We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Loved it.”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow. Loved it.”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

10 nights at the white swan for a honeymoon. Absolutely loved it. Was just what we needed. I would give it 6 stars if I could!

-Free wi-fi. You don't get this with the major hotels. Just ask.
-Friendly staff. would do anything for you
-Free Coffee and tea at any time
-Lovely breakfast
-Free wine and snacks at 5.30pm every day
-Safe. good location (3 or 4 mins walk from chinatown)
-Complimentary drinks replaced every day in fridge.

The list goes on and on. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

It's a gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. The street was busy but we had a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichAndLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    478
    106
    32
    12
See reviews for
314
948
75
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We love this hotel. A small, familary hotell. With nice breakfast. There is not much but enough. With both hot and cold food. And nice sweeties and fruit. If we are going to SF another time we will definitely live here. It was a good price comparing to what you get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKarin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Was bit disappointed by the outside appearance, but from ourfirst encounter with staff we were totally charmed. Spacious rooms w/ all the amenities and lots of character. Healthful and delicious breakfast in a charming English Tea Room setting. I booked for myself and 4 friends (3 rooms) and everybody just loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed here over 15 years ago and tried it again. Location is great and convenient to the financial district, Chinatown and the cable cars. We stayed for three nights in a king size room. Breakfast regularly consisted of quiche, a breakfast meat (usually sausage), cereal, breads, etc. All was quite good and tasty. Room was a little warm with no air conditioning and street noise too loud to leave screens open. Refrigerator was stocked with complimentary water and soda, a nice touch. Valet parking is expensive due to city taxes and a bit slow in delivery but convenient. Hotel also provided loaner umbrellas when we needed them during some unexpected rain. Kind staff and a homey atmosphere make this property a keeper. We'll be likely to revisit if our plans are in the SF area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurnee_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graton, CA
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

One of the traditions of the English B&B is the "cooked breakfast," as contrasted to the "continental breakfast" of yogurt or cold cereal, and this B&B really lives up to the tradition. If you are a serious trencherman of the a.m., you can look forward to hot porridge, excellent quiche (an easy dish to do badly), sausage, toast & marmalade, pastries, fresh fruit, croissants, fruit juices, fine coffee and a variety of teas. For both the days we stayed there, we could skip lunch altogether with no trouble; there is also a free wine, cheese and biscuit soirée every afternoon. (And free cookies in the lobby!) Our room was nicely turned out as well; quite spacious, comfy, and tastefully decorated if a little on the froufrou side. It was quiet despite the hotel's central location, though the plumbing was somewhat noisy, not surprising since the shower was like a fire hydrant -- just the way I like it! -- with an old fashioned bathtub for the more genteel bather. The staff were courteous and very much on the ball. Best recommendation: many of the guests I chatted up at breakfast were English!

Room Tip: Mid-week rates are cheaper than the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MojoLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We recently stayed at the White Swan Inn for three nights. The hotel is well-situated, being only a couple of blocks from Union Square. 

Our room (a standard queen) was clean and quite large. The bed was comfortable although a bit creaky! The room was equipped with a large flat screen tv, coffee maker and fridge stocked with complimentary cans of soft drinks and bottles of water (a nice touch!). Although the bathroom was of reasonable size with a decent shower, it could have done with a little maintenance as there were some tiles missing from the floor. 

There has clearly been a lot of effort made into styling the hotel as a traditional English "inn". The decor is flowery, with teddy bears and teapots almost everywhere! Of particular note is the elevator, which is a very old design and quite unique.

We ate breakfast at the hotel during our stay. This was a buffet arrangement, with a reasonable selection of cold and hot items including tasty homemade bread. Free homemade cookies were available in the lobby throughout the day, as well as free self-serve hot drinks being available throughout the day in the dining area.

The only real negative about the hotel for us was the front desk staff. We dealt with several during our stay and, although the did their jobs ok, they all seemed a little apathetic. 

A quick recommendation on a nearby restaurant... Uncle Vitos on Bush Street (the same as the hotel) is pretty good. It does not look much from the outside, although we enjoyed a tasty pizza meal there. The place was very busy and had a nice buzzy atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We were planning a SF trip last year, and hoped to stay at the White Swan, but alas, we planned too late and there was no availability. This year we planned early, and were lucky to score a twin room for a week...5/21 - 5/28.

The room was great...spacious, and with a dressing room in addition to the bathroom. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful; I've read reviews that said it wasn't "gourmet" as advertised, but I think you need to be realistic, given the price. Fresh fruits, juice, eggs, oatmeal, baked goods...what more would anyone want?

We only went to the 'happy hour' once, because we were always somewhere else or too tired, but I did tuck in another time. Wine was local and good and not limited, and some yummy treats which vary from day to day.

All in all, White Swan was a great choice....location was good, accommodations really comfortable, breakfast and 'happy hour'....it was certainly worth the price, which was pretty reasonable, considering the cost of staying in SF.

Thanks White Swan!

Room Tip: No tips, I think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyous56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,192 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing