We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty and very British”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here last weekend and thought this place was sweet. It so reminded me of little inns in England and Ireland, and was correct right down to all the details. We had a nicely appointed, decent sized room, plus clean bath with nice products on hand. the location of this hotel is terrific, just a couple blocks off Union Square, so we spent our weekend walking around the Square, and over to Nob Hill to catch the Powell/Hyde cable car to Ghirardelli Square for Christmas shopping. We loved the fresh cookies in the lobby and coffee in the afternoon. We found two drawbacks to this inn: no parking nearby and no valet when we arrived, but we found a pay lot 1.5 blocks away that allowed overnight parking. And while the inn itself was so quiet we literally didn't think there was more than one room filled, but found out at breakfast that the place was quite full, the street noise was considerable until around 2:00 a.m., even with windows shut and earplugs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TisaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,730)
There are newer reviews for White Swan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I booked four nights at the White Swan Inn in San Francisco to celebrate his birthday. A few days before our trip we both became ill with bad colds accompanied by horrible coughs. The White Swan staff was excellent, understanding and very patient with us as we tried to decide whether to cancel or not. When we did make the decision to cancel, they were very accommodating and wished us good health. A few days later we received a delightful, hand written get well note saying they hoped we were feeling better and that we could reschedule in the near future. We will definitely make the trip in 2013 and plan on booking with The White Swan. In this day of impersonal E mail correspondence, we were so impressed with the extra care this establishment took to make us feel welcome. Good job, indeed!!! Kathryn Brown

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kathryn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights recently to enjoy the seasonal activities, shopping, and theaters near Union Square. The hotel is just a few blocks uphill from Union Square, an easy walk. We stayed in the Ashleigh Suite, which had two separate rooms, each with a bathroom, fireplace, wet bar, and TV. The main room had a four poster bed, while the second room had a sofa bed, which was perfect for our daughter (it would also be fine for another couple, as both bedroom doors close).

The building has some historic charm, such as functional single-hung windows (it is a pleasure to have the option of actually opening a window!). The entire place was very warm and cozy, with radiators for heat, along with fireplaces. The furnishings were slightly worn, but the beds were comfortable. The tiled bathrooms were quaint and functional, although also a bit worn (we had to jiggle the toilet valve to get it to shut off, and the shower door did not close easily).

The staff were very friendly and efficient. The included breakfast offered many choices such as a hot entree, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices, coffee, and tea, and was very good (one morning included a delicious quiche, while another morning included an herbed cheese omelette).

All in all, we feel this hotel offers a good value in a great location, and offers charm and comfort without the large corporate hotel atmosphere. A bit of maintenance and upgrades would be welcome, but even as is we would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Ashleigh Suite, even at ground level, was quiet. Rooms toward the back will tend to be quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clifster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I am from England but now live in California and I love this cosy place. We were upgraded upon arrival to a large king room with a fireplace and flat screen tv. In addition to the bathroom there was a dressing room with a vanity area sink and closet, and another separate area with a fridge, wet bar and tea/coffee making facilities. The fridge contained complementary water bottles and sodas. Our room was at the back and was quiet. The windows etc are old but it adds to the charm. There is tea/coffee and home baked cookies available most of the day and we enjoyed the 5pm wine and snacks, so nice after a busy day sightseeing. Wine was of a good quality and snacks were different each day. A pasta dish, cheese and biscuits, and cake one day and vegetables, dip and apple cake the next. Enjoyed talking with other travelers and there are plenty of interesting items on display around the hotel. Breakfast buffet was nice. The two guys at the front desk were nice and friendly, the female not so much. Parking is difficult, as with most of San Francisco, the first day we arrived was a Sunday so we did free street parking but had to move the car 7am Monday morning. We found the least expensive undercover parking lot was a city one a few blocks away. We spent a total of $28 on parking rather than $32 + tax valet per night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissteryNewportCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in November for his birthday. Not only was the staff wonderful and accommodating (they even were polite when another guest complained about the noise of our loud talking late at night), they left red velvet cheesecake in our fridge for my husband's birthday. So sweet - who does that these days?! We enjoyed the wine/appetizer reception and pretty much everything about our stay. I would highly recommend to anyone staying in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent five nights and highly recommend our stay. The hotel is located two blocks from the cable car and four blocks from Union Square making it quite easy to get to practically anywhere from Fisherman's Wharf to Union Square to the Embaradero. The hotel is decorated with a British motif. We stayed in room 37 which was located in the back and very quiet even with the windows open at night. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Complimentary water and softdrinks were provided each day. Yes, the hotel is dated, but we found that to add to its charm. A full breakfast is provided. We found a slight variation in the menu each of the five mornings we were there. Since I was awake early, I found the library to be an excellent place for morning coffee and the newspaper. We were only able to be in the hotel one afternoon in time for the wine and hors d'oeuvres. It was a beautiful setting, though it seemed a bit warm for there to be a fire in the fireplace. We found the persons at the front desk to be very attentive and recommended restaurants that we found to be excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room 37 which was very quiet. King size bed was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skr33ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice cozy hotel, with a early 1900's charm still intact. Rooms feature fireplace and nice tiled bathroom. Breakfast is rich, and wine tasting at 5pm. Great for couple getaway, but not a family hotel due to size of rooms (we had to add 2 foldable bed for the kids )
Perfect location and very helpful and kind personnel
On the expensive side

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filippo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,274 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 229 in San Francisco
2,824 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 229 in San Francisco
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $233 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing