We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 75 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great location, near the tram stop and right next to The Castro. Comfortable rooms. Welcoming and helpful owner/staff. Delicious breakfast for the perfect start to the day The owner arranged a get-together for all guests, with free wine and canapes. I'll return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RupertBAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    45
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
73
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was my second stay at the Willows Inn. I shared the "2" bedroom with a friend. It was roomy, quiet and well kept. It was even more perfect than my other stay in a double room in the front of the house.
Everyone was friendly, including the staff. The Castro is only blocks away (a good 10 minute walk). Nice restaurants nearby (Chow is my favorite). And public transporation is right around the corner.
The showers and toilets are separate but were kept clean and were always available when I needed them. They even provide robes for each guest.
The breakfast area was always well stocked and there was nothing I couldn't find.
Oh, and the room rates are reasonably priced. I highly recommend the Willows Inn.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in back of the house for more quiet evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

In the Castro area you've got an excellent variety of places to stay and I've stayed at many of them but consistently return to the Willows Inn when business or pleasure bring me to San Francisco.

While there are dozens of reasons to stay here and I'll talk about many of them, real estate agents frequently remind us it's all about location and that's the top reason I stay here. Within a block of the facility every Muni line in the city has a stop, making it easy to get anywhere on public transportation. Right behind the Willows is the neighborhood Safeway that has just about anything you can need, including warm nuts (giggle).

The rooms are typical of a B&B: some might find them smaller than a chain hotel and mostly shared baths. I like the fact that there are separate showers and toilets so that way if you are showering you aren't taking up the toilet and vice versa. This also means that you won't, um, smell the previous guests dinner while you are taking a shower. 'Nuff said about that.

A few caveats to consider when staying. The Willows is right above a bar and those sensitive to noise could have problems depending on the actual room you are staying in, whether you keep the windows open and the crowd that evening. I've stayed here a dozen times and never had a problem. Additionally the location, typical of SF, is narrow and tall and the series of staircases can be daunting after a night of partying. I'm not a partier but I seen guests have trouble late night / early in the morning. Just take it slowly and work up an appetite for breakfast because it's amazing.

The breakfast is definitely a major highlight: it's continental style but done with an artistic flair. Each morning there is a speciality bread (my favorite is cherry chocolate) as well as a variety of nuts (giggle), fruits (gigglex2) and other toppings (gigglex3). Hard boiled eggs, cheese, yogurts and cereal are part of this well balanced breakfast. Kidding aside, I like the do it yourself variety here. The breakfast table is small and many guests simply take breakfast back to their room. The fridge has 24/7 access so you can meet some of your late night munching needs.

In the evenings they have a cocktail hour with a complimentary drink and bar snack. This is the time you'll meet other guests and your innkeeper of the evenings. This is where you'll get suggestions of great places to eat and visit as well as meet people from all over the world. In the living room you'll find clippings of interesting events in town and a white board in which you can put your room number and your plans for the day if you wish so that maybe you can explore the city with another guest or get some great ideas of what to see and experience.

While I admit I stay at the Willows because of it's excellent location, I return year after year because of the hospitality and amenities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daveg66044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay!

The Willows is comfortable and friendly (Mike, Mark, JoJo and Jesse) were all so great to deal with.

It is in a great location, very close to transport (Muni/Tram/Bus) or walking distance to Castro and Mission District. Loads of cafes and bars close by. In room 24 I slept very well with no outside noise. Bathrooms were always spotless and maintained. Room had everything i needed inc. wifi. Didn't use the TV once. Breakfasts, coffee always available.

The whole B&B is immaculate with great facilities. Anything extra and the guys are happy to assist with suggestions. Although i only made cocktail hour once (sorry!) it is a really sweet touch.

Would i go back? Hell's yeah! Thanks again guys for making this such a great first visit to San Francisco. I miss it already.

CM

Room Tip: I had room 24. Simple with everything i needed. Quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoshiDogSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Recently stayed at The Willows Inn with several of my cousins for a "Cousins" get away!! Had a wonderful time and a fantastic stay at The Willows, JoJo and Mark are the bomb, they are very accommodating and made our vacation as wonderful as it could be!! Take the advise and stay here, they will not disappoint you!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radgate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
297 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Although I've visited SF many times (+50), this was my first stay at the Willows. The staff were delightful and helpful. The location is super, right at the crossroads of Church and Market where many Muni rail lines converge. My room (#34) had a shared bath down the hall, which was always clean and available. Be warned, there is a long flight of steps from the front entrance, so plan accordingly if you have issues with stairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our stay at The Willows was wonderful. The staff were kind and very helpful. Their customer service is outstanding. The breakfasts were wonderful and very generous. The informal evening drink and relax time was much appreciated. We highly recommend The Willows as a quiet relaxing place to stay in while visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,265 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#94 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 233 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#26 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
The Grove Inn
#8 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 710 14th St, At Church and Market Streets, San Francisco, CA 94114-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Willows b&b Inn
The Willows Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing