We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Street Inn
Save
You added Union Street Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 75 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our stay in San Fransisco. Kit was a wonderful host, as well as the rest of the wonderful people at the Union Street Inn. It was cozy, comfy, beautiful, and we felt right at home. If ever in San Fransisco again we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    70
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
60
337
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellant accommodations. Engaging Inn Keepers. Clean and exactly as portrayed. Close to fine dinning or casual...what ever you want. Don't miss the evening wine and cheese, and the morning breakfast sets the day off just fine. Where to go...just ask Jane. Will return.

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd floor facing the rear garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RALPHYBOY12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Being very particular and wanting to feel the 'Heart' of a city, We made the choice to stay at the Union St Inn based solely on the Trip Advisor reports. Well we was not disappointed!. We fully endorse the ratings and comments about the wonderful experience we had at the Union St Inn. A lovely homely feel, amazing cooking, great personalised service, fun, lively conversation and Jane and David's interest in assisting to make our trip truly memorable. Thank you again Jane, for the yummy cake recipe!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank creatcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Union Street Inn for three nights in September as the second lag of our honeymoon. This was our first time in San Fran and we absolutely fell in love with the Cow Hollow neighborhood! Friends had told us to try to stay at a hotel in Union Square so we would be close to shopping, etc. However, neither of us are touristy types and we knew we would likely tire quickly of the craziness that is Union Square. We were so happy we listened to our instincts and booked to stay at the Union Street Inn! It was easy to bus or cab downtown and there were also plenty of excellent restaurants and shops right in Cow Hollow. Walking around the area was one of our favorite parts of our visit!

As for the Inn itself, we loved our stay! We stayed in the Wildrose room which was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet at night (though it does back the garden area). David and Jane were wonderful at making recommendations for places to go. Jane's breakfasts were fabulous and kept us full well into the afternoon! When we return to San Fran, this will be the first place we try to book! Excellent experience!

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room that backs the garden area like we had. Union Street is quite busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoutandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a trip to San Francisco and the surrounding areas and had the pleasure of lodging at Union Street Inn. I won't be redundant by repeating all of the other accolades that have been posted here before; USI certainly lives up to it's #1 ranking. I will note, however, that Union Street Inn gives one the feeling of living amongst the locals. Situated in the heart of Cow Hollow, one can easily access public transportation, dining, shopping and the like without much effort. You'll see more locals than tourists. My husband and I seek out places such as USI. We are not the sort to lodge at the ultra modern, super slick hotel chains that offer very little in terms of warmth or character. If you love old world charm and engaging, but not helicopter, hosts then USI is the place for you. One note of caution; if you book the New Yorker be aware that there is street noise. My husband and I are urban dwellers, so this was not an issue. If you're a light sleeper, opt for one of the rooms situated at the back of the inn, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room situated at the back of the inn (garden side) if you are concerned with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjeDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Mistakes happen in every business from time to time; the difference is how you deal with them. This happened to us on arrival at the Union Street Inn, where a computer glitch had made a double booking for the first of our two nights here. Kit (you'll hear about her legendary breakfasts elsewhere) was genuinely distraught by the error, and went way above and beyond to rectify it. The Inn had taken it upon themselves to book us into another hotel around the corner for the first of our two nights AT NO COST TO OURSELVES. Further, they welcomed us back with open arms on our second night and gave us a complimentary upgrade to a better room. This is the sort of service that gets people coming back for more. Kit was also so very helpful in booking cabs for us, and recommending places to visit. The complimentary cheese and wine at supper time is also a lovely touch. I read the other review on here about the uncomfortable bed, and would say that in our room (Wild Rose) the King size bed was perfect. Thoroughly recommended lodging!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful stay in late August over a Sunday through Tuesday in the Wild Rose Room. Jane, David and their staff did a wonderful job in makings us comfortable. The Wild Rose room is on the second floor with a window overlooking the garden and is very quiet. Our breakfasts were all freshly made by Jane and were a wonderful combination of a hot entree, fresh cut fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee or tea and a pastry. We had it served in our room which was a treat. The generous afternoon wine and cheese was always accompanied by a fresh pastry, cake or cookie. The location in the Cow Hollow area is good for restaurants, coffee shops and shopping. It is convenient to the Marina and Fisherman's Wharf areas. the only criticism we have is the wall to wall carpet in the room is dingy and in need of replacement (there is a throw rug that covers most of the room). The jacuzzi bath tub doubles as the shower. It is large and someone with hip or knee issues may have trouble stepping into the tub. However, we have no problem recommending this Inn to others and we will return.

Room Tip: The Wild Rose Room is both comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckyandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,412 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Property: Union Street Inn
Address: 2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Warm Hospitality at San Francisco's Union Street Inn. The Union Street Inn Bed and Breakfast combines the elegance and gentility of an Edwardian home. Rooms are spacious, airy and comfortable. Open your window and the fragrance of old roses, lavender, sage and rosemary wafts up from the romantic cottage garden - a delightful spot to enjoy an inviting breakfast or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing