We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
224
122
38
18
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
122
38
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoit towerwine and cheesefilbert streetother guestsnorth beach locationfisherman's wharfgreat northgreat locationwithin walking distanceevery eveningno elevatorprivate bathceiling fanyour luggagerooms are smallparking garagestreet side
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 417 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The rooms are small but boutique, we loved it. The staff were so friendly. Breakfast delievered to your room was such a treat and so relaxing. It is a bit away from fisherman's wharf and it is fine walking downhill, but uphill in steep San Francisco streets was tough so we opted for a taxi most nights. This place is a real little gem, we highly recommend it and would advise everyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingbears2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful location. The staff are extremely helpful, the parking (difficult in San Francisco) is easily accommodated in a parking garage a short distance away, and they offer a nice wine and cheese in their elegant lobby in the late afternoon. The rooms are very small, and it's an older hotel, but I would return here, just knowing that I would be well looked after.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had the pleasure of visiting the San Francisco area in early November and was so pleased we chose the Washington Square Inn to visit for a couple of nights. We have used the Select Registry Guide on several occasions with much success and this time was no exception. Nice and quaint accommodations smack dab in the middle of where you (or we at least) would want to be. Room was very comfortable and quiet. We booked one of the larger ones. Service was superb and very friendly. The wine and hors d'oeuvres hour was an added bonus. We chose to eat breakfast in our room one day and then in the dining area the next. No complaints there as everything was fresh and plentiful. We were able to walk to many places. Yes, there are many hills around, but we felt like it was good for us. We did have a car with us and parking was very easy in an attended garage just across the park. Just pull up out front, hop out and tell the desk you have arrived with a car and a nice man will come out and take your luggage and give you directions and a pass to go park at the garage. Also, the Telegraph Hill Robes in the rooms were so nice, we ordered one for Christmas. A Very Enjoyable Stay Indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPKACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We wanted to walk and see San Francisco and we don't like big chain hotels. This fit the bill. Furnishings were unique, some antique, it was quiet and very clean. There were extras like wine and cheese in the early evening and everyone was friendly and knowledgable without being too familiar.we'd go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJV1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 8 nights at this great B&B located in San Francisco's North Beach. The inn was well maintained and very smartly decorated. Our breakfasts were served in our room and items picked the night before from a card left outside the door and then attached to the outside door handle. Wine and cheese were available every evening shared with many people we met staying at the inn.

We stayed in Room 3 with a window that faced Filbert St and Washington Park Square. The room was kept extremely clean and serviced promply by a wonderful maid service every day. The well appointed room met all our expectations. The inn is centrally located in North Beach and close to many attractions such as: Coit Tower, Chinatown, the Embarcadero and Fisherman's Wharf. You couln't ask for a better location!

The owners/innkeepers, Maria and Dan, were two of the most professional, yet personable, individuals we have ever encountered in our many travels. They both took great efforts to provide for and please their clients. Maria and Dan were clearly outstanding! The front desk staff and all service related people went beyond the norm to help and assist you. They exceeded all expectations.

"SHABIR" was especially helpful and went out of his way to assist us. He was "Johhny on the Spot" in fixing the TV in our room, made site seeing and restaurant recommendations, brought ice to our room immediately when requested, and a very fine individual to just converse with. My wife and I tip our hats to him. THANK YOU SHABIR!!

We both highly recommend WA Square Inn and would stay there again when we return to San Francisco.

Sandra & Ed

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews