We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very pleasant atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 75 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Romantic and full of charme. The staff was very helpful and polite. The room was very quiet and decorated with an antique style that contributed to make the B&B a special place. Very good price for san francisco, if you take a room with a very clean external bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emanuelws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    28
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
92
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Three families, with four of the members under the age of 12...what a treat to find a beautiful Bed & Breakfast in the heart of San Francisco that welcomed all of us! Meredith was wonderful and the continental breakfast enjoyed (and satisfying) before beginning our exploration of the city (we were there during the week so full breakfast was not available). Thank you Chateau Tivoli for adding to our unique and fun visit to "The City by the Bay"!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jack London and I thoroughly enjoyed having my "very early" first cup of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missmooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great staff, very friendly and service minded. Nice shift from Vegas the nights before! However, the place feels like most $ were spent on the outside. If you like antiques it is probably OK but I like good design with great function and that wasn't found here. Afternoon wine and snacks is great and we never had issues with parking (arrived around 5 pm). It does not live up to the "hype" on this forum.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are a history buff, this place will knock your socks off. It's truly like walking into the late 1800's! Everything from the furniture, the antiques, amazing architecture, intricate paint jobs/wall paper, friendly staff, and pure history makes this place so uniquely set apart from any other experience you will ever find. I felt like I was living out a childhood fantasy staying here!

Tips:
1. Bring earplugs- the windows/walls are old, thus the noise levels of the hustle and bustle outside can be pretty loud. To make sure you get a good night sleep, bring those earplugs.

2. Hunt for parking and pay attention to those local parking laws- Given that you are in San Fran, just be prepared for parking to be difficult anywhere you go. Luckily, this place has free parking, but it's not always easy to find. Just be mindful of street sweeping. The street sweeping is weekly and is different for either sides of the street.

3. Take the time to go to some of the local restaurants- The restaurant where you can eat in the dark is only .6 mi away from the BB. Also, my boyfriend surprised me and took me to a French place only 2 mi away and it was the best dinner we'd both ever had.

4. If you enjoy history- take the time to get to know the history behind the name on your door. The rooms all have names engraved on their doors named after people who've stayed in the BB. Ours was Isadora Duncan, a famous Opera Singer/Actress from the early 1900's.

Great breakfast! Bagels and lox, amazing coffee (the good stuff), super friendly staff, lovely little place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

UpUpon entering the house, we were a little taken aback with the decor. The furnishings are in definite need of an update and the pictures and statues throughout the house were a bit odd. Once we got over the initial surprise, we had a great time and enjoyed our stay. My biggest complaint is the parking situation. We arrived late at night and there was not a parking space available for blocks. Being unfamiliar with the area, we were unable to locate the parking garage a few blocks away and ended up parking in an area that I would not suggest walking through. I would suggest when reservations are made that an area map is included with the confirmation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LasVegasVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fantastic B&B in a great location in San Francisco. Easy to access public transport, taxis, etc. The rooms are beautifully decorated with period pieces and the inn is gorgeous. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and are extremely helpful with recommendations. The weekend brunch/breakfast is fantastic! Just returned from a trip with 2 other friends and we will be back!! 5 Stars Plus!

Room Tip: The budget suite rooms (2 rooms for the price of 1) are an outstanding value for their ambiance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The whole building feels rather like the set of a particularly kitsch Hammer horror movie, dark wooden paneling and stairwells, weird statues and odd lights, mismatched carpets and drapery, and oddly severe portraits of unnamed Victorian children. My daughter and I loved it, in a macabre sort of way, and spent 2 of our 3 nights there in the splendidly gothic Luisa Tetrazzini suite. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, breakfast was nice as was afternoon wine and cheese. Only complaints were that the outside windows were badly in need of cleaning, the window blinds were pretty threadbare and the roll-up bed on which I slept was small and uncomfortable for a 6 footer. Also we wondered about the heating arrangements in winter - the suite was pretty cold even in mid August - though perhaps as a result of the house ghost doing the rounds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterFosterKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,412 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#84 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
The Grove Inn
#7 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115-4620
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Tivoli Hotel San Francisco
Chateau Tivoli Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing