We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveler rating
487
74
13
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
74
13
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage houseenglish gardenwine and cheesewild roseother guestscow hollowholly roomgolden gatecharming b bwonderful hostsbed and breakfastliving roomhome away from homerestaurants and shopsour honeymoonevery afternoontea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 579 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Mistakes happen in every business from time to time; the difference is how you deal with them. This happened to us on arrival at the Union Street Inn, where a computer glitch had made a double booking for the first of our two nights here. Kit (you'll hear about her legendary breakfasts elsewhere) was genuinely distraught by the error, and went way above and beyond to rectify it. The Inn had taken it upon themselves to book us into another hotel around the corner for the first of our two nights AT NO COST TO OURSELVES. Further, they welcomed us back with open arms on our second night and gave us a complimentary upgrade to a better room. This is the sort of service that gets people coming back for more. Kit was also so very helpful in booking cabs for us, and recommending places to visit. The complimentary cheese and wine at supper time is also a lovely touch. I read the other review on here about the uncomfortable bed, and would say that in our room (Wild Rose) the King size bed was perfect. Thoroughly recommended lodging!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful stay in late August over a Sunday through Tuesday in the Wild Rose Room. Jane, David and their staff did a wonderful job in makings us comfortable. The Wild Rose room is on the second floor with a window overlooking the garden and is very quiet. Our breakfasts were all freshly made by Jane and were a wonderful combination of a hot entree, fresh cut fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee or tea and a pastry. We had it served in our room which was a treat. The generous afternoon wine and cheese was always accompanied by a fresh pastry, cake or cookie. The location in the Cow Hollow area is good for restaurants, coffee shops and shopping. It is convenient to the Marina and Fisherman's Wharf areas. the only criticism we have is the wall to wall carpet in the room is dingy and in need of replacement (there is a throw rug that covers most of the room). The jacuzzi bath tub doubles as the shower. It is large and someone with hip or knee issues may have trouble stepping into the tub. However, we have no problem recommending this Inn to others and we will return.

Room Tip: The Wild Rose Room is both comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckyandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Special-romantic-amazing!
My daughter Victoria is in love with this place
The breackfast is really special and make really good food
Bed really comfortable
My room has a fireplace
Defenatelly the only place I will stay when I visit the bay area

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crillu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a fantastic gem of a B&B located in busy San Fran. A true Grand Dame of a inn fit for a king or queen. From the decor, to the staff and those fantastic breakfasts prepared by Kit, an outstanding way to visit SF. Located on busy Union Street it was an island of calm we looked forward to returning to each and everyday after our sojourns through the city. The recommendations of Kat on how to travel and tips on places to see and eat were "spot on." The Westin and St. Francis have absolutely nothing on this fantastic and well run inn. In fact I would venture to say they would be hard pressed to match the warmth, level of service and comfort we experienced. We had the English Garden room and awoke each morning to the wonderful scent of flowers and birds chirping wafting through our door. I found myself taking coffee there at least several times to start the day. My wife is absolutely in love with Kit's wonderful banana bread and those eggs and chives, amazing. The polite and warm atmosphere had us sharing travel stories with other guests and enjoying a nice glass of wine before retiring. Will we visit again? Of course, because it is not just a 'stay' but a comfortable place to call home when in SF and to 'visit' with friends, old and new. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Every room is a great room......ask Kit or Jane for their recommendations when making reservations....
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is truly a charming B&B, with a lovely garden, beautiful furnishings, and an excellent breakfast made to order... so why did I give it only 3 stars?
Well, if you and/or your bedmate toss and turn a bit, or get up during the night, you are bound to disturb the other person because the entire bed moves every time you do! This resulted in a terrible night for us, earning only 1 star in the sleeping department. Since the rest of our experience rated 4 or 5 stars, the overall rating was a 3.
However, this place is very nice if your sleep tends to be sound, peaceful and uninterrupted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olive2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews