We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely stay”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,415 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Homely stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The White swan is a charming place with a thick English Flavour. Location wise its about 5 minutes walk to Union square. There are plenty of restaurants and convenience stores around and it’s a very comfortable location. This boutique hotel is small, efficient, friendly and warm. The rooms are large and come with a fire place. The staffs are friendly, helpful and do their best to keep you happy.

Cakes, cookies and other goodies are always in the lobby for the guests. Wifi is free. I particularly loved the lounge at the basement. It was a cosy place to hang out in the evenings and it did not feel like a hotel at all.

The reason why I pick smaller boutique type hotels instead of large hotel chains is for their warmth, and personal attention to guests. The White Swan scores big time on those grounds.

Room Tip: Avoid the road facing rooms. Street noise can be sleep wrecker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca L, General Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Sagar S,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the White Swan Inn and were able to fully explore San Francisco from its prime location. It is such a pleasure to know that you felt at home, especially when enjoying our tasty treats in the lounge. Please rest assured that I have added a note to your profile requesting a room away from the road, for any future visits. Thank you again for your valued feedback and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Rebecca Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    484
    106
    32
    12
See reviews for
320
953
75
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a delightful place to stay on our first trip to San Francisco in May 2013. With so many hotels to choose from in the city, we're so happy to have found this gem. From the the helpful folks at the front desk (especially Alexander), to the comfortable room, it almost makes you want to stay in your cozy room, even with all of SF to explore.

Pros:
* Great breakfast including fresh fruit, an egg dish, meat dish, pastries, homemeade bread, juices, hard boiled eggs, and even a crock pot full of hearty oatmeal.
* Very comfortable room. (I was concerned looking at the online photos of all the pillows and ruffles that it could be dusty, but not so. Very clean.) Comfy four-poster bed, *good* pillows (and plenty of them). After a day exploring the city, to come back and take a shower (good water pressure despite the probable age of the building), put on a bathrobe (which we never do) and cuddle up near the fireplace, simple luxury indeed. (Especially the day my fiancé proposed, out of the blue!) :)
* A jar of fresh-baked cookies in the lobby--a different flavor every night--was like coming home, not back to a hotel.
* Not much noise. We were in room 33, facing the inner courtyard and were able to sleep comfortably with the window open. You knew you weren't in the countryside, but the city noise didn't disturb our sleep.
* Great bath products by Lather Apothecary, especially the lavender lime moisturizer (the scent brings me right back).
* Parking is not easy or inexpensive in the city, but the valet service was worth the expense. The car appeared when requested.
* Discrete mini fridge, restocked daily with bottled water and soft drinks at NO extra charge.
* Centrally located, just two blocks from a cable car stop.

Cons:
None!

We would highly recommend the White Swan Inn, and look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuba City, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The online photos and reviews of the White Swan Inn were good, but our experience exceeded our expectation.

The decor is very nice, the rooms are all slightly different and charming. The rooms have a mix of interesting and antique furniture along with a Flat Screen TV, classic books are part of the decor. The instant gas fireplace adds so much to evening relaxation. The staff are all very friendly and treated us as family. With only a small number of rooms, the staff know who we are and are very attentive.

There are Deluxe and Luxury rooms. Deluxe are nice, Luxury are just a little more-so.

There are porches and garden area to access for relaxation or social gathering, and a "meeting room" for perhaps a private group conference.

Each morning is greeted with a gourmet breakfast buffet downstairs, prepared by an expert kitchen staff. Each evening there are bottles of fine California wines and delicious treats and the offerings are different each evening.

The background music is always gentle classical, the feeling is comfortable, a cookie jar in the lobby, everything is provided free of any extra charges ...what else can I say?

Within walking distance is about every flavor and type of restaurant. Close to
Union Square. Catch the old SF trolley a block and a half away to Fisherman's Wharf or elsewhere.

This is our personal best hotel stay, anywhere.

Parking a car in San Francisco is expensive, but the hotel has no control over that. They do provide valet parking. Your car disappears and reappears when you want it. In and out throughout the day does not cost any extra.

Room Tip: The ground floor is more convenient, but the ancient elevator is quite an entertaining experience to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOldGuy-Steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff here is really great. They are always ready to help. The people at the front desk always had great suggestions from renting an electric bike for going across the Golden Gate bridge or nightlife that was just what we were looking for that really improved our trip. We had a very early flight in on Friday. We went there expecting to just drop our bags off. They welcomed us in to come have breakfast and by the time we were done, they had our room ready. The food was good. We enjoyed both breakfast and happy hour. My husband gets up much earlier than I. It was nice he could get up and go downstairs to one of the living rooms to read and have a cup of coffee while he was waiting for me to get up. Downsides were that our bed and pillows were not very comfortable and that there was floral wallpaper on every inch of the walls, floral chairs, floral bedspreads, floral... everything. It was a bit much. Overall, a great place that works very hard to provide great service.

Room Tip: The fireplace was nice and worth the small added expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend & I stayed there for two days, in general we were satisfied, except that the b/f could be more... rich & healthier.
Positive
- price policy;
- location;
- spacious room;
- great staff;
- free and strong wifi coverage;
- fireplace;
- coffee machine
Negative:
- no tea bags & kettler (we dont drink coffee at all, thougth you can make your tea in the b/f room any time);
- noisy (at least if your room looking out the street);
- no room service;
- old fashioned keys, - very incovenient to use (we could not manage the lock couple of times - had to call for help);
- steps leading to the building's entrance - which makes it hard to drag the luggage;

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff are helpful, the rooms are spotless and comfortable and the breakfast is nice and creates a very sociable atmosphere between the travelers. Next time we head to San Francisco we will stay here again as it was incredibly close to transport and within walking distance to most attractions. Great value for money too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

There were 4 of us in our party and we had 2 really nice rooms. Queen beds, fireplace in the room, & a mini frig. with complimentary sodas. Breakfast was good & filling. Evenings snacks were delicious. Plus cookies in the lobby. The staff were very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,233 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing