We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
224
122
38
18
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
122
38
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoit towerwine and cheesefilbert streetother guestsnorth beach locationfisherman's wharfgreat northgreat locationwithin walking distanceevery eveningno elevatorprivate bathceiling fanyour luggagerooms are smallparking garagestreet side
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 417 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great location, if you want to be near China Town and Little Italy. Rooms are very small with no place for luggage. 1st floor rooms can hear street noise and breakfast. Gr8 breakfast, hords and wine. Staff very friendly. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a large room up on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 602travelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The rooms are small but boutique, we loved it. The staff were so friendly. Breakfast delievered to your room was such a treat and so relaxing. It is a bit away from fisherman's wharf and it is fine walking downhill, but uphill in steep San Francisco streets was tough so we opted for a taxi most nights. This place is a real little gem, we highly recommend it and would advise everyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingbears2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful location. The staff are extremely helpful, the parking (difficult in San Francisco) is easily accommodated in a parking garage a short distance away, and they offer a nice wine and cheese in their elegant lobby in the late afternoon. The rooms are very small, and it's an older hotel, but I would return here, just knowing that I would be well looked after.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had the pleasure of visiting the San Francisco area in early November and was so pleased we chose the Washington Square Inn to visit for a couple of nights. We have used the Select Registry Guide on several occasions with much success and this time was no exception. Nice and quaint accommodations smack dab in the middle of where you (or we at least) would want to be. Room was very comfortable and quiet. We booked one of the larger ones. Service was superb and very friendly. The wine and hors d'oeuvres hour was an added bonus. We chose to eat breakfast in our room one day and then in the dining area the next. No complaints there as everything was fresh and plentiful. We were able to walk to many places. Yes, there are many hills around, but we felt like it was good for us. We did have a car with us and parking was very easy in an attended garage just across the park. Just pull up out front, hop out and tell the desk you have arrived with a car and a nice man will come out and take your luggage and give you directions and a pass to go park at the garage. Also, the Telegraph Hill Robes in the rooms were so nice, we ordered one for Christmas. A Very Enjoyable Stay Indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPKACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We wanted to walk and see San Francisco and we don't like big chain hotels. This fit the bill. Furnishings were unique, some antique, it was quiet and very clean. There were extras like wine and cheese in the early evening and everyone was friendly and knowledgable without being too familiar.we'd go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJV1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews