We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Hotel For Business or Leisure.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #7 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, AL
1 review
“Perfect Hotel For Business or Leisure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

My wife and I and our two teenage children spent two nights at The White Swan on a vactation to the Bay area in May, 2009. We loved the quaint European-style suite we had with fireplaces in each room and period decor. The rates were very reasonable, and the complementary breakfast and wine reception were great. My kids loved it. Both before and after our arrival, the staff could not have been more helpful to us with restaurant reservations and general tourist advice. The hotel is perfectly situated near Union Square, China Town and the Cable Car line. I will not look any further than the White Swan the next time in I'm in San Fran.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    415
    97
    28
    10
See reviews for
254
808
67
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Have stayed at The White Swan Inn many times and each stay has been wonderful. Rooms are large and comfortable, with antiques and books sprinkled throughout the room. Staff wonderful with grace and expertise. Bed was so comfortable I wanted to take the mattress home, but it would not fit in my luggage. Wonderful total relaxing experience, from the food, to the staff, to the furnishings, to the location. Highly recommend. A+++++++++++. Original recommendation for us to come to The White Swan Inn was thru our travel agent.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel10020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Mi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Had the pleasure of spending three days at the White Swan Inn in San Francisco in early June. What a great place!! It's a small, quaint hotel tucked into one of the side streets in the downtown area. Easily within walking distance to the trolley lines and hundreds of shops and restaurants. All of the staff were very pleasant and very helpful in getting directions or making recommendations for things to see or do. This hotel more closely resembles a bed and breakfast than it does a hotel, and it has the charm of a place from an earlier era. If you're not into the take a number, large hotel scene, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnum409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We had a great time at the White Swan Inn. The service staff went out of their way to make sure we were well treated. The rooms are very nice and the location is the best.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, new Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

This was our first trip to San Francisco.
Staying at the White Swan Inn made it a very pleasant vacation!
The room was very lovely and comfortable.
We loved the fireplace and the coziness of the room.
The staff was nice and very helpful.
We enjoyed the lovely breakfast and evening wine.
Would return to the White Swan Inn if ever in San Francisco again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeGirl_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Ks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

This was my third or fourth visit to the White Swan Inn. It is a great place to use as home base while you are exploring San Francisco. The rooms are comfortable and generously sized, the full breakfast buffet delicious, and little touches like wine and snacks at 5 p.m., tea at all hours, and freshly made cookies in the lobby cookie jar always make my stay enjoyable. I also enjoy being able to walk to Union Square, Chinatown, and even North Beach. At this point, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on my trips to San Francisco-- unless they were fully booked.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCAnglophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Our room was on the top floor and was very well appointed with great linens and well stocked refrig and bath. We has two vanity areas which was handy. Staff were very friendly and helpful, including logging into our airline to check us in for our flight while we were sightseeing. Wine hour and breakfast were delicious. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,341 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,752 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#9 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing