We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good simple spot if our on a budget”
Review of Music City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Music City Hotel
Ranked #116 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The rooms were clean, the staff were helpful. There is a water cooler and apples set out for guests to help themselves. And wifi! The only thing I didn't like was that there was no common lounge area. If you want to meet new people while traveling this may not be the best option.

Stayed: July 2013
3  Thank Sarapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Music City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 401 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Booked through hostelworld.com, we paid a deposit and was told to pay in the remainder in local currency upon arrival and that check in was at 13:00. When we arrived at 13:00 we were told that check in was at 14:00 and that payment had to be made on a credit card if not we couldn't stay, that soon got changed when we advised them we didn't bring any credit cards with us and that we wouldn't be staying then it was a case of a $250 deposit, they were absolutely no help and after 36 hours traveling on you want to do is crash, I will update if we eventually stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here in January with 3 other friends. We had our own bathroom and kitchen. The room came with two double beds and a TV. It was old and a little run down but it was clean and right in the heart of the city. I had no major problems with the hotel, the only downside is that there is no elevator. So bringing up a very heavy bag up a few flights of stairs was exhausting (the stair case was incredibly narrow).

Room Tip: Get a private room! You do not want to share a bathroom!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We only stayed here one night and didnt have any issues but it wasn't a memorable hotel out of the many places we stayed on this trip. We had to lug our cases up two flights of stairs (which is not mentioned on their website) and found the staff not overly friendly. The room was accommodating for what we needed (practically just a place to rest our heads) and location was okay but didn't feel the safest walking back around 9pm at night. only recommend if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed in the Encore Express for one week in May 2013. The hotel was clean, the bed was confortable, the staff was courteous, and my room was cleaned daily. My room was small but adequate. My room had a closet, a sink and a TV. Clean restrooms (some with showers) were in the hall nearby. I had no difficulty finding a vacant restroom whenever I needed one.

All rooms are on the second and third floors. As I had an inside room, I did not hear any street noise. However, each evening, from about 7:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m., loud music from a commercial band practice room on the ground floor filled the hallways and my room, which was on the second floor. During the weekend, there was not much music, but on weekdays the music was constant.

The third floor may be quieter. However, no rooms were available on that floor, even though I had requested a third floor room when I made my reservations a month earlier.

This is a nice hotel located near several bus routes, but bring earplugs if your room is on the second floor and you plan to be in the hotel before 11:00 p.m. on weekdays.

When making reservations, ask for an inside room on the top floor that is not adjacent to a rest room. Phone the hotel to assure that you will have such a room before it is too late to cancel your reservation.

Room Tip: Inside rooms on the top floor that are not adjacent to a restroom are quietest. You will hear consta...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Occasional_traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have read many reviews of different hotels including this one. Finally, I chose to stay here during my visitting SF. I can't say this place can beat the 4-5 stars hotels, but if you don't want to spend a lot of money just to get a place to sleep at night, then this is the one. Also, this place is very good for any single traveller because you can mingle with other roommate, and you might find a good partner for your trip at SF. Not but not least, the location is wonderful. Just 4-5 blocks away from Japan Town and Union Square.
However, the cons of this place are:
- no elevator
- the restroom is kinda smelly, and sometime the toilet is stuck. ( that's horrible experience for me after just waking up)
- parking is a big problem!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Yen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place is a no frills, budge alternative in an expensive city. Its immediate neighborhood is a mixed bag, but it is not far from numerous key locations (city hall, Van Ness, Union Square, Nob Hill, Pacific Heights, etc.) and has good restaurants close by. There's lots of bus routes near by so it's easy to get where you are going.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Horus472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#193 of 230 in San Francisco
63 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
1,360 reviews
Layne Hotel
#203 of 230 in San Francisco
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 230 in San Francisco
791 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,354 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hotel

Address: 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $94 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Music City Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Music City Hotel/Hostel offers the best combination of service, location, and cleanliness for affordable Hotel and Hostel accommodations in San Francisco. Be energized by the past, present and future of music in the city while at Music City Hotel, a tribute to the robust musical history of the Bay Area, and dedicated towards nurturing its present. This is a one of a kind artistic and cultural experience you don't want to miss. Located in the vibrant Polk Gulch neighborhood, dozens of varied and excellent food, beverage, and entertainment options are within steps of Music City Hotel. Tourist attractions and neighborhoods such as Chinatown, Union Square, North Beach, Fisherman’s Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, Haight Ashbury, and the Mission District are all located either within walking distance or a short bus ride away thanks to our convenient and central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Music City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Express San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing