We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel in San Francisco”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My syster and I liked every minute in the Hotel.
A very good location, verry warm atmosphere.
The staff was very nice and dedicated to the service, the food including the wine & appetizer, free coofee and tea 24 hours a day.
We just arrived and were invited to breakfast.
Will come back and send friends and Familie.

Room Tip: the entrance floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 505Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

From the attractive, oversized room (essentially a suite), cozy fire in the Sitting Room with complementary afternoon wine and creative hors d'oeuvres, wonderful breakfasts, and a terrific staff, it was a most delightful visit. Two minor issues were that despite the printed request in every room to the guests for "Quiet Time" from 10 P.M to 6 A.M., the people in the room above us played their TV loud enough to be heard by us and showered after Midnight (not really the fault of the hotel - just some inconsiderate jerks); additionally, the piped-in music during the hosted wine receptions should have been some gentle harp or piano solos instead of the old Rock & Roll tunes, which did not fit the serene English countryside theme of the Inn. These issues were defintely not sufficient to remove the White Swan from our plans for future trips to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank USC_Trojan_Fan_90275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very convenient location, just two blocks away from the cable car, very friendly staff, cute and quiet room, freshly prepared breakfast with a good choice. We found it a good idea to join the afternoon appetizer & wine offering, as we got to meet other travellers who had some good hints for activities in San Francisco. We travelled around California and the National Parks for three weeks and the White Swan Inn was one of the top three places we stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Milena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location and staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back. Elevator a bit funky. Can't submit this review until I have 200 characters, don't know why. Doubt anyone will see this review but White Swan Inn was great!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

First timers with a SF timeshare that was booked so we gave the White Swan a try. We were very impressed--very unique and so many amenities. The downstairs was unique. Suite was quaint. Will stay again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The White Swan is a great place to settle in for a few days in San Francisco. We started our day with a delicious breakfast and ended our day with fresh baked cookies, wine, a comfy bed with a fireplace and free wifi. All of the staff are friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The White Swan is a smaller, intimate property than most you will find in this city. We loved the way the staff went out of their way to answer your questions and to make sure your stay was great. The rooms are tastefully done as is the rest of the inn. The breakfast served each morning were very good, and the wine and appetizers were nice to come back to after sightseeing all day. We especially enjoyed meeting the other guests from different parts of the world. It is in a very convenient location also.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Luxury King Room" which was very generous in size with an extra room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruisinReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,341 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,432 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
1,542 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $165 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing