We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating!”
Review of Union Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Street Inn
Ranked #5 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I recently spent five nights at the Union Street Inn. Can't say enough good things about our stay. Highlights include Brita pitcher and two glasses in our room, coffee/tea service 24 hours a day, cheese/crackers/wine each afternoon -- not to mention the fabulous location. Jane and David were wonderful hosts and Kit was a delight. The breakfasts were big and delicious. My husband is gluten intolerant and Jane always had gluten free bread, bagels, crackers and cookies on hand. My husband was thrilled! The only reason we are giving the Inn four stars and not five is because the bathroom in the Wild Rose room needs a bit of attention. We highly recommend the Union Street Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RBR0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 565 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Now I see why this is the highest rated B&B in San Francisco. The property is beautifully cared for with a perfect combination of luxury and at-home feel. Down to a pitcher of Brita water on our bedroom table, ever detail was thoughtful and exceptionally accommodating. Staying at the Union Street Inn was a highlight of an amazing SF getaway. We have already recommended our friends and are making plans to come back soon. Thank you for having us, Kit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better B & B -- location, location, location - service, cute, quaint and the owners are so very charming. I can't wait to go back! Breakfasts were delicious and I really liked how it was served in your room. Dining options around are within walking distance - we had a cocktail and an appetizer at several one night - that was our meal! Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Inn was very comfortable and welcoming. The small size made it relaxing, personal and low key. The location is great on Union Street, close to restaurants, the Marina and shops. Even the one bedroom on the street wasn't at all noisy at night. Jane's breakfasts were delicious and healthy. Most memorable was how Jane and David, the owners, were exceptionally knowledgable, friendly and helpful about the local area. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Union Street Inn with our 3 teenage children. The Inn was fabulous. It is right in the centre of the Union Street shopping precinct and a easy walk to the Chesnut Street shopping. It is surrounded by good restaurants for lunch and dinner but for breakfast you are filled by Jane's scrumptious cooking. After a busy day sightseeing the Inn has cookies and for the grown ups wine and cheese. From the Union Street Inn you can walk to the Bay and along to the Golden Gate Bridge in one direction or Fisherman's Wharf in the other direction. The rooms at the Inn are clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated and quiet (even the rooms at the front facing Union Street!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 529Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in the Carriage House, which offers privacy and is in a beautiful, fragrant, private garden. The Carriage House is comfortable if a bit dated in its decor. It is pricey at over $300 per night, but we wanted the privacy and thought that with breakfast included, it was decent value for San Francisco.

The Cow Hollow neighbourhood is very funky, with many interesting shops and restaurants. It is a ten minute walk from the Marina but is not the tourist trap that is Fisherman's Wharf.

Breakfast was served on TV tables in the main sitting room, which is like an English living room, with old fashioned couches and coffee table books. It was excellent, with a different, tasty dish every day: eggs Benedict, salmon, French toast and delicious fruit salad with fresh squeezed orange juice.

Hostess Jane is very pleasant, helpful and has a sense of humour. We'd certainly go back.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank selmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I love staying at the Union St Inn. I stay here every time I visit my daughter in San Francisco.Have tried other places but not as happy as staying on Union St. The people are always friendly and pleasant to talk with. The rooms are lovely and the breakfasts are to die for. Wine hour is a nice way to visit with other guests. Great location for shopping or finding a nice restaurant. As always I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: They are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $219 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Warm Hospitality at San Francisco's Union Street Inn. The Union Street Inn Bed and Breakfast combines the elegance and gentility of an Edwardian home. Rooms are spacious, airy and comfortable. Open your window and the fragrance of old roses, lavender, sage and rosemary wafts up from the romantic cottage garden - a delightful spot to enjoy an inviting breakfast or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing