We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
224
122
38
18
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
122
38
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoit towerwine and cheesefilbert streetother guestsnorth beach locationfisherman's wharfgreat northgreat locationwithin walking distanceevery eveningno elevatorprivate bathceiling fanyour luggagerooms are smallparking garagestreet side
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 417 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We wanted to walk and see San Francisco and we don't like big chain hotels. This fit the bill. Furnishings were unique, some antique, it was quiet and very clean. There were extras like wine and cheese in the early evening and everyone was friendly and knowledgable without being too familiar.we'd go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJV1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 8 nights at this great B&B located in San Francisco's North Beach. The inn was well maintained and very smartly decorated. Our breakfasts were served in our room and items picked the night before from a card left outside the door and then attached to the outside door handle. Wine and cheese were available every evening shared with many people we met staying at the inn.

We stayed in Room 3 with a window that faced Filbert St and Washington Park Square. The room was kept extremely clean and serviced promply by a wonderful maid service every day. The well appointed room met all our expectations. The inn is centrally located in North Beach and close to many attractions such as: Coit Tower, Chinatown, the Embarcadero and Fisherman's Wharf. You couln't ask for a better location!

The owners/innkeepers, Maria and Dan, were two of the most professional, yet personable, individuals we have ever encountered in our many travels. They both took great efforts to provide for and please their clients. Maria and Dan were clearly outstanding! The front desk staff and all service related people went beyond the norm to help and assist you. They exceeded all expectations.

"SHABIR" was especially helpful and went out of his way to assist us. He was "Johhny on the Spot" in fixing the TV in our room, made site seeing and restaurant recommendations, brought ice to our room immediately when requested, and a very fine individual to just converse with. My wife and I tip our hats to him. THANK YOU SHABIR!!

We both highly recommend WA Square Inn and would stay there again when we return to San Francisco.

Sandra & Ed

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Washington Square Inn the first week of November. This is a hidden jewel: very well maintained, quiet place to stay in a very central location. The staff was very attentive and the rooms, although small in comparison to a hotel, well decorated and very comfortable. I would stay again in a heart beat and recommend this Inn without hesitation. If you are in San Francisco to really get to know the city, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early November. Our room was quite small but well appointed, clean and quiet( 2nd floor). We loved the North Beach location on Washington Square park- great for people watching, especially Tai Chi in the morning! We also loved the wine and cheese happy hour; it was a great way to meet and talk with the other guests. The breakfast was fine- coffee, cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastry, etc. The location is also great for exploring Coit Tower(just up the hill), Lombard St, Fisherman's Wharf and China Town. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenDaveOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Such a lovely lovely place! The staff was very sweet, the place was clean, coffee and tea around the clock. Wine and cheese happy hour and its right in the middle of a million places to eat, to visit and to walk around.

Room Tip: Its a bit loud on the first floor- there are ear plugs but they are weird to sleep with. If we go back, and we probably will, I would ask to for a room not on the street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANINCENSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews