We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary service in a charming locale.”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2010

My wife and I recently spent three delightful nights at the White Swan Inn. It is charming small older hotel in a good location halfway between the top of Nob Hill and Union Square. The staff was uniformly friendly and went out their way to be helpful.. The included breakfast was firstt-rate and the afternoon wine well presented. The mini refrigerator is stocked with free water and soft drinks which is welcome relief from the usual overpriced hotel minibar.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

We found the White Swan Inn on the internet. We were intrigued by it as we had traveled to the U.K. last summer and stayed in hotels such as this. It also seemed to be a good value compared to other places we have stayed in the area. We will definately stay here again when in San Francisco. The rooms was spacious and clean. The service was excellent. We anticipated the breakfast to be standard continental fare but found it to be much more than that. We attended the evening reception each night, meeting many interesting people from all over the world. One of our best trips to the Bay area!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drummergirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

This is the best hotel we have stayed in for all of our vacations. It took about one minute to check in, and then they helped bring our luggage right to our room. The room was spacious, clean, and the decor matched the charm this vintage hotel. The fridge always had soda and waters for us. It was nice to have a good, hot breakfast (not a continental breakfast) each morning and the evening wine and hors d’oeuvres were 1st class. The location is also great, being close to Chinatown, Union Station, and Financial District. The cable car is just two blocks away. Chris also arranged our airport shuttle and recommended a 5 star restaurant that was close and that we were able to get into on a Saturday night without reservations. The whole stay was wonderful and I can not think of one negative thing to say about our stay. We will be coming back next year and will be bring another couple with us.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mark13632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

I highly recommend the White Swan Inn. It is a charming, older hotel with a complementary decor. I chose this hotel based on the many positive reviews on tripadvisor.com. I was very happy to find that they were able to comfortably accommodate 3 guests in one room. One member of our group slept very well on a pull out sofa bed. Two of us slept in a wonderful king bed. This was my 3rd trip to San Francisco and the first hotel stay that was quiet and peaceful all night! The individuals who handled our check-in and check-out were courteous, friendly, and helpful. Complimentary cold soft drinks and water bottles were waiting in the room refrigerator. There was also an easy to use gas burning fireplace in our room! The delicious breakfast included with our stay included an egg casserole (quiche?), sausage, fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, 2 juices, and several other items. For our purposes, the location was perfect - we were within walking distance to many excellent stores and restaurants. Just wanted to mention that I booked my room directly with the hotel and the rate was comparable to rates I found online.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

After reading the rave reviews posted on this site, I booked this boutique hotel for my partners' first leisure visit to San Francisco. The hotel was everthing travelers had mentioned and more. From the spacious rooms, mini fridge furnished with complimentary water and sodas, to the extensive breakfast, and evening wine social. The staff was friendly, and helpful. The furnishings were English style but clean and the bed comfy. With the weather unseasonably warm, we didn't get a chance to use the fireplace but maybe next time. And there will be a NEXT time. Only hope we can get a room when we get ready to return for another stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TxRedhead2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

hospitable, lovely decor, lots of books, helpful staff

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamaica6100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I came here with my spouse for my birthday weekend. We absolutely loved the stay here! The inn is older, but its charm makes up for it. We had one of the larger king rooms in the back of the hotel and found it quiet and comfortable. I loved having my own seperate vanity and large closet completely separate from the bathroom. It was so nice to have a staff who not only seemed to enjoy their jobs, but went out of their way to give us inside tips on how to best get around the city. The morning complimentary breakfast is the best I have had since staying in inns in Europe. The evening wine and cheese is not to be missed - it was not only delicous, but we made friends with many of the other inn guests from around the globe and had so much fun sharing our stories about our day in SF. I room did end up having a water leak during one night from the bathroom upstairs, but it was quickly attended to by the staff ASAP in the morning. We will most definitely be returning for a stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hammiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,429 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
1,542 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $169 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing