We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charging for your pet!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #73 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charging for your pet!!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my 7 year old Golden retriever. The hotel itself is nice with good decor. We had a great deal from booking.com
After we checked out they charged a whopping $250 saying that there was urine on the floor.
I know for a fact that there was no urine, but the part of the floor was wet where left my dog's water bowl. My dog has never peed inside since he was a puppy and I have taken him to many pet friendly hotels before.
So those of you thinking about taking your pet, be aware!!!
They act like they are pet friendly, but they are not!!! They will just charge you after you leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsohn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imran J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Jsohn001,

Thank you so much for your review, and I apologize for any inconvenience. It seems, from your review ratings, that you enjoyed the majority of your stay at Hotel Kabuki until the end. We do our utmost to be an extremely pet-friendly hotel and welcome all pets. After pets leave, we have a duty to thoroughly service each room for the next guest. Should you care to discuss your feedback, please do not hesitate to call me.

Kindest regards,

Imran Jivani
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    771
    296
    107
    53
See reviews for
402
643
142
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
545 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great hotel in a great location for a different take on SF.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and unique.

It's right next to Japantown Peace Plaza which seems to have regular events, and it's beside the jazz district so plenty of places nearby for live music.

And the surprising high point is that it's just a short walk from trendy Fillmore and Union Streets.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VR747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imran J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear VR747,

I was so thrilled to read your review. It is great to read that the Hotel Kabuki staff was helpful, the rooms were to your liking, and the location exceeded you expectations. We are so happy when a guest has such a wonderful stay. Please let me know if I may be of any future service.

Kindest regards,

Imran Jivani
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here when I had to come into SFO for a last minute trip. Hotel Kabuki was 1/2 the price of what I had normally spent on a SFO hotel and they had a room so I gave them a try. I really liked it and plan on staying here again the next time im in town. Great staff, nice lobby and they have a beautiful traditional Japanese Garden. The rooms are slightly shabby, but it's blocks away from the Fillmore section of town with great music, restaurants (including SPQR) and lots of little shops. Very NYC SoHo like. But like I said, it's slightly shabby – not dirty, just not 5 star. If you want luxury, spa, tourist focused, etc.. then you should stay at an expensive hotel in Union Square.

Room Tip: ask for a room higher up. you'll have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imran J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Jon A,

Thank you so much for your candid review. I am pleased that you found Hotel Kabuki's staff to be great; we strive to provide exceptional service at every turn. I am so sorry the room did not meet your standards. Before you return, please call me, and I will do my best to find you a room that exceeds your expectations.

Kindest regards,

Imran Jivani
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were really excited to stay here on a recent trip, but were disappointed with the room. We booked this room using a points program, and when we checked in were told that we were "upgraded" to the traditional Japanese suite. I was really excited by this, as the exterior and lobby were beautiful and I figured the room would be as well.

When we got into our room, we were excited - the sleeping area is partitioned off with screened doors, and it had beautiful lighting. When we turned on the lights, however, and opened the doors - it revealed a room that hadn't been kept up very well. I felt like we were put in the room because we booked it with points and therefore they didn't want to waste a nice room on us. And, my points were equivalent to almost $250, so it wasn't like I pricelined it for $20 or something. I assumed we wouldn't be getting a premium room, but I did expect it to be the standard quality of the hotel overall.

The carpeting had stains in areas, the screened wall had a hole in it, our comforter on the floor bed had a rip in it and was clearly pretty old otherwise, the robe in the closet looked dingy (although I'm sure it was actually clean, just worn), and the bathroom also looked worn (rust around shower head and faucets, and the windows were very breezy and let a lot of noise in. All in all, the room felt like a 2-star property, not a 4-star.

That said, I feel like maybe it was this suite, because the pictures on the website make the other rooms look much nicer. And again, once you get into the lobby it seems like an entirely different hotel. The grounds were kept impeccably, and the location is amazing. I loved Japantown and wished we had more time to stay there.

The staff were very nice, and had we stayed there longer I probably would have asked for a different room, but we were in and out overnight (leaving at 3am), so I figured it didn't matter.

Room Tip: Don't go with the traditional japanese suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annecarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imran J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear annecarlisle,

I am so disheartened by your review. Our Japanese suites are supposed to offer a serene representation of Eastern hospitality. It seems we failed, and I sincerely apologize. I am happy that you found Hotel Kabuki's team to be helpful and that you enjoyed the public areas. I hope we will have a chance to regain your confidence. Please call me to discuss all of your feedback so we can improve our standards.

Kindest regards,

Imran Jivani
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Kabuki for five nights to celebrate our honeymoon. On arrival, we were extremely tired after a 10-hour flight, and the staff were fantastic in making us feel at ease and comfortable. The combination of Japanese service and Californian hospitality was really incredible, and we absolutely loved being right on the doorstep to the Japan Center.

Prior to arrival, the hotel kindly upgraded us to a corner room free of charge due to the special occasion. We loved the big windows and slept soundly each night. One one occasion we had a problem with noise from guests in the next room which was quickly and subtly resolved by the hotel staff.

We also really enjoyed the food and bar service - the bartender was extremely friendly, and when we realised the bar would be closed on the last two nights of our stay, we were pretty disappointed!

The one slight complaint I have (and it is very small) is that we were disturbed by the cleaners despite the 'Do not disturb' sign. I also read that other guests were disturbed in the same way, so I assume this is normal for the hotel. Luckily we were already awake when they knocked, but I think it would be better for the maid to respect the sign, just in case guests are jet-lagged and sleeping.

On the whole, I'd definitely stay at the Kabuki again. The location is perfect for bars and restaurants just a few blocks away, without being right in the thick of the action. We really liked having a quiet, peaceful spot to retreat to after our busy days in San Francisco. (Best wishes to the barman Bill who made our stay really fun and enjoyable!)

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, ask for a room on a higher floor. We weren't disturbed by traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank science_299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imran J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear science_299,

Congratulations! We are so happy we were able to be a part of your honeymoon. I am delighted to read about your stay and that the service made you feel at ease and comfortable. I will pass your accolades to our entire team. In regards, to the disturbance by our housekeeping team, I apologize. I have shared your feedback, and it will improve us. We are thrilled you were able to have such a great experience at Hotel Kabuki. Please know that I am always at your service. See you soon!

Kindest regards,

Imran Jivani
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I'm currently on my first night of two at the kabuki, we've stayed here numerous times. Though we usually get the sauna sweet- but this time we opted for the standard king. It's on the fifth floor- and I like to view but not so much every noise the neighbor makes. I can hear the curtain draw on their room... I can hear low conversations! (which make me wonder about us )! But I can hear the little utterances of them not just normal speaking! Not private at all... I mean we are on our anniversary night out- if we were to get loud....
Anyway- this is not the only issue- there were problems with bookin the place and once I got the "best" deal we forget we have to pay $40 to park and etc and etc..
I have to say the location is wonderful, the price isn't too bad, and the sauna suites with your own Japanese style soaking tub is the way to go here- but pay the extra otherwise you'll fet sent to the 5th floor thinking your getting special
treatment and really your just going further away from all the good stuff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie7079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imran J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear nutbass,

I am truly sorry for all your inconveniences, and I wish that we had met during your stay. The Hotel Kabuki wants every guest to having an amazing experience; we should have done our best for your anniversary. Please contact me to discuss how we could have been better. Your feedback will be indispensible.

Kindest regards,

Imran Jivani
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobb, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Wonderful ,,relaxing.............Comfortable and clean................................................
The soaking tub was great! ...............................Truly wonderful to relax and read a nice book ............... .................................... Wish I could have spent more time there!.........................

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imran J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Roberta A.,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so happy to read about your amazing experience at the Hotel Kabuki. We hope you have a chance to return soon. In the interim, please know that I am at your service.

Kindest regards,

Imran Jivani
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#39 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#83 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#111 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115-3603 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing