We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveler rating
225
123
38
18
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
123
38
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coit tower wine and cheese filbert street other guests north beach location fisherman's wharf great north great location within walking distance every evening no elevator private bath ceiling fan your luggage rooms are small parking garage street side
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 420 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early November. Our room was quite small but well appointed, clean and quiet( 2nd floor). We loved the North Beach location on Washington Square park- great for people watching, especially Tai Chi in the morning! We also loved the wine and cheese happy hour; it was a great way to meet and talk with the other guests. The breakfast was fine- coffee, cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastry, etc. The location is also great for exploring Coit Tower(just up the hill), Lombard St, Fisherman's Wharf and China Town. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenDaveOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Such a lovely lovely place! The staff was very sweet, the place was clean, coffee and tea around the clock. Wine and cheese happy hour and its right in the middle of a million places to eat, to visit and to walk around.

Room Tip: Its a bit loud on the first floor- there are ear plugs but they are weird to sleep with. If we go back, and we probably will, I would ask to for a room not on the street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANINCENSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of our trip to California. Great location with easy access to buses, including the hop on, hop bus, which we used. Staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast provided in the room made a good start to the day. Rooms small but nicely decorated and perfectly adequate for a short stay. Washington Square nice place to while away an hour watching the locals going about their business and doing tai chi. This is the Italian quarter to plenty of restaurants to choose from, or Chinatown a short stroll away as well. Cheese and wine hour excellent idea and great way to meet fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this delightful Inn before driving along the Pacific Coast Highway down to San Diego. The location is ideal for a exploring SF on foot or bus. The wine and cheese is a great idea and provides the opportunity to meet fellow guests. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pompeysunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Location was excellent, rooms very very nicely decorated and clean. Staff was very friendly and breakfast and afternoon wine/cheese was great.

A bit of noise from the street in the early morning in our room (no. 9). The room was a bit on the small side.

Parking is impossible (or 30 $ per day two blocks away), but I guess that is to be expected downtown San Francisco.

In general a very good hotel and we will stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mmr_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews