We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese style hotel in the heart of SF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #74 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Japanese style hotel in the heart of SF”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Located next to San Francisco's Japantown, Kabuki offers a unique Japanese immersion experience including Japanese room decor, garden and dining. You can also access the Japanese mall through a convenient walkway for all kinds of shopping and dining options.

The location of the hotel is near many other San Francisco attractions. The famous SF Chinatown is within walking distance (keep in mind that San Francisco is a city of hills, so be prepared for a workout). Downtown is also not far away from the hotel.

Parking is expensive in San Francisco. If you are staying at this hotel, your best value for overnight parking is the easily accessible Japantown parking garage. Valet is available but is much pricier than the parking garage.

This is a very decent property with an upscale feel. They seem to have several room choices - if you can get one with a sauna, it is a wonderful experience. Ask for a sauna room upgrade if you are staying for several nights.

Overall, if you prefer boutique or themed hotels instead of the chains, Kabuki is a good choice. It's not fancy, but gives you quality accommodations and a memorable cultural experience. Recommended for both family and business travelers.

Room Tip: Get a sauna room upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsavvy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    787
    306
    116
    55
See reviews for
420
657
144
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The good:
-The bed was amazingly comfortable and the sheets had a very good feel. I had a room with a queen size bed that was just the right size for a single person. The bathroom was ok too, with a separate area for the shower. The restaurant was excellent; I went to eat there for dinner on my last night (I spent 4 nights total), had the salmon and was delighted! Location is also allright, with neat little japanese shops around. Another thing that I appreciated is that the tub had a little issue and they were pretty quick to fix it.

The bad:
-The walls are incredibly thin, you just hear everything going on outside your room!
-I was supposed to get a renovated room, as it was stated in my Hotwire reservation, and didn't get that. There were a lot of marks of the wall and on the desk
-The third thing and for me the most important is that because I was booked through Hotwire, I was treated like a SECOND CLASS GUEST by one of the women working the front desk, which is simply horrible and not acceptable... I arrived in the middle of the afternoon, showed up at the desk and the lady was very nice to me at first. I gave her my name and she said : "oh... with Hotwire" (sounded like Hotwire was a disease) and her way of talking to me changed instantly. I'll most likely travel to San Francisco again but because of that, will not go back to the Kabuki.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

the room was really clean
i slept great
room service is great
spa was amazing
breakfast was very tasty
staff was super help-ful and very nice
great experience

Room Tip: try to get the suite with the hot tub in room , so so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Front door staff is amazing... great location for a quiet stay and very good part of town to get away from the craziness of Union Square, Fishermans Wharf and all the places to see in SFO... The Kabuki is close, but far enough away to enjoy a great visit.. Great meeting space...most all on one floor... accommodating staff.. I'd recommend this hotel to visitors...

Room Tip: Corner Kings are the way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJRCMPMSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I love the friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere.The location is great since it is right in Japantown next to restaurants and walking distance to shops. I would recommend this hotel to my friends, family, and business associates.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Godiamond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms are a little dated but it is extremely peaceful here. Beds are super comfortable, and the soaking tubs are great.

Room Tip: get a view room with a soaking tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyred81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This well-appointed hotel is central to all business in the San Francisco area. Although the restaurants and room service are high priced, the accommodations are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#33 of 229 in San Francisco
457 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#86 of 229 in San Francisco
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,631 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115-3603 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing