We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Room: Very nicely decorated. Definitely has a soul. Also large and comfortable with decent sun light.
Internet: I have had pretty good luck except during prime time (9pm to 11pm) when the speed slow down.
Valet parking: I am glad they offer it. But the parking lot must be far since we were 6-7 cars waiting for them in the morning. It took me over 45 minutes to get to my car.
Breakfast: It was included in the room price and was pretty good.
Free cakes, scones and cookies in the evening: Delicious. I was on a diet but couldn't stop eating them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank istanbul_lover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    484
    106
    32
    12
See reviews for
320
953
75
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have been to San Francisco about a dozen times since we honeymooned there in 1972. This was, far and away, our most delightful lodging. Large, comfortable rooms with antique furnishings. Superior service. WIne and snacks in the afternoon. Gourmet breakfasts. In this trip, their hospitality continued after we checked out due to a snafu with the airline. If we are lucky enough to return to San Francisco there is no doubt about where we will stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Located a short walk from Union Square we stayed one night of Memorial weekend. We booked direct and they upgraded our room from a queen to a king. We were on the fourth floor right over the street. Yes, there was traffic noise, but it was pretty quiet by midnight. The have a wine hour that we missed, but we did have the complementary breakfast. Not just dry rolls and cereal, they served scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes and excellent quality coffee. the king room was very large and comfy, but the room did get pretty warm in the middle of the night. We live in the bay area, but when we have a late night and don't want to drive home, we will definitely consider the White Swan or another of the Joie de Vivre hotels.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redheadca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This inn has the same amenities as the Petite Auberge, but I forgot to mention the delicious breakfast served at both places. Freshly cooked egg dishes, fresh fruit, fresh breads and pastries, home cooked oatmeal and meats -- what more could you want before setting out for sightseeing in beautiful San Francisco?

Room Tip: City noise does not affect my sleep, but if it does yours, you may want to heed others advice about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Close to welcome Cable cars, essential public transport and charming eateries, the White Swan Inn proved a safe, secure, first-class choice for our week-long stay in San Francisco. Our room was large, comfortable, tastefully-decorated and featured a corner fireplace that proved cosy on more than one cool night. Staff were friendly, informative, prompt and attentive. Breakfasts were home-made, hearty and taken in a bright, cheerful dining area that was conducive to meeting and talking with other guests. Likewise, the inn provided a charming late afternoon opportunity to enjoy sweet and savory nibblies, a glass or two of good local red and white wines and a comfortable place to relax and reflect. We enjoyed a wonderful time at the White Swan Inn; it was our San Francisco home away from home.

Room Tip: A room with a fireplace adds a pleasing ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackandDebbie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This hotel is a great find and a bargain. Located just a couple of blocks from Union Square, but away from the bustle of downtown SF. It is in an older building with a quaint old elevator. However, the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Ours even had a fireplace with a gas log! The staff is friendly and very helpful. An added bonus is that cookies, tea and coffee are available all day and evening, and wine and snacks form 5 to 7 pm. I'll definitely go there on my next visit to SF.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Thank you for a lovely friendly stay in San Francisco. The room was great...really comfortable. It was a little dark but we can't complain as we never asked for an extra light! The readily available tea and coffee was very welcome after our mammoth walking ips round the city.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sj1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,233 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing