We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Square Inn
Ranked #21 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Hello!!



My husband and I just returned from your B&B. We just had to write and let you know how truly wonderful everything was!



I cannot tell you enough about how impressed we were with our service and accommodations! Everyone was so helpful and pleasant. That is a big deal, and we appreciate it (from booking a car to booking a restaurant).



We enjoyed the wine and cheese hour and we truly enjoyed having breakfast in our rooms. It was nice to be able to order what we wanted and have it at the time we wanted. That was awesome. It was also nice to have the coffee available downstairs!



The accommodations were so clean and comfy. The Inn was very quiet and restful.



Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! It really made our vacation! We will definitely recommend your Inn to others.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tcchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 393 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2008

The Washington Square Inn was a beautiful little B&B. Our room and service were great. The cocktail hour and breakfast were nice as well. The location was within walking distance to great restaraunts, the Wharf, Lombard Street, and Coit Tower.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank berit02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

My husband and I recently celebrated our 40th anniversary at the Inn. It was our first trip to San Francisco, and the location of the hotel made it a marvelous experience. We were able to walk where ever we wanted to go. There were wonderful restaurants nearby to choose from., and we truly felt we part of a community not just tourists. We met people from other countries as well as locals during our stay there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was all we could ask and very quiet. We had no problem with noise even though we were near everything. I have recommended this inn to all my friends, and I know my daughter and her friends would enjoy it as well.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TJDPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon in August and had a thoroughly good time.

The hotel is situated in an ideal area for exploring the city. Many of the major tourist attractions and best dining locations are within walking distance and there are many cafes, bars and shops nearby to enjoy.

Have a light breakfast one morning then go over the road to Mamas cafe for the best pancakes on earth - seriously, don't think you can eat eggs benedict AND pancakes, it's just not possible.....Amazing!

We enjoyed the attractive, spacious room with large comfy bed and were impressed with the delightful public areas that are kept in immaculate condition. Evening drinks and nibbles are provided in the lobby and are a great way to relax and meet other guests.

Service here is exemplary with all the staff apparently keen to help. They are friendly and every request was dealt with promptly and with a smile. On arrival back to our room on the final day of our stay we found a bottle of local sparkling wine waiting for us in an ice bucket.

1st class service and one of the best value places to stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Robz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Spent 4 nights at the Washington Square Inn in July and loved it. All of the other positive reviews capture the best elements of a stay here. We were in room 10 which worked out nicely as it was big enough for 2 and overlooked the side alley (they called it a courtyard). Great breakfast, wine hour and staff. We could walk and ride transit everywhere from this location. Highly recommend this inn. Many Chinese exercise in the morning in Washington Square park including ladies with big fans and swords!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zingland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This is the second summer my husband and I have stayed at this inn and we love it. The staff is incredibly friendly, the location is great, and we love the evening wine service. The owners are often on site and are approachable and helpful. We stayed for four nights and each morning one of them asked us what we planned to do that day and offered suggestions about transportation, good restaurants, etc. As we were leaving, they even advised as as to the best way to get to the airport after leaving our next destination!

We also have liked many of the people we've met while staying at the Inn. We've had many interesting chats with other guests during breakfast or at evening wine service. On the other hand, it's not a place where one feels the need to talk to other guests or be overly friendly.

My only complaint is that when we have been there in summer, rooms seem awfully expensive, but I think this is true of SF in general at that time of year. Our room was very small, but it was lovely and clean, and all the other positives of the inn soon made that much less of an issue for me. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in SF.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karla79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

The Washington Square Inn is a great inn. The common areas and rooms are really nice. The breakfast was healthy and delicious. The happy hour with wine and cheese was a relaxing time and a great way to meet the other guests. The location was perfect, we were able to walk almost everywhere. The only negative is that we first stayed in room 15, but it was so small and cramped (the shower is actually in the room) that we switched to a bigger room after the first night. Their website does issue the warning that "it might not be comfortable for large people", but it's also not comfortable for 2 people. Pay the extra money and get a bigger room.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jiffy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2008

Thank you for comments, as you state in your review room 15 is listed on our website as our smallest room and therefore might not be comfortable for tall or larger folks.The reason we do not say it is not suitable for couples is because we do have many couples, mostly Europeon that love this room but for most Americans it is not what they are used to. This room has a nice bay window with a view of Coit Tower and has all the amenities of are other rooms but if room size is an issue we recommend our other rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#109 of 230 in San Francisco
313 reviews
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
372 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 72 in San Francisco
113 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Nob Hill
The Nob Hill Inn
The Nob Hill Inn
#17 of 72 in San Francisco
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Address: 1660 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-3316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $238 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing