall with many restaurants and shops all featuring products and food from Japan.

There are also meeting rooms, a restaurant/bar and a fitness center.

I’ve stayed at the hotel twice; the first time in October and the second time in April. I mention this because both times the weather in San Francisco was unusually hot and I discovered that the Tower can only be programmed by the Hotel entirely for either air conditioning or heat, but only one or the other. This means that on an unusually hot day in the Spring or Fall, if the weather requires air conditioning and the Tower is set for heat, you are out of luck. The Garden Wing, however, allows the guest to switch between heat and cooling at anytime. On a higher Tower floor with the windows open, this might not be important as you are above most of the noise and there is a good chance for a breeze.

Because the hotel is located on one of San Francisco’s hills the Tower offers, on a clear day, spectacular views of the City. Some of the rooms on the west side of the Garden Wing offer views of a pleasant Japanese garden. The east side is strictly street views and can be noisy if you’re not used to being in an urban enjoinment or like to sleep with the window open.

Hotel Kabuki offers several attractive amenities, such as upscale coffee in the room, a Japanese tea set for two with green tea and a small packet of bath salts for the tub. Unfortunately, the coffee maker’s drip cone is not cleaned by the staff and, therefore, makes bitter coffee. There is no source in the room for hot water for the tea apart from the coffee maker so, should you desire a cup you either windup with coffee tasting tea or you will have to go to the restaurant or call room service for hot water.

Where Hotel Kabuki fails is in its maintenance. The attractive lacquered desks and furniture in the guest rooms are badly worn with bare wood showing in large areas of the desk and the furniture. The trim around the bathroom mirrors are frayed and the general appearance of the rooms, if you look closely, reveals a shop worn appearance that indicates that the establishment is badly in need of redecorating, which I would guess was done about 10 years ago. I mention this not to be overly critical, but because it really detracts from what starts out as a very positive experience. Everything seems so upscale at first blush, but then you notice the obvious deferred maintenance and wonder why the management doesn’t take care of it.

I generally liked Hotel Kabuki and wanted it to be the best it can be. It has many appealing qualities, amenities and a great location. The rooms are unique and thoughtfully designed, the staff fairly well trained and it offers a special ambiance. With a redecorating and improved on going maintenance the missing Joie de Vivre will return to the hotel and so will I.

Room Tip: The east side of the Garden Wing is on the street and can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nodrog633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize if we were unable to meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your comments and feedback, and especially your attention to detail! It sounds like you fully took advantage of our amenities, and were able to get the complete experience of the Hotel Kabuki. We are looking into many of the issues you mentioned, and hoping to address them as soon as possible. Please join us again soon so we can make up for your previous experiences! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#33 of 229 in San Francisco
491 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
1,662 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115-3603 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing