We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fantastic B&B in a great location in San Francisco. Easy to access public transport, taxis, etc. The rooms are beautifully decorated with period pieces and the inn is gorgeous. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and are extremely helpful with recommendations. The weekend brunch/breakfast is fantastic! Just returned from a trip with 2 other friends and we will be back!! 5 Stars Plus!

Room Tip: The budget suite rooms (2 rooms for the price of 1) are an outstanding value for their ambiance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    28
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
97
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The whole building feels rather like the set of a particularly kitsch Hammer horror movie, dark wooden paneling and stairwells, weird statues and odd lights, mismatched carpets and drapery, and oddly severe portraits of unnamed Victorian children. My daughter and I loved it, in a macabre sort of way, and spent 2 of our 3 nights there in the splendidly gothic Luisa Tetrazzini suite. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, breakfast was nice as was afternoon wine and cheese. Only complaints were that the outside windows were badly in need of cleaning, the window blinds were pretty threadbare and the roll-up bed on which I slept was small and uncomfortable for a 6 footer. Also we wondered about the heating arrangements in winter - the suite was pretty cold even in mid August - though perhaps as a result of the house ghost doing the rounds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterFosterKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
312 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The reason we stayed at the Tivoli were the many excellent reviews on tripadvisor and even though we enjoyed our stay it wasn't up to the excellent standard of the many B&B's we have stayed in on the east coast of the USA. We did arrive late at around 11:00pm and as the staff only come in to make breakfast, clean and provide happy hour cheese and wine we had to use the little key security box outside which in the dark can be a little fiddly. We stayed in the Jack London and our son and his girlfriend had the Joaquin Miller room which share a bathroom, this is not a problem for families sharing adjoining rooms, but I'm not sure I would want to do this with people I don't know. The rooms were a good size, but the furniture had seen better days especially the chest of draws which was unusable. The bathroom only had a hand shower and needed updating, the window was being propped up by a small shampoo container!
The buffet breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Unfortunately none of the staff bothered to introduce themselves so we had no idea who was running the place and only meet Meredith on our last morning when looking to pay our bill, this was a real shame as she was very pleasant, but we hadn't been told that we could use the kitchen which would have been nice. I always feel that the owners or whoever is running the B&B is crucial to the atmosphere as a good host will introduce guests to each other, which is so important when you are sharing one large table, this did not happen so the atmosphere was nonexistent, we tried to exchange good morning greetings with the other guest's but didn't get much of a response which was dissapionting, fortunately a young couple from Utah arrived as we were leaving and made our last breakfast the sort of experience we normally enjoy.
The location of the Tivoli is actually quite a nice with the seven painted ladies close by and some nice parks within walking distance, however it is quite a walk to downtown and you do have to pass through some undesirable areas to get there, we generally walked during the day and early evening but returned by taxi. A note of caution some of the cab drivers need the exact location of the Tivoli (Junction of Steiner Street and Golden Gate Avenue) as they seem to rely on GPS, one cabbie even shouted at us for not knowing which junction the hertz rental office was located on, It really makes you appreciate how good London black cabs are.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place was cool. Beautiful restoration with gorgeous wallpapers and furnishings. I was greeted with cheese, crackers, fruit and wine upon arrival. I slept great; windows opened for ventilation in the top of the turret. A blow dryer, iron and ironing board were available right out side the room. You do have to schlep your luggage up yourself and there is no elevator; I have never been so hot in San Francisco. Breakfast was good with a variety of toast, yogurt, fruit and an awesome quiche thing on Sunday. The kitchen had a fridge where you could store leftovers, etc.

The neighborhood is a little "interesting"; as a single gal, I was okay, but wouldn't have wanted to be out alone at night any later than I was. The young gentleman in the baseball hat across the street didn't mess with me because I walked fast and looked irritated.

Room Tip: The Jack London room is very basic. You sort of expect to find a wolf in the closet and the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalTraveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here for two non-consecutive nights on a trip around Northern California. Chateau Tivoli was one of the highlights of our trip. The staff was gracious, accommodating, and endlessly helpful. We stayed in each of the rooms with a shared bath and both were comfortable and nicely appointed.

One word of caution: if you are tall (6 feet+) the shower situation in the shared bath is difficult and uncomfortable due to a sloped ceiling. Everything else about the stay more than made up for the shower situation for my tall husband.

The breakfasts that are included with the stay on week-days are an upscale continental. Guests are seated at leisure in a beautiful dining room and choose from a selection usually consisting of smoked salmon, bagels, cereal, yogurt, granola, and sometimes a quiche. The coffee was very good as well.

Each afternoon they serve a complimentary wine and cheese reception. They really do not skimp on this! We really enjoyed trying the different cheeses and wines that they offered.

Next time I have the pleasure of traveling to San Francisco, I will unhesitatingly stay in the Chateau Tivoli again.

Room Tip: Out of the two rooms with the shared bathroom, the Joaquin Miller room had the more comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwbdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Chateau Tivoli shouldn't be overlooked. The staff are extremely friendly and are ready to make your visit an unforgettable one. The building has a very interesting history. Meredith is only too happy to go the extra mile for you. If you are there over the weekend, you will experience a champagne brunch which really prepares you for your day ahead. A five minute walk will take you to the bus stop into the city centre. A very quiet part of the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, and stayed in The Joaquin Miller room which was very good value for money and sharing the bathroom was no hassle at all. The bed was wonderful, the place spotless and the breakfast very good with the cheese and wine in the afternoon a real bonus.
We were made most welcome by all the staff who helped us plan our intinery over the 3 days we were in San Francisco. The area that the Tivoli is located in is fine and well served by local busses.

Room Tip: For excellent value for money chose one of the shared bathroom rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noworkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Anne Hotel
#82 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115-4620
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Tivoli Bed And Breakfast
Chateau Tivoli Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing