We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, loved White Swan Inn”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This is a nice, sweet, and charming hotel. I loved the fireplace in the room and was a great location right on Nob Hill. I had a great time and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. I would definately recommend this hotel to a friend, especially couples.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
Thank kelly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2010

If you like charming small hotels then this is it in San Francisco. This little hotel is the best value. Rooms are big with fireplace in room. Has an old time elevator with cage door. Staff is usually college students that are very helpful. Location is great and hotel is very nostalgic. Would highly recommend. They also own another hotel called La Petite Auberge that is good but this one is better.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We must have been at least 20 years younger than the average resident and this is a very granny like hotel, but we loved it. After staying in boutique hotels in many major cities, we found this place a very nice change. The rooms are huge and funny, the bed is super comfortable. We loved it and would stay here again if we ever find our way back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CL1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We always looked forward to visiting San Francisco because we had discovered the best boutique hotels- Petite Aumberge and White Swan Inn. We stayed there for years then learned that there had been changes and they had closed. In December 2009 we found that they were open with a new ownership and the White Swan had a room available-we jumped at the chance. The room, breakfast, common spaces and great cookies in the lobby were just as we remembered them-excellent! Our fireplace and the complimentary wine and snacks in the afternoon are wonderful touches.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We have stayed here numerous times and always enjoy it immensely. It is well located just a few blocks from the cable line and Union Square shopping. It is small and tasteful. We always ask for a room with a fireplace. The rooms are spacious. Breakfast is included and is always delicious and different each morning The other guests are often European or people on business who appreciate the small size, personal attention and wonderful location. We love the White Swan.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SACALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

This was a great little boutiqe hotel less than 2 blocks from the Powell Cable Car line and about 3 blocks from all the Union Square shopping. The rooms are nicely apointed and large enough for a sitting area but best of all was the in-room fireplace. The serve a delightful wine happy hour and great continential breakfast. will definately return and recomend. Remember that this is an old hotel so do not expect a doorman and express elevator. Steff was VERY helpful and courtious.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

My husband and I just spent the weekend in San Francisco in order to see the latest Cirque show. We wanted to try a new hotel that was close to AT&T park so we took a chance on the White Swan. What a pleasant surprise! The room was spotless, decorated nice with room to move around and the staff, especially one young man we called Captain Romance, made us feel more welcome than any staff member in any other hotel. We will definitely be staying here the next time we visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roving_Artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,363 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,855 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $212 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing