We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$334
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$205
$181
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$196
$179
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$231
$206
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $292/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$276
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$460
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $437/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$244
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $304/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $323/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$476
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveler rating
485
74
13
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
74
13
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage houseenglish gardenwine and cheesewild roseother guestscow hollowholly roomgolden gatecharming b bwonderful hostseach morningbed and breakfastliving roomhome away from homerestaurants and shopsour honeymoontea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 577 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for three nights. The room was impeccable. The service was great and the food delicious. The Inn is located in a great area, with access to transporation, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the Golden Gate Room which is beautifully decorated and the bed is very very very comfortable.

The B&B itself is located a bit outside of the CBD area but there is a short direct bus trip into town that stops just outside the B&B so that was not a problem. The location of the B&B is about a 5min walk away from the water front from which you get spectacular views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz. There are many boutique shops and wonderful restaurants around as well so dinner options are not a problem.

Our only negative comment (which we also read in other reviews) would be the noise of the traffic we could hear from the room, but that was mainly during the day and early evening, it was pretty quiet throughout the night apart from the odd truck or late bus. Having said that, we would stay here again in a flash. The hosts are so very lovely, they prepare very delicious breakfasts each morning and the evening cheese platters with wine shared with other guests in the lounge goes down a treat after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel_bee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights on our recent trip to SF. We picked the Union St Inn having read the reviews on Tripadvisor and have to say we were not in the least disappointed.

The property is extremely well-located in Cow Hollow. Union St has a nice array of shops and lots of good restaurants so you don't need to walk far for dinner. Public transport to the rest of the city is readily available and the Bay and Fisherman's Wharf are within easy (flat) walking distance.

The property itself has some late Victorian charm and is extremely comfortable. We stayed in the New Yorker which was spacious but as other reviewers have commented faced the street so was a little noisy early in the morning although not a major problem as we were awake early anyway. The en-suite in the room was very small and the hot water a litlle temperamental but these were very minor isssues.

Breakfasts were simply superb and set you up for the day. Breakfast time was also an opportunity to meet other guests and to share tips about restaurants and places to visit. The nightly Cheese and Wine was another opportunity to do this and it was a real bonus after a hard day's sightseeing to be able to sit in the garden with a glass of local wine.

Lastly and probably most importantly our hosts Jane , Kit and Herb were simply fantastic. They were helpful, obliging, a great source of information and contributed greatly to the enjoyment of our stay.

I would not hesitate to recommend Union St Inn to anyone and would definitely stay here again if we were ever to return to SF.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i_m_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We recently stayed here with our well-behaved seven year old. The location was great. Breakfast was good and the room was especially comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Its unquestionably a very nice place, but if I'm honest, I have to say that I was just a little underwhelmed by the Union Street Inn, given its #1 ranking among SF's B&B and its fairly steep tariff. To put that into context however, I was in SF for the week on business and didn't spend a lot of time in residence, and the weather was plain awful throughout, so I spent less than five minutes in the garden. Had I been there on holiday, in a better week, I would have relaxed more and might have been slightly better disposed, but nonetheless, if only out of curioisity, I suspect I will investigate somewhere else next time.
Pros: comfortable room and bed, roomy, big spa bath, nice breakfast (I came away with a recipe for the wonderful banana bread), civillised and friendly welcome. Looked like a pretty garden. Lovely street outside. Good wifi.
Cons: room a little dark (particularly in a wet week), dining room a bit cramped. Steep steps up to the hotel - by the time you've reached your room you'll be ready for a long lie down. No real work areas, in the room or elsewhere.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Wild Rose room, overlooking the garden. Very quiet, not very light.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjmachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews