We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,844)
Filter reviews
1,844 results
Traveler rating
1,165
515
116
34
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,165
515
116
34
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas fireplace cookie jar union square wine and appetizers dressing room afternoon wine other guests fresh fruit breakfast was delicious wine reception nob hill charming hotel home away from home small hotel room was large breakfast room sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 1,844 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We stayed twice at this hotel in February and March of 2017.
The first stay we stayed for 4 nights and got a room at the back of the hotel.
The room was nice and look exactly as the pictures.
The second stay was not so good. The room was fine but we got a room at the front of the hotel and the noise from the street was terrilbe.

The staff really made this hotel.
They really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and always with a smile.

The only reservation I would have to book this hotel again is that you have to get a room towards the back of the hotel !
And I there is no Aircon !!

Room tip: Make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niclasm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017

What a curious find! The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful and the added touches are great - free water if you want, breakfast, coffee/tea and freshly-baked cookies all day and the day I left vegetable crudite and chocolate peanut butter bars! Definitely more like a bed and breakfast then a hotel - no AC, but fireplaces in each room and four poster beds and enough area to roam in the room and not feel confined. Location is close enough to Union Square and the cable car made it easy! Furniture old fashioned but art all pop vibe with beatles type music played in the dining room so quirky but wonderful.

Room tip: Ask for a room in the back.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Skatz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017

Loved the breakfast and found staff so helpful! They surprised us with sparkling wine to celebrate a birthday and were so impressed with the size and comfort of our room. Excellent value, we will definitely have return.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pbrtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Stayed here when the conference hotel was sold out. My boss found it and liked the fact that it came with breakfast. Rooms were large. Fireplace was a cool bonus. Elevator was a novelty; only rode it once. Daniel, who checked me in was courteous and informative of all the amenities. I think it was Jake who arranged for a car service the next morning for a ride back to the airport for my return flight. Checked on happy hour on Tuesday but didn't see anything going on. All in all a wonderful stay, and convenient location. Try Hopwater Distribution across the street or Bacchus Kirk a few blocks south,

Room tip: An older building, wasn't horrible, but some creaky floor and city noise is unavoidable.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank COBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017

Recently stayed her for 3 nights and loved it. There was nothing I could fault the hotel for - the check-in was efficient, the staff were helpful and courteous, the bedroom was spacious, clean, the bed comfortable, the breakfast delicious, the parlour was warm, comfortable and relaxing, and the wine & nibbles at 5pm were an added bonus to relax and talk to other guests. There was also free internet access as well as Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. This coupled with a central and easy accessible location, and a very reasonable (by SF standards) price too, meant it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room tip: The higher floors are a little quieter.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Richard_BEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews