We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and Magnificient”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical and Magnificient”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I selected this hotel based on the excellent reviews and reasonable price. The staff was extremely attentive. The front desk clerk was patient in helping us find a place appealing to our taste for dinner. One of the staff members was quick to offer us an umbrella as we were heading out the door on a rainy evening. Our room was clean and charming with a bit of history all around including glass door knobs, books and tea cups and saucers on the fireplace mantle. The location is perfect to catch the Cable Cars to Fisherman's Wharf or walk to China town. There were a lot of restaurants with all types of foods nearby. Everything about the White Swan is the best!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    484
    106
    32
    12
See reviews for
320
953
75
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto. Ontario. Canada.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at a Holiday Inn for the first half of our trip and were very dissatisfied with our service. Then we stumbled upon the White Swan Inn and decided to stay there for the rest of the trip. We were pleasantly surprised by the service and little extra details this Inn provides. It's a unique old building, our room had a fireplace and kitchenette and it was very comfortable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nice and cosy hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Complimentary wine and snacks were served in the afternoon.
Valet parking was offered.
Complimentary breakfast was ok but could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inpetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rueil-malmaison, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2014

5 nights in this hotel, with our daughter (2 yo).
Perfect location. Staff always at your service. This hotel has something exotic and different that the others.. I really think that it's one of the best establishement in SF with affordable price..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Remi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The White Swann Inn delivered a great experience for my wife and I. With staff always willing to help (and provide insightful information), we were able to get around quickly and efficiently while in San Fran. The rooms were great and clean...breakfast was delicious...and the location in the heart of SF was perfect. We walked everywhere, and when we couldn't, there were plenty of bus lines and the BART was a 10 min walk. HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A charming little hotel in a great location for easy access to all San Francisco has to offer. Our room was large but cozy with a gas fire and cute flowery wallpaper. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and there are some great restaurants close by. Valet parking was very expensive though. Breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamvong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Small hotel centrally located close to Chinatown and cable cars provided easy access to local tourist attractions and restaurants. Hotel staff were very polite and knowledgeble of things to do and see in the city. Buffet breakfasts were fantastic and coffee and cookies available all day. At 5PM wine and snacks were served with a great way to meet fellow guests. Rooms very spacious and very clean with small bar fridge provided. We would highly recommend this hotel. Steve and Heather Canada.

Room Tip: We stayed a week on the 5th floor away from Bush Street which was very quiet and good for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbcontst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,245 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,783 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,238 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing