We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“B&B style charming Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“B&B style charming Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the White Swan Inn. The location is excellent. It is in a quiet side street next to Union Square, where the cables car depart. You have all shops and restaurants right at hand. There is coin laundry on the next block plus the National Car Rental Station. It was the perfect starting point for everything.

The rooms were great - big comfortable bed - a big plus was the fire-place. Very clean. We had a room to the street, but I didn't feel it was noisy.

I liked the old victorian charme of the hotel, which somewhat belongs to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Choose one with a fire-place - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentina1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    445
    103
    29
    11
See reviews for
272
879
69
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This charming hotel is a quiet oasis in a very busy city. The staff were friendly and very helpful and I had a wonderful stay. Service was first class and the front desk staff very helpful. This is a real gem of a hotel and it is really comfortable and homely.
My breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented.
The hotel has a good location for touring the city of San Francisco and is a great place to relax after a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandMrsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

From the moment we walked in, we felt welcome. Andy accompanied us to our beautiful room and gave us such good advice about getting about San Francisco. He told us we could buy Muni passports (travel card for all buses, street and cable cars) at Walgreens pharmacy a few metres down the road. Most holiday makers queue at the Muni kiosks by the cable car turntables and wait ages in line; he was such a help. Our room had a gas fire with real flames you could turn on and off while in bed and there were two easy chairs by the fireplace. We had a fridge in the room with complementary soft drinks and water and a coffee maker. The breakfast was delicious with great choice of food. There was complementary coffee and tea in the lounge all day and complementary wine and hor d'oeuvres for 90 minutes each evening. The lounge was very comfortable and it was lovely to meet the other guests in such a relaxing setting. You could always take your wine to your room if you preferred to stay private. We stayed for 5 nights-cost per night including taxes was about $255 which was good value when all the freebies are taken into account. The location in Nob Hill is great with loads of restaurants, cable car stop and theatres close by. The beds are comfortable but very high-you do need to climb in and there are no safes in the room, but reception will look after valuables. Our room was on the top floor and my husband always insisted on using the historic lift. He loved it. Thank you everyone for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Every guest I spoke to was happy with their room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review, and for sharing your positive experience with us! Our staff is so happy to see you enjoyed your long stay at the inn. Our team strives to make the White Swan a true 'home-away-from-home' for our guests, and we are honored to share your feedback with Andy and our kitchen staff. We hope to welcome you back for another stay, and ride on our lift!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent 4 nights there recently. We greatly enjoyed the charm and service. Our room was impressively decorated, and the gas fireplace in room added to the appeal. The common room, where breakfast and the social hour are hosted, stopped us in our tracks - the area was incredibly invitingly decorated. Breakfast was much better than we had expected - different every morning with quiche, or scrambled eggs, or pancakes and bacon, plus fruit, pastries, oatmeal, etc.

We encountered 5-6 different staff members at the front desk during our stay - every single one of them seemed sincerely interested in helping us in any reasonable way - dining reservations, recommendations, transportation tips, etc. - and they were knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldannEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and kind comments about our team at White Swan. We love to hear that you enjoyed your several evenings with us, and that our staff was able to help make your stay more special during your visit. We hope to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Loved the White Swan Inn. Beautiful old fashioned environment that really contributed to my relaxation after long days of walking/sightseeing in San Francisco. They treated me great and I liked the late afternoon Wine/Hors d'oeuvres with fellow guests. It was nice to meet other people staying at the Inn.
Great Nob Hill location. I'm glad I got to see that part of San Francisco (and struggle with the steep hills!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSSather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My parents treated my husband and me to a room at this hotel as a wedding gift. What a wonderful gift it was!
The building is very cute. I felt like we were in someone's grandmother's home. The old fashioned elevator is an especially nice element. I loved the fireplace in our deluxe king room. We had a separate dressing room with a sink and mirror. I also enjoyed the beverage nook in the room. It was equipped with a coffee maker, sink, refrigerator (with free soda and water!), mugs, and champagne flutes.
We enjoyed the wine hour immensely. In addition to the usual cheese and crackers, they had some delicious banana chocolate chip cookies and macaroni salad. We sat on the couch by the fireplace while we enjoyed our wine and snacks. Maybe we were there on a slow weekend, but there were only four other guests at the wine hour while we were there (which we actually quite enjoyed- we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves!)
Breakfast was also great. They served eggs, bacon, country hash, fruit, scones, croissants, oatmeal, coffee, large tea selection, and juice. As with the wine hour, there was only one other family seated in the dining area. The breakfast is served until 10 AM on weekdays and 11 AM on weekends, so you can sleep in without worrying about missing breakfast!
The location is very convenient to many of the major attractions in SF.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uclatraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and recommendation! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and celebration of your very special occasion. We are honored to have shared it with you and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was very helpful. The room was cozy. We were there before Christmas and there was a beautiful tree and fireplace downstairs. It was very relaxing. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Access to the cable cars and public transportation was a plus even for someone who never uses public transportation. Walking to Union Square easily accomplished and you can ride the cable car back up the hill. Having to wait for your car to be retrieved from a remote parking facility was the only draw back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitrous74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,579 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing