We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay Area Clinical Research Symposium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #76 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The staff at the Hotel Kabuki is first class. Participants love the location, the meeting space and professional staff at the Hotel Kabuki. I will be using them for all my conferences in San Francisco! Rick Bacon and his team are exceptional!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for an outstanding review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and conference experience. We hope that you'll continue to choose the Hotel Kabuki for future meetings and events. Please join us again soon whether it be for business or pleasure. We would love to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,481 - 1,487 of 2,186 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have had the opportunity to stay at the Kabuki twice recently, and will have need to do so again in the near future. Every stay to date has been pleasant and relaxing. The rooms are well furnished and appointed with elements of both Japanese and Western design. Of the two rooms we have stayed in recently, the corner room was superior, and worth the few additional dollars for the extra space and view. The Japanese soaking tubs are a very nice amenity.

The staff is everything a hotel staff should be. Check in has been effortless, and everyone from the valet to the room service staff has been on the ball, attendant and cheerful.

The Kabuki is also well located, particularly if you enjoy Japanese cuisine. There are more Japanese restaurants within two blocks than we could count, and the variety pretty much covers the spectrum: there are sushi bars, tepanyaki houses, ramen shops, shabu-shabu restaurants, etc. There is also a Koren restaurant across the street, a nice modern Indian restaurant two blocks down Polk (Dosa), an Ethiopian restaurant three blocks away on Fillmore, and Yoshi's is a block further than that. I am sure we will discover even more options over time. There are also several live music options in the area.

We have not yet dined at Ichigaya, the hotel's restaurant. The menu looks wonderful, and I am sure we will give it a try soon. We did go in once to try it out on a previous trip, but, while the decor was very nice, the stereo system was blaring 80's and 90's rock, which seemed incongruous and distracting, so we took a pass that night.

We originally selected the Kabuki due to its proximity to UCSF's cancer center, but we keep returning because we have enjoyed our experiences there so much. We will be staying there several more times before our cancer adventure is over, as it provides a comforting environment during some stressful times. I am sure we will continue to use the Kabuki afterwards, however, as it is simply a very nice place to stay.

Cheers!

- Rodney

Room Tip: The corner view rooms are far superior to the not-corner view rooms, FYI. Also, take time to enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Than you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that you appreciated the area of Japan Town. We look forward to your return to the O Izakaya Restaurant and Lounge, and we hope that the music won't be as distracting next time. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I threw a surprise party for my girlfriend at 6:00 on 11-30-12. My parents and friends decorated the executive sauna suite. And she was truly surprised as a dozen friends or so emerged from behind the screen; "surprise!!!"
The front desk staff want out of their way to accommodate the unusual request of playing along with the plan to surprise her.
Sandy in reservations was quite helpful to customize the room types.
The property was awesome. Lots of space in sauna suite snd the connecting standard room was spacious as well. The decor and amenities gave this place a warm and soft Japanese ambiance
We shall return.

Adam T

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daddy831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and love to hear a story like yours. It sounds like your girlfriend was truly surprised, and Sandy will surely be recognized for assisting you with that. We strive to provide world-class guest service to each and every guest. Please join us again soon so we can continue assisting with memorable moments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a business dinner in the City at the Kabuki, and decided to spend the night-have been here before, and always pleased with room, view, service and price. The area has great restaurants like Sweet Maple for breakfast, and a couple more blocks up Filmore put me at Peet's--my favorite since going to Berkley years ago.

Room Tip: get a room with a view, we were over the entrance on the 12th floor, slept with slider open, minimal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabear925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for an outstanding review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and time in San Francisco. The O Izakaya Restaurant & Lounge is truly unique, and we thank you for choosing us. We hope that you'll join us again soon whether it be for business or pleasure. We cannot wait to provide you with the same level of service you continue to experience. Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay at Hotel Kabuki. The first time I got there, I got a room that was too close to the main HVAC unit and knew that the noise would not allow me to sleep, so I requested another room. The receptionist immediately understood the situation, apologized and changed my room to one that was far away from the unit where I could enjoy wonderful rest. The second time I checked in, she remembered me and the situation she had helped me resolve and chose another room that was quiet and enjoyable. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and the Japanese soaking tubs in the bathrooms are a wonderful experience. The beds are really comfortable and the free wi-fi very convenient. The location may be a little off the beaten tourist path for many but worked extremely well for me. I highly recommend also visiting the Kabuki Spa and enjoying some excellently prepared Japanese food in many of the surrounding restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plamen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your review! We apologize if there were any inconveniences during your arrival process. We hope that the remedy made up for the challenges. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your traditional soaking tubs too! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband had surgery at California Pacific Medical Center and I needed a place to stay for what turned out to be 12 nights. The arrangement made with Kabuki Hotel was a life-saver for me. The K shuttle ran M-F ... great service! The hotel service, location, etc was terrific. Everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for a fantastic review! We are pleased that we could be your home away from home during such a sensitive time. Our hospital guests are like family, and we hope you felt this way during your stay. Please join us again soon for a bite at the O Izakaya Restaurant and Lounge! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A good hotel in a nice part of San Francisco. Served well as a conference venue. Bed was comfortable (although there was plenty of noise from the street), free WiFi access, good shower and bathroom facilities, clean. There's not much more I could have asked for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaB0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for a great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and time in San Francisco. We hope that you'll choose us again for future events and meetings, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
587 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
88 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,758 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115-3603 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $156 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing