We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Union Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Street Inn
Ranked #5 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our stay in San Fransisco. Kit was a wonderful host, as well as the rest of the wonderful people at the Union Street Inn. It was cozy, comfy, beautiful, and we felt right at home. If ever in San Fransisco again we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Union Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 562 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellant accommodations. Engaging Inn Keepers. Clean and exactly as portrayed. Close to fine dinning or casual...what ever you want. Don't miss the evening wine and cheese, and the morning breakfast sets the day off just fine. Where to go...just ask Jane. Will return.

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd floor facing the rear garden!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RALPHYBOY12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Being very particular and wanting to feel the 'Heart' of a city, We made the choice to stay at the Union St Inn based solely on the Trip Advisor reports. Well we was not disappointed!. We fully endorse the ratings and comments about the wonderful experience we had at the Union St Inn. A lovely homely feel, amazing cooking, great personalised service, fun, lively conversation and Jane and David's interest in assisting to make our trip truly memorable. Thank you again Jane, for the yummy cake recipe!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creatcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Union Street Inn for three nights in September as the second lag of our honeymoon. This was our first time in San Fran and we absolutely fell in love with the Cow Hollow neighborhood! Friends had told us to try to stay at a hotel in Union Square so we would be close to shopping, etc. However, neither of us are touristy types and we knew we would likely tire quickly of the craziness that is Union Square. We were so happy we listened to our instincts and booked to stay at the Union Street Inn! It was easy to bus or cab downtown and there were also plenty of excellent restaurants and shops right in Cow Hollow. Walking around the area was one of our favorite parts of our visit!

As for the Inn itself, we loved our stay! We stayed in the Wildrose room which was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet at night (though it does back the garden area). David and Jane were wonderful at making recommendations for places to go. Jane's breakfasts were fabulous and kept us full well into the afternoon! When we return to San Fran, this will be the first place we try to book! Excellent experience!

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room that backs the garden area like we had. Union Street is quite busy...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoutandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a trip to San Francisco and the surrounding areas and had the pleasure of lodging at Union Street Inn. I won't be redundant by repeating all of the other accolades that have been posted here before; USI certainly lives up to it's #1 ranking. I will note, however, that Union Street Inn gives one the feeling of living amongst the locals. Situated in the heart of Cow Hollow, one can easily access public transportation, dining, shopping and the like without much effort. You'll see more locals than tourists. My husband and I seek out places such as USI. We are not the sort to lodge at the ultra modern, super slick hotel chains that offer very little in terms of warmth or character. If you love old world charm and engaging, but not helicopter, hosts then USI is the place for you. One note of caution; if you book the New Yorker be aware that there is street noise. My husband and I are urban dwellers, so this was not an issue. If you're a light sleeper, opt for one of the rooms situated at the back of the inn, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room situated at the back of the inn (garden side) if you are concerned with street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjeDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Mistakes happen in every business from time to time; the difference is how you deal with them. This happened to us on arrival at the Union Street Inn, where a computer glitch had made a double booking for the first of our two nights here. Kit (you'll hear about her legendary breakfasts elsewhere) was genuinely distraught by the error, and went way above and beyond to rectify it. The Inn had taken it upon themselves to book us into another hotel around the corner for the first of our two nights AT NO COST TO OURSELVES. Further, they welcomed us back with open arms on our second night and gave us a complimentary upgrade to a better room. This is the sort of service that gets people coming back for more. Kit was also so very helpful in booking cabs for us, and recommending places to visit. The complimentary cheese and wine at supper time is also a lovely touch. I read the other review on here about the uncomfortable bed, and would say that in our room (Wild Rose) the King size bed was perfect. Thoroughly recommended lodging!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful stay in late August over a Sunday through Tuesday in the Wild Rose Room. Jane, David and their staff did a wonderful job in makings us comfortable. The Wild Rose room is on the second floor with a window overlooking the garden and is very quiet. Our breakfasts were all freshly made by Jane and were a wonderful combination of a hot entree, fresh cut fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee or tea and a pastry. We had it served in our room which was a treat. The generous afternoon wine and cheese was always accompanied by a fresh pastry, cake or cookie. The location in the Cow Hollow area is good for restaurants, coffee shops and shopping. It is convenient to the Marina and Fisherman's Wharf areas. the only criticism we have is the wall to wall carpet in the room is dingy and in need of replacement (there is a throw rug that covers most of the room). The jacuzzi bath tub doubles as the shower. It is large and someone with hip or knee issues may have trouble stepping into the tub. However, we have no problem recommending this Inn to others and we will return.

Room Tip: The Wild Rose Room is both comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckyandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,480 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $219 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Warm Hospitality at San Francisco's Union Street Inn. The Union Street Inn Bed and Breakfast combines the elegance and gentility of an Edwardian home. Rooms are spacious, airy and comfortable. Open your window and the fragrance of old roses, lavender, sage and rosemary wafts up from the romantic cottage garden - a delightful spot to enjoy an inviting breakfast or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing