We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good place to stay in centre of the city - handy for cable cars, streetcars, shopping and restaurants...it is expensive for what it is, but then that seems to be true throughout San Francisco.

Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast and wine reception very good.

Room Tip: We had a room looking into the courtyard which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Hotel is very close to the Union Square with all the shops and beautiful streets of San Fran. From there you easily reach the cable cars to go to the other truistic points like Fisherman's wharf. So the location is perfect! The room with a fireplace and closet was so nice and cozy I never wanted to leave the place! Luckily San Fran is such an amazing city I had to jump out of the bed for some sightseeing. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was great. I recommend staying here! Oh, and bring a coat, I was surprised with San Francisco's cold weather, even in the summer!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lailarocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I love San Francisco, and this quaint boutique hotel on Nob Hill made me love the city even more. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a room with no view, except the green plants scaling the wall on our side. We still got some good sunlight in the morning. The staff were very helpful all the time, from Amy at the front desk to the bell hops who came from nowhere to get our luggage when we arrived and when we left. (The lobby is tiny, so don't know where the concierge and bell services folk are.)

The room was pretty big, and the fireplace in the room was the best feature. We live in the Far East so SF is always a bit chilly. It was such a nice experience being able to stretch out propped up on their cushion in front of the fireplace after a day or evening out on the town. There was a small kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and coffeemaker and a sink. The bathroom was a bit small but was alright.

Breakfast at the level below the lobby was also very nice, with hot basic offerings but with slight variations each day. I love it that they had coffee cups with covers for takeaway, so we could take a cup with us when heading out for the day.

The two drawbacks were parking...pretty steep for valet parking at some parking area nearby ($32 for overnight)...and the old fashioned elevator, with its sliding old gate that had to close before it slowly made its way up or down. We took it up the first time, and then took the stairs after that.

Overall, a delightful experience and I will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: If you don't like old fashioned lifts, take a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this boutique hotel just a couple of blocks from Union Square to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We enjoyed a lovely room on the 5th floor with king bed and fireplace. The room was on the backside of the hotel which was surprisingly quiet for being in downtown. The views were just of the surrounding roofs, but we did not linger inside during daylight much so did not matter. Bathroom is small with no tub. Very clean and the staff was friendly and courteous. Being an old building, the floors do creak a bit but this adds to the charm. Love the old-fashioned elevator.
Good location if you are comfortable walking a few blocks to get to Union Square and don't mind some hills. We enjoyed walking to Muni on Market Street (about 7 blocks) to catch the light rail to Golden Gate Park. Cable cars are only two blocks away, but very crowded in the peak seasons.
We preferred a full breakfast to the continental one served at the hotel so we did not partake in this offering (included with room). Basic fare: pastries, toast yogurt, fruit, granola, warmed eggs, etc. Good enough if you are eager to get on with your tour or business. Otherwise, plenty of places to eat nearby. Recs: Persimmon Cafe on Sutter for full breakfast, Farrallon on Post for fantastic dinner. We will return to the White Swan Inn on our next SF getaway.

Room Tip: Room number 56, (fith floor on the backside), is very quiet w/king bed & fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA_wanderer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The White Swan Inn is a very nice place to stay. We got an upgrade and the room had a dressing area and small alcove that could be used as a bar. The refrig there included complimentary sodas and water. The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. . The breakfasts were very delicious, but there was a problem with the wine and cheese in the evening. It was advertised to be held between 5 and 7. One evening we came down at 5:30 and there were no appetizers left and the wine was almost gone as well. We talked to the front desk and two more bottles of wine were brought: not enough for a large group. In addition, no additional appetizers were brought.
One other problem: one day our room was not cleaned until about 4:00. We had been sightseeing and came back exhausted at 2:00. At 3:00, we asked the front desk for an update and she said she would make our room a priority. Well, we didn't get in until around 4:00. All in all it was a good stay; however, I think they have some problems to address.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendan1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

On holiday spent in San Francisco stayed at the White Swan Inn, armed with a recommendation of friends who have stayed many times, we ventured forth. Everything they told us was true. Great breakfasts and evening wine and cheese, the rooms homey and the staff extremely accommodating and friendly. The English country decor was a little shabby but charming none the less. Next trip will be spent at the White Swan. The room was comfortable and clean. I highly recommend a stay here rather than the normal chain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a find! Simply loved my stay at the Hotel. Was in San Francisco only for one night and was upset that I couldn't stay longer at this property. Rooms are quaint, pretty and perfect. Crew & Staff are helpful, friendly and full of suggestions for fun things to do in the city. Breakfast was awesome and the lovely evening social time with complimentary Wines and Hors d'oeuvre was a great touch. The decor of the rooms and the hotel is very old school English cottage which only adds to the charm of the place. Location is perfect, just walking distance from Union Square and surrounded by several great restaurants and things to do!

I recommend this hotel greatly! Will return and stay here for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitindg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,426 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
1,541 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $169 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing