We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but nice apart from some drunken guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quirky but nice apart from some drunken guests”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The place is very quirky and not like any of the main stream hotels ... We needed a 2 bedroom suite and the basement room was ideal. It even has its own entrance ... Only found that out after we had struggled with cases up stairs through the dinning room and kitchen then down the narrowest flight of stairs in the world. The room was also cold in the night.
The only disappointing fact was that a group of very noisy guests in the other basement room decided to have a party with other hotel guests... Which went on to the early morning ... No management on site so could not complain at the time.
Food really good and staff very helpful ... No need for a car as the transport links were excellent and very cheap.
Yes i would stay again

Room Tip: Our basement room has its own bathroom and entrance ... A real advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic-bentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauTivoliManager, Manager at Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Nic_bentley,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, and I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations.

Since our reception office closes in the evening, as you mentioned, we encourage all guests to call the manager at the mobile number provided at check-in with any concerns. The manager is within walking distance, and will gladly resolve any nighttime issues. Our guests' comfort - at any hour of their stay - is our top priority.

If you stay with us again, I would love the chance to speak with you directly. Thank you again for your review, and we wish you Happy Holidays,

Best regards,
Meredith, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    29
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
98
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in the Jack London room for 3 nights by myself with a bathroom that I shared with one other room. The room was very clean, no funky smells of any kind which I was frankly surprised about for such an old property. It's quaint with a wonderful genuine San Francisco feel. Loved the wooden floors and the rugs - the fact that it's painted white was a bonus for me too. The outlook is to trees and beautiful houses. I never made it to breakfast due to jetlag but I was impressed with the speedy wifi and the offer of free cheese and wine in the afternoon. The Jack London is on the top floor but I found it well worth the hike up the stairs with the luggage. It was at the end of the corridor and I heard no other guests at all. In the morning, I had a fan going in the tower area which blocked out the traffic noise and blew some coolness into the bedroom area. I didn't even notice that there was no TV until the 3rd day.
The shared bathroom was neat and I never bumped into the other guests that I was sharing it with.
I would definitely come back. Great value for money, friendly staff. Loved every moment in that light filled tower!

Room Tip: Top floor = more light in the rooms. Worth the hike up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gavagai18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed in ChateauTivoli last week for one night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The décor is definitely posh and stuffed with antiques from various eras. We stayed in the Langtry Suite which was spacious and conveniently accessible from the street. I highly recommend this suite if you want easy in/out access for luggage without stairs. It is on the first floor corner however and there is some street noise.

All in all we were very pleased with our experience. Other reviewers have described the place as "shabby chic" and we would agree. We'd advise the owners to be careful about the "shabby" part however and maybe make some investments in some refresh of paint and carpets.

We would recommend Chatau Tivoli to any traveler who prefers the bed and breakfast accommodations to a standard hotel. It's a good and enjoyable value.

Room Tip: See main review. Some rooms are up multiple stairs. 1st floor corner room is very convenient but s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZihuaMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The genuine article, painted better than the group of painted ladies up the hill at Alamo square. Fantastic refurbishment to true Victorian standards of elegance. Breakfast that is very good, sociable and sets you up for the day (until the cheese and wine, early evening to soak up the atmosphere in the drawing room). Just remember Victorians didn't have teas mades or televisions so if you want modern this may not be the place for you.

Room Tip: Isadora Duncan room was great even with private bathroom across the hall, Large bay window and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nice room (Mark Twain Suite) and location and the staff was very friendly. Meredith and Nick were helpful with dining suggestions and reservations as well as an impromptu breakfast in bed because of a large breakfast crowd during the America's Cup. Very nice B&B in a great city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the Tetrazzini Suite. The staff is very nice and helpful with getting settled and giving assistance on tourist sites, restaurants, and public transportation. The bathroom was clean. On the other hand, the suite had many issues where items were not maintained. The wood furniture had broken pieces, the carpeting did not lay flat, some of the windows did not open, nor the one to the fire escape which was so heavy it would have been impossible to hold open while trying to get out. Also, much of the upholstery did not appear clean and many of the springs in the seating pieces were broken. The heavy brocade canopy, over the bed, was torn and unsightly, with stuffing exposed from the quilting. From the good reviews it seemed the upkeep on the antiques would have been expected. But on these points we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicoNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua L, Manager at Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear ChicoNan,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We always appreciate hearing about our guests’ experiences, especially when it doesn’t meet their expectations.

We just performed a re-evaluation of the Luisa Tetrazzini Suite. Although the fire escape window does open, we are investigating options to make it open more easily. We are also evaluating changing the carpeting and maintenance options for the furnishings.

If you would be so kind as to contact us directly at (415) 776-5462 or mail@chateautivoli.com, we would love the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay. We hope to see you again, and we appreciate your feedback,

Best regards,
Meredith, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place, the property is beautiful and has lovely period features throughout. We stayed for 2 nights but changed rooms each night due to availability. The first night we had a larger room with private bathroom and the second we stayed in the jack London room with a shared bathroom. Both rooms were great but we particularly liked the jack London- very quaint little room with very comfy bed and the shared bathroom was really nice- no issues at all with other people using it. The whole house is in a quiet area and you can really get a restful nights sleep. Breakfast was simple but very fresh, fruits, baked goods and cold cuts- we enjoyed it :) our stay here was great value for money, would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie101photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#33 of 229 in San Francisco
457 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Anne Hotel
#86 of 229 in San Francisco
633 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#1 of 71 in San Francisco
935 reviews
The Grove Inn
#7 of 71 in San Francisco
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115-4620
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Tivoli Bed And Breakfast
Chateau Tivoli Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing