We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place away from the crowd”
Review of Sleep Over Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep Over Sauce
Ranked #18 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights here for my second stay in San Francisco. The place is exactly what I was looking for: a nice and clean place, with an excellent bed and linen in a perfect location to explore the city. They have free wifi in the room and offer a free continental breakfast in the morning with fruits, cereals, different types of breads, jam, coffee or tea that you prepare yourself. This is also available during the day so that you can take an apple for the road. The restaurant downstairs is open from 5pm to 2 am and all the people there were very friendy and helpful in answering my questions.
It is close to the streetcar stops to go downtown and the area is nice with coffee shops and other restaurants. I would return there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Over Sauce
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 107 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

This little boutique hotel is in a great location in quaint hayes valley at the center of the San Francisco (without being in Union Square where you are overrun by tourists). It is also connected to Sauce, one of my favorite restaurants in the city. It is quiet and laid back, and has this great large shared living room if you want to chill outside of your hotel room that gives it a really homey feel. I have returned multiple times since my first visit. This is a really charming hotel.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Nyumyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

When I was living in San Jose my girlfriend was living up north so we would sometimes meet half way and when we did we stayed at sleep over sauce, named for the fact it sits over their award winning restaurant. It was like staying at a friends house who turned their place into a restaurant, bar and hotel. Apparently it is a family owned business and it feels like. It seemed that everyone there knew each other and the vibe was friendly and fun. When we made it to our room it was quite and cozy. The location is right in the heart of the city and walking distance to downtown.
I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boognesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed here while in San Fran in October. The staff could not have been more helpful, the rooms were clean and the location was fabulous! Also, it's above one of the best restaurants in San Fran - SAUCE! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank kdl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed our stay of one night at the Sleep Over Sauce. If you're wondering about the name (we definitely were) it's because the rooms are located above the restaurant "Sauce". Both the restaurant and hotel are family owned, and we received great service at both. The rooms were a bit small but very comfortable and well decorated...the free continental breakfast was an added touch that we were unaware of. Loved it!

Lastly, an example of their great service. My wife and I accidentally left behind a relatively expensive electric toothbrush. After contacting them through email I promptly received a response that they would gladly ship it to me (since I was already on my way home). Less than a week later I received it in the mail. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tehskylark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I stayed 2 nights at Sleep Over Sauce in early Oct. I could not be happier. Check-in was a breeze however it was also the only time I saw anybody from the guest house in the guest house. He gave me the rundown on how everything worked - snacks, coffee,basic breakfast stuff in the community room. Free wifi and computer access... contact the bartender if you have any other problems. The room was pretty basic - Bed -Lamp - TV, Clock radio ( mine had a base to charge an iPhone with) and a small wall unit for hanging up clothes. The bath room was across the hall but was private. The place was very quite during my stay - there were some sirens from the street that I heard but what do you expect when your in a large city. I did not hear any other guests making noise.
The bed was very comfortable, the shower was hot.
Is it a 5 star hotel - nope but it was a perfect home base for exploring the city and needing a good rest so you can get up and do it again

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Filthy carpets on the stairways and in our room, cheesy 1970s dark "wood" veneer furniture, smoke detector lying in a corner on the floor, musty smell, non-functional lamp by the bed in our "Haight Room". Terribly over-priced dump.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank westernflyer1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
1,360 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 230 in San Francisco
791 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Over Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Over Sauce

Address: 135 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5919 (Formerly Albion House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $160 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shows, Travel, Business or Pleasure this is the place. Sleep Over Sauce is a unique, 9 room, boutique inn located in San Francisco’s #1 shopping and entertainment hub, Hayes Valley. We are located in the center of the city. With the shopping in Hayes Valley, the shows and events in the Civic center, and only a short walk to both the Castro and the Haight Ashbury districts, Sleep is truly in the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sleep Over Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Over Sauce Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing