We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$380
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$221
$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$223
$179
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$241
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $376/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$210
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$476
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $341/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$237
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $333/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveler rating
485
74
13
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
74
13
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage houseenglish gardenwine and cheesewild roseother guestscow hollowholly roomgolden gatecharming b bwonderful hostseach morningbed and breakfastliving roomhome away from homerestaurants and shopsour honeymoontea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 577 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Being very particular and wanting to feel the 'Heart' of a city, We made the choice to stay at the Union St Inn based solely on the Trip Advisor reports. Well we was not disappointed!. We fully endorse the ratings and comments about the wonderful experience we had at the Union St Inn. A lovely homely feel, amazing cooking, great personalised service, fun, lively conversation and Jane and David's interest in assisting to make our trip truly memorable. Thank you again Jane, for the yummy cake recipe!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creatcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Union Street Inn for three nights in September as the second lag of our honeymoon. This was our first time in San Fran and we absolutely fell in love with the Cow Hollow neighborhood! Friends had told us to try to stay at a hotel in Union Square so we would be close to shopping, etc. However, neither of us are touristy types and we knew we would likely tire quickly of the craziness that is Union Square. We were so happy we listened to our instincts and booked to stay at the Union Street Inn! It was easy to bus or cab downtown and there were also plenty of excellent restaurants and shops right in Cow Hollow. Walking around the area was one of our favorite parts of our visit!

As for the Inn itself, we loved our stay! We stayed in the Wildrose room which was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet at night (though it does back the garden area). David and Jane were wonderful at making recommendations for places to go. Jane's breakfasts were fabulous and kept us full well into the afternoon! When we return to San Fran, this will be the first place we try to book! Excellent experience!

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room that backs the garden area like we had. Union Street is quite busy with many restaurants in the area so there would be more street noise in the rooms facing it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoutandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a trip to San Francisco and the surrounding areas and had the pleasure of lodging at Union Street Inn. I won't be redundant by repeating all of the other accolades that have been posted here before; USI certainly lives up to it's #1 ranking. I will note, however, that Union Street Inn gives one the feeling of living amongst the locals. Situated in the heart of Cow Hollow, one can easily access public transportation, dining, shopping and the like without much effort. You'll see more locals than tourists. My husband and I seek out places such as USI. We are not the sort to lodge at the ultra modern, super slick hotel chains that offer very little in terms of warmth or character. If you love old world charm and engaging, but not helicopter, hosts then USI is the place for you. One note of caution; if you book the New Yorker be aware that there is street noise. My husband and I are urban dwellers, so this was not an issue. If you're a light sleeper, opt for one of the rooms situated at the back of the inn, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room situated at the back of the inn (garden side) if you are concerned with street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjeDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Mistakes happen in every business from time to time; the difference is how you deal with them. This happened to us on arrival at the Union Street Inn, where a computer glitch had made a double booking for the first of our two nights here. Kit (you'll hear about her legendary breakfasts elsewhere) was genuinely distraught by the error, and went way above and beyond to rectify it. The Inn had taken it upon themselves to book us into another hotel around the corner for the first of our two nights AT NO COST TO OURSELVES. Further, they welcomed us back with open arms on our second night and gave us a complimentary upgrade to a better room. This is the sort of service that gets people coming back for more. Kit was also so very helpful in booking cabs for us, and recommending places to visit. The complimentary cheese and wine at supper time is also a lovely touch. I read the other review on here about the uncomfortable bed, and would say that in our room (Wild Rose) the King size bed was perfect. Thoroughly recommended lodging!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful stay in late August over a Sunday through Tuesday in the Wild Rose Room. Jane, David and their staff did a wonderful job in makings us comfortable. The Wild Rose room is on the second floor with a window overlooking the garden and is very quiet. Our breakfasts were all freshly made by Jane and were a wonderful combination of a hot entree, fresh cut fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee or tea and a pastry. We had it served in our room which was a treat. The generous afternoon wine and cheese was always accompanied by a fresh pastry, cake or cookie. The location in the Cow Hollow area is good for restaurants, coffee shops and shopping. It is convenient to the Marina and Fisherman's Wharf areas. the only criticism we have is the wall to wall carpet in the room is dingy and in need of replacement (there is a throw rug that covers most of the room). The jacuzzi bath tub doubles as the shower. It is large and someone with hip or knee issues may have trouble stepping into the tub. However, we have no problem recommending this Inn to others and we will return.

Room Tip: The Wild Rose Room is both comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckyandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews